cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G750JX Help installing new BIOS! (209)

kidfromhell
Level 9
I bought my G750JX last week and did a clean install of 8.1 using the tutorial directed to by one of the threads over here! Whilst checking the ASUS support site for updates, I found that new BIOS has been released and I want to update to it. When running the BIOS flashing utility provided by ASUS, it doesn't install and says that it can install only on ASUS notebooks though mine is. The problem is with the clean installation of 8.1 which doesn't allow me to install the utility. Is there any workarounds to flash the bios? I'm new to UEFI BIOS so please do help me 🙂
6 REPLIES 6

hmscott
Level 12
kidfromhell wrote:
I bought my G750JX last week and did a clean install of 8.1 using the tutorial directed to by one of the threads over here! Whilst checking the ASUS support site for updates, I found that new BIOS has been released and I want to update to it. When running the BIOS flashing utility provided by ASUS, it doesn't install and says that it can install only on ASUS notebooks though mine is. The problem is with the clean installation of 8.1 which doesn't allow me to install the utility. Is there any workarounds to flash the bios? I'm new to UEFI BIOS so please do help me 🙂

The easiest way is to schedule to BIOS update from a windows utility that you can download from Asus:
http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&m=G750JX&hashedid=x1g0H6pE0yWYGV8x

It schedules the BIOS update, reboots, and the BIOS is updated, and then boots into Windows.

You can also put the unzipped BIOS update at the top of the C drive, use Shift-CTL-Alt Reboot from the Charm bar and select UEFI BIOS changes to get into the BIOS and do the BIOS update from the BIOS - a bit more trouble, but does the same thing.