Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Car Mods

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array G4MER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    89

    Car Mods

    Howdy Folks,

    I was wondering how hard is it to convert a 12v car accessory lights for use in PC Mods? Can it be easily swapped out to a 4 pin molex connector? Are there any tutorials online I can look at?
    WINNER Of: iBUYPOWER / ASUS - GAMER PALADIN Z68

    CPU - 2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-2600K Processor
    MoBo - Maximus IV Extreme-Z
    ODD - BLU-RAY Reader Combo Drive
    PSU - 850W Extreme Gaming Series Power Supply
    VGA - ASUS GTX 570 DirectCU II (1 GB)
    Memory - 8GB DDR3-1600 Memory – Corsair Vengeance
    Audio - ASUS Xonar DX
    Networking - Killer 2100 Gaming Network Card
    Hard Drive - 60GB SSD SATA III 6Gb/s – Single Drive

    ( I WAS A G4MER, WHEN G4MING WAS UNCOOL )

  2. #2
    Shut Up Stupid! Array DaemonCantor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    175
    Posts
    2,289

    I don't see a problem their 12v low amp just don't get wild...and it's easy just remember to use the Yellow wire(+12v) and the black(Ground) next to it. I'll eave it up to you on connectors but an old 4 pin Molex will do....

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    368

    also remember car stuff uses direct current.

    it's easy to mod stuff over like that. try it out, but make sure you use something that doesn't cost hundreds of dollars to plug it into, just incase it doesn't work.

    i took several fans and spliced them with a USB cord so i could have USB powered fans. same principal.

    what kind of lights are you modding here?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array G4MER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    89

    WINNER Of: iBUYPOWER / ASUS - GAMER PALADIN Z68

    CPU - 2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-2600K Processor
    MoBo - Maximus IV Extreme-Z
    ODD - BLU-RAY Reader Combo Drive
    PSU - 850W Extreme Gaming Series Power Supply
    VGA - ASUS GTX 570 DirectCU II (1 GB)
    Memory - 8GB DDR3-1600 Memory – Corsair Vengeance
    Audio - ASUS Xonar DX
    Networking - Killer 2100 Gaming Network Card
    Hard Drive - 60GB SSD SATA III 6Gb/s – Single Drive

    ( I WAS A G4MER, WHEN G4MING WAS UNCOOL )

  5. #5
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,516

    You shouldn't have a problem hooking up more than one set at the source as long as the total draw isn't more than your 12v rail can handle. The problem is going to be if you wanted to splice multiple sets into one control box (or inverter for cathodes) since that's the bulkiest part. The control boxes are likely cheapo so I don't know if they could handle double the load.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  6. #6
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    712

    You can get just about any kind of LED or cold cathode tubes here:http://www.xoxide.com/?utm_source=MS...e_Mod_Supplies
    http://www.xoxide.com/elwire.html
    http://www.xoxide.com/coldcathodes.html
    http://www.xoxide.com/lazerled.html
    http://www.xoxide.com/leds.html
    They have just about anything you could want and it is made for your computer you do not have to rewire anything. I tryed using a car led and it did light up but was so weak it was just a waste.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array G4MER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    89

    Any joker can stick lights in his/her case.. I wanted to attempt something different, mod something. Thanks for the link Speed, I have used Xoxide a few times... I was looking there the other day trying to find the light wire I see on cables in some case mods or twisted around the liquid tubes in some mods.. did not see any of that... so I was thinking of doing that with the car light string they have at autozone, that looks just like that. anyways.. thanks. If I do something like that, I will be sure to post it here for you to see.
    WINNER Of: iBUYPOWER / ASUS - GAMER PALADIN Z68

    CPU - 2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-2600K Processor
    MoBo - Maximus IV Extreme-Z
    ODD - BLU-RAY Reader Combo Drive
    PSU - 850W Extreme Gaming Series Power Supply
    VGA - ASUS GTX 570 DirectCU II (1 GB)
    Memory - 8GB DDR3-1600 Memory – Corsair Vengeance
    Audio - ASUS Xonar DX
    Networking - Killer 2100 Gaming Network Card
    Hard Drive - 60GB SSD SATA III 6Gb/s – Single Drive

    ( I WAS A G4MER, WHEN G4MING WAS UNCOOL )

  8. #8
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    712

    I don't think a pc psu will supply the amps those car leds need to work correctly. As I said above I tryed it and it was so weak you could hardly see it. good luck to you.

  9. #9
    Shut Up Stupid! Array DaemonCantor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    175
    Posts
    2,289

    It all depends on your Power Supply, Does your PS have 60amps on the +12 line...because that is what a Car Alternator puts out all the way up to 90 amps is the highest I've seen. if you took all of the electrical pull a normal modern car uses(unless it's one of those Electric Types) the have to leave about 10 amps to recharge the Battery which then drops the total out put at 50 amps subtract 30 to 40amps for your engine and related controls and all of the rest of it works off a measly 10 to 20amps. Like I stated earlier do get crazy with them and you should be fine...By crazy I mean don't make an Air Port Landing Zone like some Truck Drivers I know.....

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    164

    Car dress up accessories are very low amperage, very. As for the question of does it work? Tiger Direct used to sell a drive bay accessory that was a pop out cupholder and car cigarette lighter. Sadly smoking isn't politically correct, so I can't find them anymore.
    Crosshair V Formula 990FX 0506 Bios - Phenom II X6 1100T - Gskill Sniper 1600MHz (4x4GB) - Saphire Radeon 6770 - OCZ Agility 3 60GB - WD Black 1TB - Cooler Master V6GT - Antec Dark Fleet 85 - Antec CP-850 - Windows 7 Ultimate 64

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Laptop Mods
    By James Cheek in forum Case Modding & PC Builds
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-06-2011, 11:46 AM
  2. Case Mods, what do you do when you're done with them?
    By fcma172 in forum Case Modding & PC Builds
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-30-2010, 06:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •