Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array darktron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    i overclock my i7 930

    i like to know if it safe have the core tamp running at 70c to 77c max load?
    i just got my rampage 3 extreme and loving it.
    i have been doing a lot of homework on the i7 930 voltage and stuff.
    i have got it running at 4.0 ghz but just don't like see the core tamp going that high when using prime95.
    i just like to know if it is fine ?
    i'm kind of new to overclocking =)

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,887

    Sure, under 80 is just fine. I'd really start to worry if it was over 90c consistently. I've had my CPU hit 90c during overclocking tests and there didn't seem to be any damage.

    Also, try playing with the memory voltage and QPI, it's possible that you don't actually need that much voltage to the CPU and might be able to run a bit cooler by backing it down. If you've hit a sweet spot then I'd say you're doing well to hit 4.0 and less than 80c (assuming it's stable).

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array darktron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    just let you know i'm using the noctua nh-d14

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array darktron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    i have cpu voltage at 1.3000v
    i have qpi/dram core voltage on auto

  5. #5
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,887

    That's a nice vcore voltage so if you want to work on your temps further I would note the automatic voltages and see if it remains stable when you lower them a bit. Vcore is the biggest heat generator but the other voltages heat other parts of the CPU and can have an overall warming effect. Overall though I'd say you are fine where you are at, it just depends on how much tweaking you want to do.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array darktron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    will the i7 930 have a safe vcore voltage it is 1.3500v
    the stock is 1.8000v and the extreme 1.5500v

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array darktron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    i have got my cpu at 3.8 ghz with the core tamp with max load is at 55c

  8. #8
    TeamROG GirlGamer Array Kaboom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    122

    1.3V-1.35 is a good safe range to keep your voltages at for your CPU. You shouldn't need more than that.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array darktron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    so far 24 hr test i got my pc overclock to 4.004 ghz and i'm running the cpu voltage 1.2675v and the core tamp at 68c-74c in max load . later on going to take pic and post it to see if i need to do any fixing in the bio so you guy can give me a hand on what i need to fix in bio

  10. #10
    Hpnotiq
    Guest
    What kind of cooling are you using darktron? Stock? Air? Water? Chilled-Water? DICE? LN2? If your still on stock, I would highly recommend getting premium air or some water cooling. It's always been my experience that overclocking a proc high but stable is never good over extended periods of time on stock or even air unless its something like a True Copper Heatsink. Also be sure to experiment with all your setting, figure out how to fine tune things down, you might drop the temp or increases the processing power by small amounts through unseen means. Just the other day V2-V3 and I got my wolfdale E8600 up to 5 ghz on Air cooling in a Rampage Extreme board.... we also some how managed to kill the board but I think its a short in the system.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How to Overclock ASUS RAMPAGE III Extreme BIOS GUIDE
    By V2-V3 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-13-2011, 12:57 AM
  2. Read before you OVERCLOCK or Case modding your machine!
    By Brian@ASUS in forum Case Modding & PC Builds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 12:59 AM
  3. Read before you OVERCLOCK your machine!
    By Brian@ASUS in forum Overclocking & Tweaking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 12:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •