Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 43
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Just a thought...

    ...But is it possible that the XMP value is not listed because the ram doesn't have an XMP profile?
    Case Corsair 600T || PSU CX Series™ Modular CX750M
    Motherboard Maximus VI Hero || CPU Intel i5-4670K
    Cooler Corsair H100 || Ram 16gb Corsair Vengence 1600 (4x4gb)
    SSD 2 x Samsung 840 Evo (250gb) [RAID 0] (OS) || HHD WD 500gb Black
    GPU EVGA 780ti SC ACX || OS Windows 8.1

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Now that is something I certainly did not think of.

    OP please list your full part number for your kit of ram.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array Goodey PC Specs
    Goodey PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Hero
    Processori7 4790K @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)16Gb 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 970 OC Gaming Edition 4GB
    Sound CardRecon3D PCI-E
    MonitorAsus 3d 144Hz
    Storage #1128GB OCZ SSD
    Storage #21TB Hybrid Storage
    CPU CoolerSilverstone TD02 WaterCooler
    Power SupplySilverstone 850W Full Modular
    Keyboard G-19
    Mouse Roccat XTD
    Headset Sennheiser PC 350 SE
    OS Win 7 X64 ULT & Win 8.1 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear D6200 Dual Band

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Now that is something I certainly did not think of.

    OP please list your full part number for your kit of ram.
    i dint say the same as i thought you already considered that hahah. lol. good possibility and i put a virtual tenner on it :P
    Main Rig
    i7 4790k OC 4.7GHZ 1.215V SilverStone TD02 WC
    Asus Maximus VI Hero
    Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400Mhz 16Gb
    Msi 970oc Edition 4gb
    2 SSD 120gb + 1TB SSHD
    Seasonic 850w
    Windows 7 Ult x64


  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    That's a possibility, as my RAM is a number of years old (didn't upgrade it when I got the new MB and CPU) it's Samsung "M378B5273CH0-CH9" according to CPUZ. What IS XMP anyway? :\

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    XMP is basically a profile (that is stored on the ram modules) which contains the relavent speed and voltage information that the manufacturer has designed it to perform at.

    Not all ram modules have it.

    You can get a PDF file from HERE with information about your ram modules
    Last edited by WEIR_SJ; 01-05-2014 at 01:12 AM.
    Case Corsair 600T || PSU CX Series™ Modular CX750M
    Motherboard Maximus VI Hero || CPU Intel i5-4670K
    Cooler Corsair H100 || Ram 16gb Corsair Vengence 1600 (4x4gb)
    SSD 2 x Samsung 840 Evo (250gb) [RAID 0] (OS) || HHD WD 500gb Black
    GPU EVGA 780ti SC ACX || OS Windows 8.1

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Hmmm, so my RAM doesn't support that, which is why I don't see a XMP option?

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I would say so. Never seen a stick of ram that did not have a XMP profile.

    Might be time to update your memory kit.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Probably. Thinking some Corsair Vengeance, it's suppose to have some thing that works with Haswell CPUs to do... Something. I think it's suppose to allow the RAM to go faster, but I was under the impression that past 1600MHz you don't really see much of a difference. Is there a point to using 2400MHz?
    Last edited by fireaza; 01-06-2014 at 11:31 AM.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    You do see a difference in performance. 1600 v 2400 is a reasonable amount of difference but it is small to be fair. Best value right now is a good 16gb kit of 1600MHz memory.

    Vengeance do have XMP profiles.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Hmmmm, do you think it would be best to get a 1866MHz 2x 4GB kit then add another of these later to fill all 4x DIMMs or would it be better to get a 1600MHz 2x 8GB kit?

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •