Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 48
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Exclamation Overclocking Ivy Bridge (3770K)

    Hi everyone,
    I am a beginner at overclocking. I want to get into the subject directly. I have a mobo maximus v gene z77, corsair 4GBx2 1600mhz corsair low profile memory, 3770K, gigabyte gtx770oc windforce 3x and thermaltake 750watt 80+ psu. I have never been succesful in ocing at 4.5ghz wilth cooler master evo 212. I tried some guides found in internet. The best time I achieved was 2 hours at 4.4ghz than boom BSOD. Is there anyone who can help me to find a stable oc spot in my experience? Thank you all in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I would suggest that your cooler is not able to manage the heat. Either try another cooler or lower your expectations. The CPU is quite warm my friend.

    What kind of voltages are you using?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Hi,

    Thank you for your interest. I used between 1.22 - 1.235v. Temperatures looked ok to me. 72-73 max is not much I gues. Am I wrong?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Was that each core? Or the entire package.

    I have used that cooler with system builders at a couple of stores and it really struggles to hold the load. However the voltages you are using will not generate the wattage to cause the cooler to fail. That means there is something else.

    Could you please tell me what settings in bios you change to OC to 4.4GHz?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    I will do it in 2-3 hours when I get back to home. Will check bios than tell you exact settings. Thank you by the way.

    Edit: Actually I used below settings;

    i Overclock Tuner ► Manual

    BCLK/PEG Frequency ► 100.0


    Turbo Ratio ► Manual

    Ratio Synchronizing Control ► Enabled

    1-Core Ratio Limit ►44

    Internal PLL Overvoltage ► Enabled

    CPU bus speed : DRAM speed ratio mode ► Auto

    Memory Frequency ► 1600mhz (X.M.P setting)

    EPU Power Saving Mode ► Disabled

    CPU Voltage ► Manual Mode

    CPU Manual Voltage ► 1.23v

    DRAM Voltage ► Auto

    VCCSA Voltage ► Auto

    CPU PLL Voltage ► Auto

    PCH Voltage ► Auto

    DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHA ► Auto

    Next 4 Entries in bios (DRAM DATA, DRAM CTRL) ► Auto

    CPU Spread Sectrum ► Disabled

    BCLK Recovery ► Disabled

    CPU Ratio ► 44

    Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology ► Enabled

    Turbo Mode ► Enabled

    Next 5 entries ► Auto

    CPU Load-line Calibration ► Ultra High

    CPU Voltage Frequency ► Manual

    CPU Fixed Frequency ► 300

    CPU Power Phase Control ► Extreme

    CPU Power Duty Control ► T-Probe

    CPU Current Capability ► 140%

    CPU Power Thermal Control ► 130

    CPU Power Response Control ► Auto

    DRAM Current Capability ► 100%

    DRAM Voltage Frequency ► Auto

    DRAM Power Phase Control ► Auto

    DRAM Power Thermal Control ► 110

    CPU Ratio ► 44

    Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology ► Enabled

    Turbo Mode ► Enabled

    CPU C1E ► Enabled

    CPU C3 Report ► Disabled

    CPU C6 Report ► Disabled

    Package C State Support ► Disabled

    There may be some small parts that I have missed.
    Last edited by spookslam; 12-19-2013 at 04:28 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Hi,

    Do you have an advise for me?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Hello mate

    Please try this.

    XMP for your mode of OC

    Set 44x sync all cores

    LLC set to 5

    CPU voltage manual

    Set voltage to 1.300

    All the rest on auto.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Windows could not load at the first run. At the second, it loaded but when I started prime95 bsod immediately.
    Last edited by spookslam; 12-20-2013 at 09:25 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    OK we now know that your system needs more voltage. 1.400 vcore please.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Well...Are you sure of that? Isn't that too much?

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •