Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,382

    if you have the windows power plan set to high performance {which you do) it should stay locked at your overclock, which cpu-z is showing that it is.

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Wanted to give another update... I reverted to optimize defaults and noted down all the changes ai suite made using what was stated upon saving and exiting. I then rebooted to make sure everything was default. I then manually made the same parameters.... Guess what...? The overclock stayed at 4.2 ghz but the minimum is now 3.5ghz.... There has to be other changes ai suite is making to the bios that's it's not reporting or recording...I'm running a stability test now.

  3. #13
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,382

    My suggestion would be to uninstall ai suite III

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I like the fan expert....I will just not be compelled to overclock the lazy man way...lol

    I feel like an old man in overclocking....I'm an old pro with sandy bridge but these new processors have far more settings to learn!!!!

  5. #15
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,382

    While there are a lot of settings to play with you don't need to fool with them, these boards seem to run best with most settings left on auto. To overclock your cpu manually is easy. If you would like I can help you with this.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Thanks...the stability test is running now..if it fails I will take you up on your offer..

  7. #17
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,382

    OK, depending on your cpu cooler, you can get more than 4.2 GHz.

  8. #18
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by stanglx View Post
    Asus ROG Hero w/4770k CPU 16gb of ram.

    Everything was fine until I overclocked using the ai suite iii to 4.2ghz..the only issue I see is that everywhere in the OS it's stating that the clock is 800mhz... If I launch CPU z it says 4.2ghz. Everywhere else even in the bios it says 800 MHz...

    I though that loading up prime95 that it would go up but it doesn't... Again CPU z shows the correct ghz and so does ai suite..it also shows 4.2 ghz.

    If I reset the bios to defaults everything goes back to normal..

    Is this normal to see 800mhz after using the ai suite??
    What always helps me is to UNPLUG THE CHARGER, wait for a minute or so and then PLUG IT IN again... Performance mode is changed to "Silent", and then back to "Balanced". And CPU starts to work on a normal frequency.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •