Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    HELP!! PCI-E @ 8X GEN3. HASWELL+M6i+GTX780ti built.

    Should be 16x GEN 3. What is wrong?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	haswell_cpuz.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	84.2 KB 
ID:	31915Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pci-e@8x_bios1203.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	134.5 KB 
ID:	31916Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pci-e@8x_cpuz.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	63.5 KB 
ID:	31917Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pci-e@8x_gpuz.gif 
Views:	5 
Size:	21.0 KB 
ID:	31918

    Well, I'll let the images say the word.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Try setting to Gen3 in the bios please.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    As you can see from the GPU-Z screenie, its running Gen. 3.0 (x8 3.0) In bios its set to Auto, but I tried setting it to Gen 3 manually. Same result. 8x. not 16x

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Anyone out there with a Maximus VI Impact who's willing to check their PCI-EX16_1 setting in BIOS. As you can see above on the BIOS screenie, it says 8X on mine, and should be 16x with my Geforce GTX 7xx card.

    Right? Or am I totally mistaken here?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    oops, double post, sorry

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I have and I will.

    Could you confirm that you have selected the little question mark and run the bandwidth test? Just wondering if your card is powering down due to being close to idle.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    132

    Power saving mode should make it PCI-E 3.0 x16 @ 16 1.1 not 8 3.0, since you seem to be using correct slot change it from auto to Gen 3 in Bios.
    Last edited by jh30uk; 01-03-2014 at 11:21 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    I started this thread http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status= because I am having a similar issue with my first PCIe slot running at half the speed it is supposed to, except I have cross fire. My first slot runs at X4 when it should be X8 with a second gpu. I hope there is a bios update that fixes this because I really don't want to have to hassle with a RMA.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    HiVizMan: Yes, I did the render test in GPU-Z while taking the screenie.
    jh30uk: I forced GEN3 in bios. Still 8X after reboot.

    This is really weird. Did you check your bios, HiVizMan?

    The PCIEX16_1 slot on IMPACT is obviously the one and only PCI-E slot, and should be 16x no matter what. In bios it looks like its forced to be 8X only.

    Maybe the SupremeFX and WiFi/Blutooth/NGFF cards are taking some PCI-E lanes from the PCIE16x_1 slot??

    I sincerely don't hope so, since my main decision for puchasing this mobo was because of the headphone amp, ( doesn't work as intended yet due to driver f... ups) but thats another matter.
    Last edited by Exalix; 01-04-2014 at 09:28 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Yip checked bios.

    Could you try without those PCie cards please.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •