Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array doze off. PC Specs
    doze off. PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i7-6950X @ 4.25GHz 1.281V
    Memory (part number)Corsair 64Gb (4x16Gb) DDR4-3333MHz C16 @ XMP
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorAsus PG278Q 27" 2560x1440p 2,5k
    Storage #1Samsung SM951 512Gb M.2 + 960 EVO 500Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 1Tb 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCorsair 570X x/HD120 fans & Scythe
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Ducky Channel One (MX Brown)
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
    Headset Sennheiser HD 600
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries 9HD
    OS Windows 10 Home 64-bit
    doze off.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Rampage III Extreme BE (x58) + Quad-SLI - compatibility?

    Hello guys,

    Recently I got 2x GTX 590 Classified and am buying a Rampage III Black Edition.

    My question is if the mb supports Quad-SLI (2x GTX 590), because I'm analyzing that it only supports 3-way SLI as in some forums and also review the site Guru3d.

    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...review,20.html

    "Remember though, that means no quad-SLI support, thus not even two GTX 590 cards in SLI would work".

    Does anyone know if the video cards will support the Rampage III Black Edition?

    Thanks!
    i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz 1.368v - Tr HR-02/120 Copper - Asus M4E B3 - N460GTX TOP @ 900MHz - Mushkin 996982 8 GB (2x4) 1600 C7 @ 2133 C9 1.5v - WD 750GB AADS - Corsair 620HX - Xonar Essence STX - LG Blu-Ray CH10LS20 - LG W2353V - RC-690 II @ 8 Scythe 120 fans
    Sorry for my English!

  2. #2
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    try and search for the specs of the mobo. i cant link enny thing since om on cell now.
    in the specs it will tell you what the mobo supports.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array xarot PC Specs
    xarot PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus GL504GM
    MotherboardAsus Rampage VI Extreme
    Processori9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB CL16-18-18
    Graphics Card #1Palit RTX2080TI
    Sound CardIntegrated
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO Full Nickel
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Blackstorm Mech RGB
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 310
    Headset Sennheiser HD555
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Extended
    OS Windows 10 x64
    xarot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    191

    It has to be an error on Guru3D site.

    R3B doesn't support 4-way SLI using 4 cards but I would strongly believe it supports Quad-SLI which means using two dual-GPU cards. And GTX590 doesn't even require SLI support from motherboard.
    Main: Xeon W-3175X - Dominus Extreme - 48 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-3200 - Palit RTX2080TI H2O - Phanteks Enthoo Primo - Corsair AX1500i - Samsung 960 PRO 1 TB + Intel 600P 1TB
    HTPC: i7-6950X - X99-M WS - 32 GB G.Skill RipjawsV DDR4-2400 - GTX1070 - Bitfenix Pandora - Corsair AX860 - Intel 750 400 GB + Samsung 1 TB 850 EVO
    All around: i7-7980XE - H150i Pro - Rampage VI Extreme - 64 GB G.Skill 4000 CL18-19-19-39 - Strix RTX2060 - In Win 101C - Samsung 960 EVO 512 GB

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I would suggest that unless you are buying a second hand board that you do not buy new. That board is quite a number of years old and no it does not support Quad SLI - we had to buy ROG expanders to bench 4 ways on that board.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array doze off. PC Specs
    doze off. PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i7-6950X @ 4.25GHz 1.281V
    Memory (part number)Corsair 64Gb (4x16Gb) DDR4-3333MHz C16 @ XMP
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorAsus PG278Q 27" 2560x1440p 2,5k
    Storage #1Samsung SM951 512Gb M.2 + 960 EVO 500Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 1Tb 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCorsair 570X x/HD120 fans & Scythe
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Ducky Channel One (MX Brown)
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
    Headset Sennheiser HD 600
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries 9HD
    OS Windows 10 Home 64-bit
    doze off.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    try and search for the specs of the mobo. i cant link enny thing since om on cell now.
    in the specs it will tell you what the mobo supports.
    Yes. Here it is:

    Code:
    Special 3x SLI / 4x CrossFire Support
    But is it really?

    Overclock.net forum, have a user that says the mb supports up to 3 video cards. Since the Quad-SLI would be 2 video cards I would support. But I'm still in doubt.

    Quote Originally Posted by xarot View Post
    It has to be an error on Guru3D site.

    R3B doesn't support 4-way SLI using 4 cards but I would strongly believe it supports Quad-SLI which means using two dual-GPU cards. And GTX590 doesn't even require SLI support from motherboard.
    It was exactly what this user overclock.net told me the plates supports Quad-SLI but because it is only 2 video cards.
    But I'm still in doubt. Do not buy a mb if I did not make sure you have compatibility 2x GTX590.

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    I would suggest that unless you are buying a second hand board that you do not buy new. That board is quite a number of years old and no it does not support Quad SLI - we had to buy ROG expanders to bench 4 ways on that board.
    I understand that the mb is already outdated. But I happen to like the x58 (1366) platform, R3BE will be used along with a i7-990X@4.4GHz (average of 1.36V) and A-Data XPG v2.0 3x2GB 2200MHz.

    I was even thinking of buying an ROG Xpander, but I believe in my case would not only be useful for 2 video cards that already work 16x/16x.
    i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz 1.368v - Tr HR-02/120 Copper - Asus M4E B3 - N460GTX TOP @ 900MHz - Mushkin 996982 8 GB (2x4) 1600 C7 @ 2133 C9 1.5v - WD 750GB AADS - Corsair 620HX - Xonar Essence STX - LG Blu-Ray CH10LS20 - LG W2353V - RC-690 II @ 8 Scythe 120 fans
    Sorry for my English!

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I do not want to say to you that it will work, when I am not 100% certain that it will. I can not do that.

    Like you I suspect that it should work because of the two cards making up the 4way, I just do not know for certain.

    However if you wish to take the change then go for it.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •