Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    SSD install on a ASUS Rampage GENE III

    I'd like to replace my old mechanical OS hard drive with an SSD on my ASUS Rampage GENE III motherboard. I'm running Windows 7 Pro. I've heard that the Marvell SATA 6Gb/s Ports are a bottleneck on this particular motherboard. Should I even try installing an SSD on the Marvell Ports, or use the other Intel Controller ports instead?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array darkage PC Specs
    darkage PC Specs
    MotherboardApex IX
    Processor???? K
    Memory (part number)TEAMGROUP-UD4-3200@4133C19
    Graphics Card #1STRIX R9 FURY
    MonitorMX279
    Storage #1960 EVO 250
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy
    CaseDIMASTECH 2.5 Easy
    Power SupplyHCP 850W
    Mouse ROG GLADIUS
    Mouse Pad Glorious
    OS 10 64 PRO
    darkage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    302

    use the intel ports, place the boot disk in sata 1 and its done

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    OK. What I want to do is clone my OS drive, then swap it in. I also have a game drive, but I want to leave that alone. Do I need to change anything in the BIOS, or in the registry, since I'm not reinstalling Windows? And would switching to a SSD even bring me any performance improvements?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Do you know what your current SATA mode is for the OS drive? You ideally want to have your new SSD OS a fresh OS install on ACHI mode. Do not use any other port but the Intel ports please.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    I bought my system from a builder. Unfortunately, they installed my OS 1TB HHD on the 6Gb/s Marvell SATA port, then set it to IDE. The other 1TB drive is connected to the other Marvell port and also set to IDE, but it's not in a RAID configuration.I'm starting to think that reinstalling Windows would be my best option because of the way my system drives were connected originally. I would then be able set everything up cleanly with the new OS drive on the Intel connectors using AHCI. What other AHCI sub-settings would I need to set things to?

    Another question. If I switched both my current HHD's to the Intel ports and set them both to AHCI, what speed gain would I expect from just my old mechanical drives?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    It is a good idea I agree to do a fresh OS install on your SSD> When you do the install do not have any of the mechanical drives fitted just the SSD. That way the OS does not put the boot record on odd places. Also do a Clear CMOS before you do the install. Makes life easier in the long run I found.

    As to speed, well you will or should find your hard drives are more responsive using the native SATA ports, they will not suddenly become blindingly fast. Mech drives are not fast at all when compared to SSD.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Thank you for the information. I know that the mechanical drives won't be much faster, but I was just curious and every little bit helps. At least until I can splurge for that nice, new SSD really soon.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Another question concerning this issue. In the interim, I'm going to switch over my HHD's to the my motherboard's Intel SATA Controller and use AHCI mode. What's the best way to disable the Marvell Controller?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •