cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

i overclock my i7 930

darktron
Level 8
i like to know if it safe have the core tamp running at 70c to 77c max load?
i just got my rampage 3 extreme and loving it.
i have been doing a lot of homework on the i7 930 voltage and stuff.
i have got it running at 4.0 ghz but just don't like see the core tamp going that high when using prime95.
i just like to know if it is fine ?
i'm kind of new to overclocking 😃
31 REPLIES 31

xeromist
Sure, under 80 is just fine. I'd really start to worry if it was over 90c consistently. I've had my CPU hit 90c during overclocking tests and there didn't seem to be any damage.

Also, try playing with the memory voltage and QPI, it's possible that you don't actually need that much voltage to the CPU and might be able to run a bit cooler by backing it down. If you've hit a sweet spot then I'd say you're doing well to hit 4.0 and less than 80c (assuming it's stable).
A bus station is where a bus stops. A train station is where a train stops. On my desk, I have a work station…

just let you know i'm using the noctua nh-d14

i have cpu voltage at 1.3000v
i have qpi/dram core voltage on auto

xeromist
That's a nice vcore voltage so if you want to work on your temps further I would note the automatic voltages and see if it remains stable when you lower them a bit. Vcore is the biggest heat generator but the other voltages heat other parts of the CPU and can have an overall warming effect. Overall though I'd say you are fine where you are at, it just depends on how much tweaking you want to do.
A bus station is where a bus stops. A train station is where a train stops. On my desk, I have a work station…

i have got my cpu at 3.8 ghz with the core tamp with max load is at 55c

darktron
Level 8
will the i7 930 have a safe vcore voltage it is 1.3500v
the stock is 1.8000v and the extreme 1.5500v

Kaboom
Level 8