Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Can't get bios to come up

    I have a brand new Maximus VI Formula. I cab't get the bios to come up. Bench tested with 3 different types of RAM (Corsair Dominator 1600Mhz, Vengance 1600Mhz, and Platinum 2400Mhz); 2 different PSUs (Rosewill Lightning 1000W and an Apevia Warlock 1100W); different monitord; 2 different video cards and onboard video (ASUS GTX760 and a PNY Gfroce 9800GTX+). Memory OK button doesn't light up, reset switch on the front of the board does nothing, direct key button does nothing, Q code sits at 00. I7 4770K. What is wrong?

    $1,000,000.00

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Your CPU is dead.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    The CPU is brand new

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Quote Originally Posted by $1,000,000.00 View Post
    The CPU is brand new

    I accept that - Code 00 indicates that the CPU is dead. Brand new or not, you may have got a faulty CPU.

    If you have all your PSU connectors fitted to the motherboard, especially the 12v EPS CPU connectors then your board is peachy. If there was no display on the LED poster I would suggest the board is broken. But there is code 00 no CPU detected.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    ok newchip in now i get a qcode of A2

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deepcuts PC Specs
    Deepcuts PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X HERO BIOS 1901
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K @ 4.7Ghz 1.215V
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M4C3466C16 @ 3200Mhz 1.360V
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080Ti OC 11GB
    Sound CardCreative Omni 5.1 USB
    MonitorDell 24' S2417DG
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 960 nvme 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate NAS 8TBx2
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseFractal Design Define R5 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi760
    Keyboard Razer DeathStalker Chroma
    Mouse Razer Abyssus
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterMikrotik

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    244

    Tried with a different PSU?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Besides the 2 I already have? One being a brand new?

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    A2- IDE detect. Have you installed your operating system? If you have and have more than one hdd/ssd, try booting with only the drive that has the OS installed.

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...2-(IDE-Detect)

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    A2 is good your system is doing what it should be doing looking for a boot device.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •