Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG NEWBIE Array mintys1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    G750jh 2 x 128gb ssd's

    I have just received this laptop and was concerned to find one of my 128gb ssd's was only showing 95gb with 52gb available...this is the c drive..my other 128gb drive shows 121gb with 121gb available...have i got a lemon or is this correct...hope someone can confirm either way..thx grant.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Prostar Computer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    462

    Where are you seeing these capacities? A lot of space is eaten up by the operating system and the recovery partition. Also: is your system still set up for RAID?
    We customize Asus, MSI, and Clevo laptops!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    There are several threads concerning the fragmentation of the drives in the JH model. You can combine the 2 128 partitions and the HDD partitions also.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by mintys1 View Post
    I have just received this laptop and was concerned to find one of my 128gb ssd's was only showing 95gb with 52gb available...this is the c drive..my other 128gb drive shows 121gb with 121gb available...have i got a lemon or is this correct...hope someone can confirm either way..thx grant.
    For some reason Asus decided to partition the 2 x 128GB RAID0 into 2 128GB partitions... subtly confusing, right?

    You can backup your data in the 2nd 128GB partition if you have already started using it, delete the partition with the Windows Disk Management tool under right-click Manage on the system icon, and then absorb the space into the C drive. But, don't delete any of the recovery partitions.

    I don't have the 2 x 128GB RAID0 as my OS drive right now, but here is what it looked like before / during / after the merge while it was my OS drive:re

    Before
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	G750JH layout.PNG 
Views:	8 
Size:	62.7 KB 
ID:	34077

    During
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	deleted F partition.PNG 
Views:	7 
Size:	9.1 KB 
ID:	34078

    After
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	absorbed space into C partition.PNG 
Views:	7 
Size:	7.6 KB 
ID:	34079

    If you do an Asus Backtracker USB recovery backup, you can then safely delete the 20GB recovery partition and absorb that into the C drive. I don't have a screen shot of that...
    http://www.asus.com/supportonly/ASUS_Backtracker/

    Right now I am using my 512GB Samsung Pro 512 as my OS drive while I look for larger M.2 drives.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	256GB RAID0 D drive.JPG 
Views:	4 
Size:	140.6 KB 
ID:	34080
    Last edited by hmscott; 03-01-2014 at 08:23 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG NEWBIE Array mintys1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Hmscott thanks for your screenshots and info....maybe you can help me more?
    I also intend to put a sam pro 512gb as the storage drive, and I intend to do what you describe with the 2x 128gb ssd's. If you combine them do you still leave it in raid 0 or swap it to achi?
    Whats the best way to set up the storage drive, and how do you get downloads to automatically go there, or is it a case of manually targeting that particular drive each time? Do you need to create folders like docs pics music as like in the c drive?
    Sorry for the newbie questions..thx Grant.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by mintys1 View Post
    Hmscott thanks for your screenshots and info....maybe you can help me more?
    I also intend to put a sam pro 512gb as the storage drive, and I intend to do what you describe with the 2x 128gb ssd's. If you combine them do you still leave it in raid 0 or swap it to achi?
    Whats the best way to set up the storage drive, and how do you get downloads to automatically go there, or is it a case of manually targeting that particular drive each time? Do you need to create folders like docs pics music as like in the c drive?
    Sorry for the newbie questions..thx Grant.
    The performance benefit of the RAID0 with the hardware RAID0 is too good to pass up, so yes, keep the RAID0 and don't move to single disks with AHCI. Be sure and back up your RAID0 drive frequently - I haven't had a loss of a RAID0 in a very long time, but it is possible - so backup your important stuff often to an external drive - I put the 1TB 2nd drive into a USB 3.0 enclosure for backup of data/os images.

    Each program should have the ability to set it's own download area. Firefox, IE, etc all have a preference you can set to pick the download folder location. Most default to your /Users/username/Downloads. You could set that folder as a symlink/shortcut that comes from the folder on the other drive Downloads folder - that catches all the programs and you don't have to worry about setting individual preferences.

    http://lifehacker.com/5496652/how-to...nks-in-windows

    I put Steam onto the 2nd drive when I was using the RAID0 for OS, but now I am booted on the 512GB and so I have Steam going to the RAID0

    You might consider looking at the Samsung Evo 1TB instead of the Samsung Pro 512GB, it isn't much more expensive for 2x the space, and only a tad slower. I would likely have gotten it if the timing was such that they were both available when I was looking.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •