Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Dreamonic PC Specs
    Dreamonic PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GX800VH-XS79K
    MotherboardASUS GX800VHK (Intel CM238/IDA154) w/Custom BIOS
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7820HK @ 4.8Ghz (+150mV) FCBGA 1440
    Memory (part number)64GB (PC4-22400) @ 18-18-18-38-53 (76.D305G.D060B)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB (GP104) OC @ +200/+800 w/Custom VBIOS
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB (GP104) OC @ +200/+800 w/Custom VBIOS
    MonitorASUS PG348Q 34" 3440x1440 @ 100Hz w/G-SYNC (mDP-to-DP)
    Storage #13x Samsung 512GB NVMe SSD RAID0 (S316NY0HA00959)
    CPU CoolerASUS GX800VHK Water Cooling Dock
    CaseASUS GX800VHK Chassis
    Power SupplyASUS 2x 330W Power Adapter (AC 100~240V, 50/60Hz, 16.9A/19.5V)
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse ASUS ROG Spatha
    Headset ASUS STRIX 7.1 Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Whetstone
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 / Arch Linux w/KDE Plasma
    Network RouterAsus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000 + GT-AC5300
    Accessory #1 Kensington 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub (K33978WW)
    Dreamonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    617

    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post
    Dreamonic, if dboris is up for all that I would second the recommendation - I stopped short myself because I thought dboris had already been through a lot of stuff with no success, and at some point you have to recognize the users limits and take it out of their hands - Asus can get it working for him and place the load of debugging where it belongs - on the vendors side.

    dboris, if you do all these things, just remember that even if it doesn't work, you have had the experience to try for yourself.

    I will say that restoring back to OEM install and setting the BIOS to defaults should have been enough to restore things back to new. And, the problem still exists - leaving me to believe it is a hardware problem.

    The only other thing I can think of is to back up to the previous BIOS, the one before the fixes for CPU speed on Battery, setting defaults again. But, even so, most every other G750 hasn't exhibited this problem.

    Completely understandable!

    I just figured it was too early to opt for possible RMA. At least this way, he'll have tried everything and can say he has put it through different testing conditions to hopefully resolve his problem; There are so many bugs in software and BIOSes as it is.

    @dboris

    Flashing your original factory BIOS along with a fresh Windows install can also be another option as hmscott suggested

    ALSO

    If you feel like you have spent enough time on this, then I would follow hmscott's recommendation and let ASUS just deal with it. After all, this is your machine and YOUR time we are using up troubleshooting this. We can't guarantee our fixes will resolve it, but ASUS can always send you another G750 saying it does.
    Last edited by Dreamonic; 12-26-2013 at 02:19 PM.

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Flashing your original factory BIOS along with a fresh Windows install can also be another option as hms do so?ott suggested
    I tried to flash some older BIOS, or to re-flash the 208 BIOS, but I haven't figured out how to.
    Because Winflash says that the BIOS that I try to flash is older than the one I have, even if I try to do so inside the BIOS.

    How can I do a fresh windows install?
    As said before, I reinstalled windows twice:
    Once by doing it on windows options.
    And once by pressing F9 on startup.
    Both times, I chosed to wipe completely the system disk.

    Is there any other solutions?

    ASUS support sent me an RMA document that I have to send back and then an operator will decide if my laptop can be sent back to ASUS support.

    But I d really like to solve it myself, since I don't want to get scratches on it or to have no compunter during weeks.. :/
    Last edited by dboris; 12-26-2013 at 02:31 PM.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by dboris View Post
    I tried to flash some older BIOS, or to re-flash the 208 BIOS, but I haven't figured out how to.
    Because Winflash says that the BIOS that I try to flash is older than the one I have, even if I try to do so inside the BIOS.

    How can I do a fresh windows install?
    As said before, I reinstalled windows twice:
    Once by doing it on windows options.
    And once by pressing F9 on startup.
    Both times, I chosed to wipe completely the system disk.

    Is there any other solutions?

    ASUS support sent me an RMA document that I have to send back and then an operator will decide if my laptop can be sent back to ASUS support.

    But I d really like to solve it myself, since I don't want to get scratches on it or to have no computer during weeks.. :/
    For some reason winflash doesn't allow installing an older dated BIOS than what you have installed, but you can override it.

    Add /nodate to the command line, or add it to properties in the shortcut for Winflash on the Target line (or a copy of the shortcut). Here is an example:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	winflash nodate.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	81.5 KB 
ID:	31629

    Winflash will still complain about the date, but the Flash option is enabled.
    Last edited by hmscott; 12-26-2013 at 02:39 PM.

  4. #24
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Great
    Thank you... Should I try to install an older bios or just the 208 again?

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    dboris, I would go back to the previous BIOS first, and test that. You will want to eventually update to the latest BIOS again, but you know it was working before on the original BIOS.
    Last edited by hmscott; 12-26-2013 at 02:45 PM.

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Dreamonic PC Specs
    Dreamonic PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GX800VH-XS79K
    MotherboardASUS GX800VHK (Intel CM238/IDA154) w/Custom BIOS
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7820HK @ 4.8Ghz (+150mV) FCBGA 1440
    Memory (part number)64GB (PC4-22400) @ 18-18-18-38-53 (76.D305G.D060B)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB (GP104) OC @ +200/+800 w/Custom VBIOS
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB (GP104) OC @ +200/+800 w/Custom VBIOS
    MonitorASUS PG348Q 34" 3440x1440 @ 100Hz w/G-SYNC (mDP-to-DP)
    Storage #13x Samsung 512GB NVMe SSD RAID0 (S316NY0HA00959)
    CPU CoolerASUS GX800VHK Water Cooling Dock
    CaseASUS GX800VHK Chassis
    Power SupplyASUS 2x 330W Power Adapter (AC 100~240V, 50/60Hz, 16.9A/19.5V)
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse ASUS ROG Spatha
    Headset ASUS STRIX 7.1 Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Whetstone
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 / Arch Linux w/KDE Plasma
    Network RouterAsus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000 + GT-AC5300
    Accessory #1 Kensington 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub (K33978WW)
    Dreamonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    617

    I wonder if it was yet another ASUS Live BIOS update recommendation again that got pushed in the background or other. If original BIOS worked, then this looks promising.

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Uhm.
    I tried to install the 207 bios.
    I have been able to click on "flash". "click on exit to continue".
    I clicked exit and it restarted. .__.
    And then, I clicked F2 to open the Bios: I was still on 208 bios.
    Ahaha, maybe I shouldn't have clicked on F2 .___.

    I will try again :3

    Edit: Yeah it worked
    I have the 207 bios now..

    *launches DAYZ*
    Last edited by dboris; 12-26-2013 at 02:59 PM.

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    dboris, schedule the flash again the same boot if that happens again, don't reboot if it doesn't tell you to reboot.

  9. #29
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    I F**CING WORKED .

    Now i'm still at 3.2ghz .

    I will go to the 208 back again and it should be all fixed!


    YAY!

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by dboris View Post
    I F**CING WORKED .

    Now i'm still at 3.2ghz .

    I will go to the 208 back again and it should be all fixed!


    YAY!
    Nice

    If you have the same problem with the re-intsalled 208 BIOS, we can hook you up with ThrottleStop on the 207 BIOS, which is what we used to get full performance on battery before Asus fixed the problem in the BIOS.
    Last edited by hmscott; 12-26-2013 at 03:06 PM.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •