Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Asus Crosshair V Formula Z Video problems

    I Just Got the board installed, the board fails to display video with a GTX 570 nor a GTX 470, GTX 470 was pulled from another working computer. I put a GT 630 in the computer, and the compter displays video just fine and boots just fine. The Bios shows the GT630 (Nvidia Video card) and the GTX 570, but the computer will not display any video on the GTX 570. Windows reconzied the GTX 570 but display no video on it.

    My build
    AMD 8350
    Corssair PSU 750 Watts
    OCZ ram
    On the code screen im getting AA in windows.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I have tried a few other things, reinstalling windows (again) I have tried a socket am3 phenom processor. I installed the drivers for the 630GT and it failed to post video as well. I flashed the most recent bios before this all started.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Thinkpad T410
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair V Formula - Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 9590
    Memory (part number)BLE2KIT8G3D1869DE1TX0 (8-8-8-24, 1866 MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS R9 390 STRIX (OC, GAMING)
    Storage #1SG Constellation 6 TB (6x1 TB) RAID 0
    Storage #2SG Constellation 2 TB (2x2 TB) RAID 1
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCaseLabs STH-10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X5
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Perixx 900x440x3 mm + Steelseries 320x270x3 mm + ALLSOP hard pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G930/Altec Lansing 5.1
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
    Dr. Zchivago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    609

    Assuming your PSU is good/reliable, and you connected all of the necessary power lines to both the motherboard and the graphics card, have you tried booting with only one stick of RAM, CPU, and the graphics card (connected and powered)?

    If you're trying to set up Crossfire, then if I'm not mistaken (please, someone correct me if this is not accurate), the multiple cards must be identical, all.

    If not X-Fire, then I'd try the aforementioned "bare-bones" boot set up, and reset BIOS to factory and clear CMOS.

    Also, how high is the possibility that the PCIe slot is no good? Maybe try the other slots as well as a part of the "bare-bones" set up.

    Additionally, I would appreciate correction if I'm feeding any inaccurate information.

    Dr. Z
    Resistance is futile (at <1 Ohm).

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array TheNerdBench's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    34
    Posts
    434

    Sorry but I need to ask a few questions:

    1) did all three cards (GTX 630, 570 & 470) function individually in another system?
    2) did all three cards function individually on your CFZ (Cross Hair Formula Z)?

    Just to clarify:
    Because these cards have different GPUs you will not be able to "bond them" (is this case SLI) if that is what you "may" be trying to do.


    For trouble-shooting tips see my blog at:



    http://thenerdbench.blogspot.com/p/bench-testing.html



    MB: Crosshair V Formula-Z • CPU: FX-8350 • GPU: Asus Matrix R9 280x • RAM: 8GB of Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (1866)• PSU: Thermaltake DPS Thoughpower 750 Watt • CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Frio Advanced • Keyboard: TT Sports Challanger Ultimate • Mouse: TT Sports Black Element • Case: Thermaltake GT Level 10


  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    OK So lets just say here that I have been building computers for 10 years, since I was 17 or so. I took the A+ hardware Class, in college, wich really was just a class that tought me the steps of trouble shooting, i knew most everything hardware they taught. So we can assume that is not a basic, cable, or seating issue (unless there is an odd fit somewhere).

    Ok so to answer questions starting in top down. Good Corsair PSU, brand new, although I had the same problems with the older PSU (I thought it could be the cause So I replaced it). I have tried a multiple configurations of PCIE slots. The Crosshair is a upgrade the 570 was a pull from the old build (working build), the 470's were working from another computer. ATI uses crossfire, and Nvidia uses Sli you can't link cards that are different moddles and the 630 cant sli at all because it dosent support it. I am not trying to SLI the different cards just use them to trouble shoot the problem.


    The problem seems to be this. tthe 470 and 570 do not display video. infact if you don't connect power to the cards, normally they scream at you letting you know you forgot, but if I dont on this board they do nothing. But the Bios registers the cards being installed. Now when i put the 630 and 470 in the both cards get reconzied by the bios. and show in the device manager. No video is outputted on the 470, just the 630. I got tired of trouble shooting in 680*480 so I install nvida drivers, nothing unusall reboot, windows loading screen and then the video dies, again on both cards. Windows is running because when the power button is pressed the computer shut downs and dosnt just turn off. Booted into safe mode device manager shows both cards by name and has nvidia drivers. going to reinstall windows again and go step by step again and make notes for you.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Heini PC Specs
    Heini PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus SABERTOOTH Z170 MARK 1
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ (2 x 16GB) F4-3000C14D
    Graphics Card #1Evga 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCooler Master HAF XB EVO
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 1000W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 (Brown Cherry MX)
    Mouse Secret (Ducky)
    Headset Sennheiser HD 580
    Mouse Pad EVGA TORQ
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win10 Pro 64
    Heini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    600

    Quote Originally Posted by chad2625 View Post
    ............I flashed the most recent bios before this all started.
    Don't know a lot about these things but maybe try another bios?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Ok I had 3 maybe 4 problems. The first A bad Pcie Slot, a bad DVI cable, video drivers before Chip set, and I changed Video card selection was set to PEG/PCI to PCI/PEG These things fixed my problem. When I changed PCIE ports I went from a bad port and a bad DVI cable, this is odvi cable. I don't know if the PEG/PCI setting did anything but I did change it. Thanks for the suggestions. Feel free to PM me for questions, its not my board but it's my partners.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array TheNerdBench's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    34
    Posts
    434

    Sorry for the confusion as I didn't totally understand the first post; just remember that we are here to help

    Yep as you pointed out...always a good idea to install chipset drivers first.

    The PCI/PEG would boot initialize the a PCI card first followed by a PCI Express Card; I would assume the cards are all PCI Express.

    Regardless it seems you have the system "up" and thanks for getting back to us...always nice to find out what the real problem was/is.


    For trouble-shooting tips see my blog at:



    http://thenerdbench.blogspot.com/p/bench-testing.html



    MB: Crosshair V Formula-Z • CPU: FX-8350 • GPU: Asus Matrix R9 280x • RAM: 8GB of Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (1866)• PSU: Thermaltake DPS Thoughpower 750 Watt • CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Frio Advanced • Keyboard: TT Sports Challanger Ultimate • Mouse: TT Sports Black Element • Case: Thermaltake GT Level 10


  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    If there are any question keep them in the open forum so that other users who have similar problems can be helped.


    If the board is new or within warranty I would RMA it, all your PCIe slots should work. Thank you for the detailed problem solving.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by chad2625 View Post
    Ok I had 3 maybe 4 problems. The first A bad Pcie Slot, a bad DVI cable, video drivers before Chip set, and I changed Video card selection was set to PEG/PCI to PCI/PEG These things fixed my problem. When I changed PCIE ports I went from a bad port and a bad DVI cable, this is odvi cable. I don't know if the PEG/PCI setting did anything but I did change it. Thanks for the suggestions. Feel free to PM me for questions, its not my board but it's my partners.
    It is interesting that you had 2 solid problems; bad slot, and bad cable, and then 2 maybe issues: bad drivers, and to follow a UEFI selection. Whoa!

    Quote Originally Posted by TheNerdBench View Post
    Sorry for the confusion as I didn't totally understand the first post; just remember that we are here to help

    Yep as you pointed out...always a good idea to install chipset drivers first.

    The PCI/PEG would boot initialize the a PCI card first followed by a PCI Express Card; I would assume the cards are all PCI Express.

    Regardless it seems you have the system "up" and thanks for getting back to us...always nice to find out what the real problem was/is.
    Are you sure about this comment? I only ask as there is no PCI slot on the Formula-Z. Is there some other way to use a PCI video card in a PCIe only motherboard?
    Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z | AMD FX 8350 | G.Skill TridentX 2400 16G | Asus Matrix GTX 580 Platinum | Sandisk Extreme SSD 480GB | SB X-Fi Titanium HD | Asus VG248QE | Corsair AX860i PSU | Lian-Li PC-V1200 | Win 7 Pro x64 | Zalman CNPS 9900 Maxx

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •