Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Unhappy BSOD at Windows loading when overclocking 4770K on Maximus VI Hero

    Hey guys! I'm currently trying to overclock my new setup (Intel i7 4770K and Maximus VI Hero), I'm new to overclocking so I'm using the "CPU power up" thing to automatically configure the BIOS for me. However, it seems like no matter which profile I use, I get a blue screen of death when Windows loads. It loads fine if I revert back to stock settings. I wouldn't think overheating would be a problem, since:
    1) I'm using a Corsair H100i water cooler
    2) I wouldn't think it would overheat that quickly on such small overclocking

    Does anyone know the source of my problem? I brought the K version CPU and the H100i with the intent of overclocking, so it sucks I'm hitting this issue already.
    Last edited by fireaza; 01-04-2014 at 10:56 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Please list all your hardware that is connected to the motherboard and could you tell me what the code on the BSOD is, I would guess 0124 but I do not want to guess.


    Clear BIOS F5 and enter.

    Set XMP profile as mode of OC.

    Sync all cores to 42

    Digi+ set LLC to regular.

    VCore manual mode and type in below 1.300

    F10 and enter.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    My hardware is:
    CPU: Intel Core i7 4770K
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i water cooler
    RAM: 12GB of DDRIII
    Video: EVGA GTX 780Ti SuperClocked (overclocked to 1.136GHz)

    There's also a MIO board that connects to the motherboard via a USB header that controls various functions of my case.

    That's a good point about the code on the BSOD, I'll see what it says. I'm assuming I'll be able to find out when I try the settings you suggested :P

    *EDIT* Where's "XMP profile" in the BIOS?
    Last edited by fireaza; 01-04-2014 at 11:27 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Goodey PC Specs
    Goodey PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Hero
    Processori7 4790K @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)16Gb 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 970 OC Gaming Edition 4GB
    Sound CardRecon3D PCI-E
    MonitorAsus 3d 144Hz
    Storage #1128GB OCZ SSD
    Storage #21TB Hybrid Storage
    CPU CoolerSilverstone TD02 WaterCooler
    Power SupplySilverstone 850W Full Modular
    Keyboard G-19
    Mouse Roccat XTD
    Headset Sennheiser PC 350 SE
    OS Win 7 X64 ULT & Win 8.1 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear D6200 Dual Band

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by fireaza View Post
    My hardware is:
    CPU: Intel Core i7 4770K
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i water cooler
    RAM: 12GB of DDRIII
    Video: EVGA GTX 780Ti SuperClocked (overclocked to 1.136GHz)

    There's also a MIO board that connects to the motherboard via a USB header that controls various functions of my case.

    That's a good point about the code on the BSOD, I'll see what it says. I'm assuming I'll be able to find out when I try the settings you suggested :P

    *EDIT* Where's "XMP profile" in the BIOS?
    Were it says AI Overclock Tuner, default is auto. change it to xmp. Like mine below

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	140104135512.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	183.2 KB 
ID:	31958
    Last edited by Goodey; 01-04-2014 at 01:56 PM.
    Main Rig
    i7 4790k OC 4.7GHZ 1.215V SilverStone TD02 WC
    Asus Maximus VI Hero
    Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400Mhz 16Gb
    Msi 970oc Edition 4gb
    2 SSD 120gb + 1TB SSHD
    Seasonic 850w
    Windows 7 Ult x64


  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Hmmmm, no "XMP" setting in "AI Overclock", but I do have "manual" I assume this is what I'm suppose to be choosing?

    Okay, so I've tried to follow HiVizMan's instructions, but again, a lot of my BIOS' settings are different from what he says. Namely no "regular" setting in "LLC", I have a series of numbers instead. I just chose "4" since it's the middle number which seemed the most "regular" to me. Vcore seemed to be named slightly differently, but I'm pretty sure I found the right place.

    Anyway, for some weird reason, my PC didn't blue screen this time! Successfully running at 4.2 GHz. Any idea what to make of this? It would blue screen like clockwork when I tried to use one of the built-on OC profiles. I did just update all my motherboard drivers recently, and this is the first time I've tried overclocking since then, might it have been a driver issue that I've fixed by installing the latest drivers?
    Last edited by fireaza; 01-04-2014 at 02:09 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Number 4 is fine , older bios used medium, high and so on. My bad.

    The built in OC profiles just did not work with your system mate, easy as that. I do not like them at all.

    You should have XMP as an option in the mode of OC.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Goodey PC Specs
    Goodey PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Hero
    Processori7 4790K @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)16Gb 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 970 OC Gaming Edition 4GB
    Sound CardRecon3D PCI-E
    MonitorAsus 3d 144Hz
    Storage #1128GB OCZ SSD
    Storage #21TB Hybrid Storage
    CPU CoolerSilverstone TD02 WaterCooler
    Power SupplySilverstone 850W Full Modular
    Keyboard G-19
    Mouse Roccat XTD
    Headset Sennheiser PC 350 SE
    OS Win 7 X64 ULT & Win 8.1 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear D6200 Dual Band

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Im not a fan either. manual overclock is alot better and if u have the patience can be very efficient compared to auto overclocks. auto 4.2 on mine was setting core volts as high as 1.32v and when i did it manually stock 1.2v was stable so basically it was overvolting for nothing.

    not the best idea in the world and all mobo manufactures all do it to be competitive with each other. but in my opinion its not the best way to go about things.
    Main Rig
    i7 4790k OC 4.7GHZ 1.215V SilverStone TD02 WC
    Asus Maximus VI Hero
    Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400Mhz 16Gb
    Msi 970oc Edition 4gb
    2 SSD 120gb + 1TB SSHD
    Seasonic 850w
    Windows 7 Ult x64


  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Number 4 is fine , older bios used medium, high and so on. My bad.

    The built in OC profiles just did not work with your system mate, easy as that. I do not like them at all.

    You should have XMP as an option in the mode of OC.
    Hmmm, I tried using the "4.2" OC profile and this one didn't blue screen. The other one did though, here's a photo of the blue screen:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ROGMBbluescreen.jpg 
Views:	37 
Size:	117.8 KB 
ID:	31959

    Nope, no "XMP" option, just "manual" and "auto"

    Quote Originally Posted by Goodey View Post
    Im not a fan either. manual overclock is alot better and if u have the patience can be very efficient compared to auto overclocks. auto 4.2 on mine was setting core volts as high as 1.32v and when i did it manually stock 1.2v was stable so basically it was overvolting for nothing.

    not the best idea in the world and all mobo manufactures all do it to be competitive with each other. but in my opinion its not the best way to go about things.
    Profiles are nice for guys like me who aren't familiar with overclocking, but based on what HiVizMan described, basic manual overclocking involves choosing the desired core rate and choosing an appropriate voltage core? How do you know what a suitable voltage core is? If I wanted to go higher than 4.2GHz, how would I go about this (aside from setting the speed I want in "core" obviously)?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Goodey PC Specs
    Goodey PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Hero
    Processori7 4790K @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)16Gb 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 970 OC Gaming Edition 4GB
    Sound CardRecon3D PCI-E
    MonitorAsus 3d 144Hz
    Storage #1128GB OCZ SSD
    Storage #21TB Hybrid Storage
    CPU CoolerSilverstone TD02 WaterCooler
    Power SupplySilverstone 850W Full Modular
    Keyboard G-19
    Mouse Roccat XTD
    Headset Sennheiser PC 350 SE
    OS Win 7 X64 ULT & Win 8.1 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear D6200 Dual Band

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by fireaza View Post
    Hmmm, I tried using the "4.2" OC profile and this one didn't blue screen. The other one did though, here's a photo of the blue screen:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ROGMBbluescreen.jpg 
Views:	37 
Size:	117.8 KB 
ID:	31959

    Nope, no "XMP" option, just "manual" and "auto"


    Profiles are nice for guys like me who aren't familiar with overclocking, but based on what HiVizMan described, basic manual overclocking involves choosing the desired core rate and choosing an appropriate voltage core? How do you know what a suitable voltage core is? If I wanted to go higher than 4.2GHz, how would I go about this (aside from setting the speed I want in "core" obviously)?
    Ok dont get ahead of yourself.

    Make sure your system is stable at stock settings 1st doing a stability test 1st... at least 3 runs i would. then check the stickies on here on how to overclock and find stability and read thru it... if u cant get stock settings to be stable then come back. but read the guides they really are helpfull and simplified..
    Main Rig
    i7 4790k OC 4.7GHZ 1.215V SilverStone TD02 WC
    Asus Maximus VI Hero
    Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400Mhz 16Gb
    Msi 970oc Edition 4gb
    2 SSD 120gb + 1TB SSHD
    Seasonic 850w
    Windows 7 Ult x64


  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Your bios is corrupted if you do not have XMP profile as a Mode of OC


    Please download the latest bios and extract the bios file to the root directory of a fat formatted USB drive/stick. Navigate to the tools menu in bios and use the EZflash2 utility to update your bios.

    Do not use OS.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •