Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Question Rampage IV Black Edition + Storage HDD"s = Not Booting?

    I was wondering, I have Windows Installed currently off of 1 Samsung SSD Evo 840 hard drive and everything is working fine. I try to install 4 SATA Storage HDD's, and when I try to boot up, the PC turns the fans for less than a second and goes off... I dont know if i need to do anything else as i thought it was just plug and play. Im not looking to do any particular raid setup or such, just need the other HDD's as storage. I also noticed an option called "Hot Plug Support" in the mother board bios options and didnt know if i had to enable it for the specified HDD's and then connect them.. Any help on this would be appreciated.

    EDIT: Also running in the default ACHI (as it was when just the SSD was connected), also the HDDs are connected straight to the mobos sata ports and not 3rd party.
    -Powersupply: Corsair AX860w, CPUID Link: http://valid.canardpc.com/kt8i8m
    -Other 4 HDD's were taken from another PC, working perfectly fine 100% healthy with just files on it and no OS
    Last edited by illusiV; 02-15-2014 at 07:01 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    They should just plug and play...no need to play with any BIOS settings. Be careful it sounds like something is shorting out....plug them in one at a time and boot and try different SATA cable maybe...

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I kind of figured the same thing, just plug and play but it seems to an issue. The HDD's were working fine on older PC, i also tried using a 4 PIN molex connector instead of sata power connector, and no luck. Im wondering if the Hot Swap feature would work or tell me something, i have never used it before though. Anyone have any other ideas?

    EDIT: also bought a startec 4x SATA to 1 SATA power connector, to connect 4 SATA drives to 1 Power port and this didnt work either..
    Last edited by illusiV; 02-15-2014 at 08:46 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Still having the issue, updates are as follows: tried using the hot swap option and computer completely turns off. I believe I came to the conclusion that its either a power supply issue or a motherboard issue, unsure as if its a power supply issue really since pc boots up with ssd...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    85

    So have you tried to plug in one HD?

    And tried to plug in HD and remove SSD?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I tried 1 HDD at a time and i also tried disconnecting the SDD and booting from HDD to get to hopefully a bios screen and nothing..

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Please tell me what case you are using. There have been many issues with cases that have a HDD caddy or swap out bay.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Source 530

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    OK here is what I would do as it is not a caddy that is causing this issue.


    Try with one hard drive only, and if you boot with that single drive then add another drive. Make sure that you add the drives to the Intel SATA ports please.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Arne quick question for you i just picked up the rampage iv black im going to use 2 ssd 2 hdd they are all sata III (6gb/s)
    1st ssd will be os and few programs
    2nd ssd games
    1st hdd media files
    2nd hdd backup

    I see the rivbe has 2 intel sata III ports and the rest asmedia sata III
    I know i should connect the 2 ssd to both intel sata III
    Will i be able to connect the other 2 hdd drive to sata III asmedia with no problems?

    Thanks in advance

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •