Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array ChikNoods PC Specs
    ChikNoods PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G74
    MotherboardMaximus HERO VII
    Processori7-4790K
    Memory (part number)HyperX 8GB
    Graphics Card #1STRIX 970
    MonitorVG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerH100i
    Case750D
    Power SupplyCorsair 760
    Keyboard Leopold FC900R LED
    Mouse Deathadder
    Headset Kraken Pro
    OS Windows 7x64

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    39

    560M doesnt auto downclock

    As the title suggest my 560M doesnt want to underclock itself anymore. At idle gpu clock used to be 51, but currently its @ 100% 776MHz

    I uninstalled GPU Tweak which was making it 100% before, but i'm not sure why it would be doing it now. Any ideas? I ask because @ 51MHz idle temp is 25c and @ 776MHz its around 38c

    Last edited by ChikNoods; 02-16-2014 at 07:06 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array skellattarr PC Specs
    skellattarr PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair viii hero
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3950x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 64GB 4X16 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1rog strix gtx 1080
    Sound Cardcreative sound blaster ae-5
    Monitoracer 28inch 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/Mushkin Reactor 1tb ssd
    Storage #23x 3tb hhd/segate 10TB drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseThermaltake veiw 71 case
    Power Supplycorsair 1200w
    Keyboard Corsair k95 rgb
    Mouse corsair m65 pro rgb
    Mouse Pad corsair mm800 rgb polaris
    Headset/Speakers logitech 5.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    skellattarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    662

    like i said in your post under gpu tweak try opening nvidia control panel and go to manage 3d settings and check power management mode and make sure it is set to adaptive if its not set it to that and restart for it to take affect
    amd ryzen 9 3950x
    CROSSHAIR Viii hero
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i
    G.SKILL Trident Z 3200mhz 64gb 4x16 timings 16,18,18,38
    asus rog strix gtx 1080
    TOSHIBA 3TB hdd 3x a total of 9tb, 10 tb hdd and a 1tb mushkin ssd
    corsair axi 1200i 1200 watt psu
    thermal take view 71 case

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Check that performance level setting on the right-hand side. If you have it set to maximum performance, it won't down-clock to prevent stuttering in games.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array ChikNoods PC Specs
    ChikNoods PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G74
    MotherboardMaximus HERO VII
    Processori7-4790K
    Memory (part number)HyperX 8GB
    Graphics Card #1STRIX 970
    MonitorVG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerH100i
    Case750D
    Power SupplyCorsair 760
    Keyboard Leopold FC900R LED
    Mouse Deathadder
    Headset Kraken Pro
    OS Windows 7x64

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    39

    That was it. I guess I automatically set mine to performance instead of adaptive out of habit. I never thought about changing it.
    If I have troubles in game I'll go back, but for now I'll keep on adaptive. Thanks guys.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by ChikNoods View Post
    That was it. I guess I automatically set mine to performance instead of adaptive out of habit. I never thought about changing it.
    If I have troubles in game I'll go back, but for now I'll keep on adaptive. Thanks guys.
    Yeah, I learned it the other way - set it to max battery, and then wonder where the performance went. You are welcome!
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •