Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Randomname's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    Trouble installing Kali Linux

    Don't know where to turn for help, so I've posted it here fellow RoGers

    I've downloaded the latest version of Kali (1.0.5) and when I make a bootable USB stick it won't boot from it.
    Then I went into the BIOS and changed the boot order and guess what! nothing happens -.-"

    Then I've spammed 'Esc' on boot for it to load the 'Boot Loader' (? don't remember it's exact name, sorry), I selected the USB stick manually but then a black screen appeared telling me that there is no OS present???

    When I mount the iso manually via Deamon tools and try to it says 'This program doesn't support windows 6.2.9200 sp0 yet '
    And yet I heard that people had installed Kali on Win8.

    Then I tried to install it with VirtualBox (OS: linux, Distro: Debian), I assigned it 4Gb of RAM and 20Gb of my SSD for it to run, of course, then I went and selected the iso, launched it and then got this error message:

    Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Kali.

    VT-x is not available. (VERR_VMX_NO_VMX).

    Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
    Component: Console
    Interface: IConsole {8ab7c520-2442-4b66-8d74-4ff1e195d2b6}

    btw. 'Kali' is the name of the OS.
    -----------
    I read somewhere that it was because the secure boot option was enabled, I tried disabling it, but no tile appears for the UEFI Firmware setting in the charms menu (whatever it's called)
    When I get into BIOS, I can't find anything that says to enable or disable anything regarding UEFi.
    ASUS G750JH-T4086D
    CPU: Intel Quad Core I7-4700HQ@ 2.4GHz
    GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 780M
    RAM: 16GB
    Memory: 1TB + 250GB SSD (Samsung 840 EVO 250GB)
    OS: Windows 8 64-bit
    Display: Anti-Glare (yup, I'm bragging about it :P)

  2. #2
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Disable Fastboot in Win8/8.1 http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials...ndows-8-a.html



    You will also need to disable it in BIOS as well

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array Randomname's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    it's already disable :S
    Both BIOS and in the power options :S
    That was the tutorial I was using a couple of days ago :S
    ASUS G750JH-T4086D
    CPU: Intel Quad Core I7-4700HQ@ 2.4GHz
    GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 780M
    RAM: 16GB
    Memory: 1TB + 250GB SSD (Samsung 840 EVO 250GB)
    OS: Windows 8 64-bit
    Display: Anti-Glare (yup, I'm bragging about it :P)

  4. #4
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Have you changed Secure Boot in BIOS too?

    Edit: OK so change Secure Boot to "Other" if you haven't yet. Then scroll to "CSM", enable it then select Legacy and you should be good to go
    Last edited by Myk SilentShadow; 01-06-2014 at 04:09 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Randomname's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    Quote Originally Posted by Myk SilentShadow View Post
    Have you changed Secure Boot in BIOS too?

    Edit: OK so change Secure Boot to "Other" if you haven't yet. Then scroll to "CSM", enable it then select Legacy and you should be good to go
    I can't find the secure boot option in the BIOS, that is my main problem, the only thing related to Secure Boot I found was 'Launch pxe oprom policy' and I have no bloody idea what it is :S

    Also, I can't find anything containing CSM or Legacy, except for the thing mentioned above, I've even reset my BIOS to default settings :S

    EDIT: The 'Launch PXE oprom policy' I've set to enabled.
    And I've both tried with enabled and disabled, from scratch :S
    ASUS G750JH-T4086D
    CPU: Intel Quad Core I7-4700HQ@ 2.4GHz
    GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 780M
    RAM: 16GB
    Memory: 1TB + 250GB SSD (Samsung 840 EVO 250GB)
    OS: Windows 8 64-bit
    Display: Anti-Glare (yup, I'm bragging about it :P)

  6. #6
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    That's strange, those options should be in the Boot tab o.O

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Randomname's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    What do you think could be the issue of the Secure Boot options not appearing?
    And would installing windows 8.1 fix it?
    I've been avoiding the installation because there seems that there are still some drivers missing :S
    ASUS G750JH-T4086D
    CPU: Intel Quad Core I7-4700HQ@ 2.4GHz
    GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 780M
    RAM: 16GB
    Memory: 1TB + 250GB SSD (Samsung 840 EVO 250GB)
    OS: Windows 8 64-bit
    Display: Anti-Glare (yup, I'm bragging about it :P)

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Randomname View Post
    Don't know where to turn for help, so I've posted it here fellow RoGers

    I've downloaded the latest version of Kali (1.0.5) and when I make a bootable USB stick it won't boot from it.
    Then I went into the BIOS and changed the boot order and guess what! nothing happens -.-"

    Then I've spammed 'Esc' on boot for it to load the 'Boot Loader' (? don't remember it's exact name, sorry), I selected the USB stick manually but then a black screen appeared telling me that there is no OS present???

    When I mount the iso manually via Deamon tools and try to it says 'This program doesn't support windows 6.2.9200 sp0 yet '
    And yet I heard that people had installed Kali on Win8.

    Then I tried to install it with VirtualBox (OS: linux, Distro: Debian), I assigned it 4Gb of RAM and 20Gb of my SSD for it to run, of course, then I went and selected the iso, launched it and then got this error message:

    Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Kali.

    VT-x is not available. (VERR_VMX_NO_VMX).

    Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
    Component: Console
    Interface: IConsole {8ab7c520-2442-4b66-8d74-4ff1e195d2b6}

    btw. 'Kali' is the name of the OS.
    -----------
    I read somewhere that it was because the secure boot option was enabled, I tried disabling it, but no tile appears for the UEFI Firmware setting in the charms menu (whatever it's called)
    When I get into BIOS, I can't find anything that says to enable or disable anything regarding UEFi.
    You can turn to the Linux forums for your distro

    How to EFI install Kali Linux

    The Kali iso does not support being used as a EFI bootable source out of the box. This is easily fixed.
    1) Create a bootable USB thumb drive of Kali using the directions at http://docs.kali.org/installation/ka...ve-usb-install
    2) On the thumb drive create the following folder structure /EFI/Boot
    ...
    https://forums.kali.org/showthread.p...all-Kali-Linux



    If you are seeing this error:

    "VT-x is not available. (VERR_VMX_NO_VMX)."

    You need to go into the G750 BIOS and set the 2 VM options to be enabled - they should be enabled by default.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_0002.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	487.2 KB 
ID:	32020
    Last edited by hmscott; 01-07-2014 at 09:05 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array Randomname's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_0260.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	564.5 KB 
ID:	32027Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_0261.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	450.2 KB 
ID:	32028Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_0262.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	384.3 KB 
ID:	32029Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_0263.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	388.2 KB 
ID:	32030

    These are my BIOS options (my usb stick is sitll inside) (the laptop, of course :P)
    I somehow managed to boot it from my usb stick, but I only went to the live, thinking that it wouldn't boot the live version aaaaaand it did boot the live version.

    I shutdown my laptop because my brother needed it.
    Now the problem is I don't know how to recreate it :S

    EDIT:The first pic was wrong, sorry -.-"
    EDIT:EDIT: Ignore the pic with the service information, another story -.-"
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos DSC_0258.jpg  

    Last edited by Randomname; 01-07-2014 at 02:18 PM.
    ASUS G750JH-T4086D
    CPU: Intel Quad Core I7-4700HQ@ 2.4GHz
    GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 780M
    RAM: 16GB
    Memory: 1TB + 250GB SSD (Samsung 840 EVO 250GB)
    OS: Windows 8 64-bit
    Display: Anti-Glare (yup, I'm bragging about it :P)

  10. #10
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    If you disable Launch PXE OpRom, does that bring back the Launch CSM option?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •