Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array B0UJI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    175

    7970 Matrix Platinum Overclocking - can't break 1180mhz

    Hey all,
    Just wanted to inquire with the wisdom of the forum about what luck any one has had overclocking the Matrix 7970 platinum.

    If I lock the GPU Clock + Voltage together and push to 1200 I get major artifacting in the Heaven 4.0 Benchmark and a raft of errors when using the GPU test of OCCT (http://www.ocbase.com/).

    I've been fiddling with it over the last few days untying the clock + voltage to be independent and have ended up with the settings:

    GPU Clock: 1180Mhz
    GPU Voltage: 1325mV
    VDDCI Voltage: 875mV (the default left it unchanged)
    Memory Clock: 7000Mhz
    Memory Voltage: 1620mV
    Power Target: 120%
    Load Line: 75%
    VRM Clock: 705Khz

    With these setting I'm stable in Heaven 4.0 (ran for an hour in loop no identifiable artifacting) and will pass and error check GPU test in OCCT fine for an hour too. Temps are also fine, set up a custom fan profile to kick it up higher earlier and sits around 62* c on load.

    What does anyone think? Any settings look wrong? Anything I can try adjust to get 1200Mhz GPU Clock stable?

    I'm happy with 1180Mhz if that's all I'll get but just thought I'd throw it out see if there's something obvious I've missed.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Nope I never had much luck with any of my Matrix cards when it came to overclocking them either. Zka17 has three as well and he did not get spectacular results either.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    My best guess, would be depending on when you purchased your Matrix, if you got one in the 1st deployment you'd have been golden...but then, AMD decided it would be a good idea to put a voltage lock on the 7xxx series after a certain time...which was, I think what affected the 2nd deployment of the Matrix cards, if memory serves correctly it was that time the voltage lock was enforced.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array B0UJI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    175

    Fair enough, thanks for the quick responses. It's not voltage locked for sure as I can push the voltage up and down independently. But second I go to 1190 it's starts getting errors in OCCT fast no matter how higher I push the voltage.

    Does the power target need to be 120% too? Or can I lower you reckon? Or does it not matter as it only draws more if it needs it.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    The fact of the matter is that any overclocking head room on a graphic card is a bonus. To put that in perspective the first few of cards I had were bought the week the HD7970 were released. They were stock reference cards. 4 out of the 5 cards did 1300MHz Unigine Heaven. None of my so called special cards that I bought later, Lightnings or any others have come close to clocking as well on air as those first cards.

    On LN2 it was a whole different ball game. Because the big difference was the power delivery system. So getting close to 1750MHz on the core was possible using LN2 and adding some voltage.

    But air clocking nope the first batch were great for me and nothing has come close since then.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array twisted1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    72
    Posts
    815

    HiVizMan that's very true, they Matrix ie. is really made for sub zero, low ASIC gpu's and the 20 phase powerdelivery is so overkill it can easily power two 7970's @1.2-1,3Ghz. The Ares 2 has the exact same powerdelivery, and that's got two gpu's :P

    My Matrix is really lovely tho, i'm getting it above 1300Mhz benchmark stable. And thats w/o hotwire and OCP mod's. So I'm really happy with mine. Only thing I dont like is that I want another one but can't get a hold of one.

    Got a dirt-cheap Dcu2 top instead and lucky me, seems to be a good sample. Not quite keeping up with the matrix but rock stable up too 1250Mhz on gpu. Need to hotwire that so I can get Vmem and PLL adjusted.

    OP: Lover your mem clocks, mine can sometimes artifact above 7000mhz on mem. The hynix mem. is actually only specced for 1600Mhz if i remember correctly and it's already OC'd with stock settings on the matrix. So leave the mem alone and just tweak gpu, when you find the limit for gpu you can tweak mem.

    Powertarget always maxed out when OC.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array B0UJI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    175

    Allrighty I'll keep it at 120% power target.

    Thanks guys it's been very informative. Quite happy now with my 1180 overclock.

    Twisted1 - I haven't seen any artifacting and the OCCT GPU test reported no memory errors after an hour, also ran heaven for an hour numerous times + just tried the Metro and Bioshock Infinite benchmarks and all seemed fine (no artifacting).

    Nice boost in performance too! Did notice that possibly my "minimum" framerates may have dropped a bit but maximums are WAAAAY up. Any one seen this behavior with OC's?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Zka17 has three as well and he did not get spectacular results either.
    Thank you, HiVizman... - and I was thinking that I'm doing good... But yes, you're right! I was expecting more off these cards...

    However, all what I did until now is that I mounted waterblocks on them, no hotwire or other mods yet (collecting more infos about those)... - I may be lucky, but all three of my cards can do 1250MHz on the GPU on air and 1300MHz easily (except Vantage) on water...

    BOUJI, 62C is pretty high for those cards... I assume, you meant 62C on the GPU... - then the VRMs are way too high (you can not measure that unfortunately) and the card is downclocking...

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array twisted1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    72
    Posts
    815

    Once you get the hot-wire set up you'll get alot more voltage headroom, and you can disable OCP. OCP is just good for messing upp OC's

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array B0UJI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    175

    Quote Originally Posted by Zka17 View Post
    BOUJI, 62C is pretty high for those cards... I assume, you meant 62C on the GPU... - then the VRMs are way too high (you can not measure that unfortunately) and the card is downclocking...
    It doesn't seem to be down clocking as everything is showing the CoreClock stable and Memory at 7000 - not dropping down at any point. If i see any artifacting or any halts I'll drop the Memory Clock back to 6600.

    Or should I try drop the VRM clock and see if it's still stable?

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •