cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ssd installation help, questions about OS install as well

parkc
Level 7
So i just bought the G750jw-DB71 and would like to install a 120gb ssd as the boot drive.

This is my first time ever adding hardware or anything like this to a computer, so excuse my lack of knowledge, but i would like to learn. So i have a few questions:

1) Do you guys have a specific ssd you prefer? i was looking at Samsung.

2) I understand the steps of how to physically install the hardware and navigate the bios, but i'm at a loss when it comes to what to do with the OS. I would like to do a clean install of windows 8, But i dont know where to get windows 8 to install it. Do i use a recovery disk? or a brand new windows 8 disk? (id prefer not to purchase a new OS). I read another thread about using a flash drive, but i still dont understand the full process, and how thats different from a disk.

3) I would like to use the 1tb HDD that the computer came with for general storage. How do i wipe it clean and transfer the important things i might need from the new sdd?

4) Do i need to worry about partitions for anything?

Thanks in advance (but im sure i'll have a few questions later as well)
5 REPLIES 5

Nillaz
Level 7
The newer Samsung SSD's are great choices. The 840 PRO is tops when it comes to performance, but the EVO drives are not far behind the 840 PRO and are significantly cheaper (due to using a less expensive type of NAND). I own one of each and most people would be satisfied with either one of them.