Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Should i update bios if i have...

    if my gpu throttle at fullscreen mod(not at windpow mode) should i update bios. (i opened topic about it)
    İf i have to how can i do that. İ downloaded from asus supoort site (bios 205 for JH model)
    but donno how to install it. Update says "Fix that CPU and GPU will be throttled immediately when change to DC mode." (throttle means GPU usage drop not core speed drop)

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    70

    Use the 'Windows BIOS Flash Utility', it is located under 'BIOS Utilities' in the drivers section.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    well i just closed to vsync and its solved the problem. but still no idea of bios update.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    i dont have that 'BIOS Utilities' thing. i have couple of ASUS utilities but not that.
    EDİT : ok i found that at the dfiffrent place alone named "winflash"
    BTW i wana ask somethng with some drivers when i looked at the version i say i should install cuz mine is old.
    After install at my device manager doesnt match with the asus support site driver version.
    Like i just installed from somewhere not from asus driver support site.
    Last edited by tugrul; 01-28-2014 at 04:47 PM.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    121
    Posts
    2,283

    Quote Originally Posted by tugrul View Post
    i dont have that 'BIOS Utilities' thing. i have couple of ASUS utilities but not that.
    EDİT : ok i found that at the dfiffrent place alone named "winflash"
    Alternatively, you can flash the bios from the '(Start) Easy Flash' utility located inside the 'Advanced' menu of the bios (built into the bios, so no separate download required), so you have 2 options.

    Quote Originally Posted by tugrul View Post
    BTW i wana ask somethng with some drivers when i looked at the version i say i should install cuz mine is old.
    After install at my device manager doesnt match with the asus support site driver version.
    Like i just installed from somewhere not from asus driver support site.
    If you didn't already know, Windows can sometimes find ASUS unapproved driver updates for your notebook components (like vga, audio, lan, etc.) under the 'optional updates', so you may want to make sure they aren't getting installed if you don't want them (it's safer to stick to the ASUS approved drivers for your notebook model on the ASUS download site if you aren't seeing any problems).
    I haven't checked too carefully, but usually those drivers are listed under the 'optional updates' when you check for Windows updates and as long as you don't check the box for the optional updates, they shouldn't be installed, so should be easy to avoid.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    109

    don't use ASUS WinFlash app to update your BIOS, it can brick your laptop...use the built in BIOS Flash utility in BIOS if you don't want to send your
    laptop to ASUS Service

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    better i learned this thing. İF thats it why the **** they installed this program to mu machine.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    Quote Originally Posted by tugrul View Post
    better i learned this thing. İF thats it why the **** they installed this program to mu machine.
    It works, but it is a very poorly designed program that requires all things to be 100% within parameters. Chances are if you used WinFlash it would have worked fine, but I would personally use (and did) the bios flash utility embedded in the bios itself just for safety.

    Edit: Honestly, if you have solved your issue I wouldn't update the bios. Bios upgrades rarely do anything that you will notice, unless there is a major bug, and can be ignored unless needed. For example, I upgraded my 750JX to bios v208 to get rid of the 800MHz cpu lockdown on battery, however I have not upgraded to v209 because most people who have reported no performance difference.
    (note: The above recommendation is for the average end-user consumer, not for those computer tech gurus. In my opinion, bios upgrades should be performed only by those who know their way around a computer.)
    Last edited by reka121402; 01-29-2014 at 10:50 PM.

  9. #9
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    341

    I upgrade the BIOS the moment it his update. has always been good even if it's stuff behind the scenes that it updates

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •