Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit crashing (thermal issue?) with Maximus VI Gene

    I recently put together a new system around the Maximus VI Gene mainboard. Since then, my rig has been experiencing a lot of crashes (blue screens), the cause of which I suspect is the CPU temperature. At idle, with CPU fan and all three case fans running at turbo speed (set through Asus AI suite), the CPU running at factory speed of 3500 MHz, is hovering around 45 degrees celsius. This seems like a lot, and I wonder what is causing this.
    I have put the system together carefully, using thermal paste (just enough, not a lot, and carefully spread it thin) and aligning cable so as to keep airflow blockage to a minimum.
    I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

    The components I'm using are:
    - Case: OrigenAE S16V (which is a HTPC model)
    - CPU: Intel i7 4770K
    - PSU: BeQuiet StraightPower E9 CM 580w
    - SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    - HDD: 2x Seagate Barracuda St3000DM001
    - GPU: Sapphire HD7750 Ultimate Silent
    - CPU Cooling: Zalman CNPS7X with the CPU fan that comes with it
    - RAM: Crucial Ballistics Tactical PC3-12800 (DDR3-1600)
    - Fans: 3 OrigenAE 90mm case fans

    I also checked the temperatures with CPUID HWmonitor, as I read that Asus AI can be buggy, but it shows the same results.

    I also checked with WhoCrashed what has caused the system crashes, and it suggest either a software driver problem (but not which) or a thermal issue.

    Does anyone have a clue what might be the problem here? And if it is a thermal issue, how can I get CPU temp down? All fans are already at max speed., and there is no cabling in the way at all.

  2. #2
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,252

    Hello there, welcome to the ROG Forums. What BSOD are you getting and what TIM are you using?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot BlueScreenView.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	1.31 MB 
ID:	34230

    Hi MykSilentShadow,
    there are various causes I can see (used BlueScreenView). I'm enclosing a screenshot. What is a TIM?
    Last edited by BorisMaximus; 03-07-2014 at 08:06 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Tokens210 PC Specs
    Tokens210 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorI7-4770K
    Memory (part number)F3-2400C10D-16GTX Gskill TridentX (8gbx2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 550TI 1gb
    Sound CardSupreme FX on board
    Storage #12x Samsung Evo 120gb
    Storage #2WD 1TB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech H320
    CaseCoolermaster HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850 80+ Platinum
    OS Windows 7 64-bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    517

    TIM = Thermal paste

    Also never used the blue screen view so idk what u highlighted but the top line in red listed as asmedia is the sata controller for all the non Intel controlled ports

  5. #5
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,252

    What drives do you have connected to ASMedia ports?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Tokens210 PC Specs
    Tokens210 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorI7-4770K
    Memory (part number)F3-2400C10D-16GTX Gskill TridentX (8gbx2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 550TI 1gb
    Sound CardSupreme FX on board
    Storage #12x Samsung Evo 120gb
    Storage #2WD 1TB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech H320
    CaseCoolermaster HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850 80+ Platinum
    OS Windows 7 64-bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    517

    As shadow asked what exactly is plugged into the asmedia ports, if your unsure which is which the manual should tell ya
    I looked on Asus page and according to that your board has 8 sata ports, 6 controlled by Intel, 2 controlled by asmedia, so most likely if u were looking at the board upright(CPU up top, PCI slots on bottom) the sata is on ur right, the bottom 2 should be the non Intel ones

    I've seen at least 2 threads on here where the asmedia was causing issues randomly, especially if a raid setup was hooked to it



    As for you CPU temp. Harwell's run very hot although yours does seem a little high for idle, I don't have our board but I've got a maximus vi formula with the 4770k not over clocked yet cause I'm running the stock Intel cooler and my idle is 800-3900MHz at .720-1.232V with a temp of 28-32 C, my case is a HAF 932 Advanced which is big but I believe your corsair is bigger so that combined with you non stock cooler I'd say yea your running a little hot


    Remember tho that all haswells are not created equal, its basically the haswell lottery, some run hot all the time, some can't even overclock, some can over clock but can't do it with over clocked ram, its literally a grab bag type toss up

    Only real things you can do are
    1. Redo the CPU cooler/ thermal paste, many things here could be to much paste, could be too little paste, could be not properly making contact with all the cpu

    2. If your lucky enough to have a spare cooler around you could (if you felt the need or want) try a different one and see if the results are better or worse, my guess tho if you reseat the cooler is its probly the CPU itself
    Last edited by Tokens210; 03-07-2014 at 01:07 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    45C is pretty high for that CPU on idle... is it idle temp or during the load? What is your ambient temp (the temp in the room you have that system)?

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Thank you all for thinking with me, I really appreciate it!

    - I used the thermal paste that came with the CPU. Can i just unhook the CPU, wipe off the paste and redo it (with a high quality paste)?
    - The cooler is the best one that I could find, considering I have a rather low case. I could replace it with the Intel stock windmill, but I doubt that that would do much good :-)
    - Yes, the 45 degrees is at idle, and with all fans at max speed. I did try to overclock it a while back, but whatever change I made, even the smallest step up, caused the system not to boot up at all, so I put everything at stock speed from then on.
    Room temperature is around 20 degrees. I do have central heating quite close to the back end of the machine, but the past weeks have been warm, and I haven't had it on much, where I did a month ago, when there were fewer blue screens.
    - Connected to the ASMedia ports: one of the Seagate Barracuda 3TB disks was hooked up to it (second port unused). I actually had the hdd swapped for a new one just this week because it had bad blocks that couldn't be fixed. But the new disk hasn't solved the blue screens.
    - If I look at the screenshot of BlueScreenView (the top item is only highlighted because that was selected by default), I get the idea that the cause of the blue screens seems to change a lot. That, combined with the report in WhoCrashed (free crash analysis tool), which suggests a thermal issue might be the cause of some of the blue screens (crashed on kernel) set me on the heat issue as the possible cause.

    What I've done for now:
    - connected the HDD to an Intel SATA port instead of the ASMedia.
    - Updated iastora.sys (driver file for the ASMedia chipset)
    - Updated Intel Rapid Storage Technology driver

    If that doesn't help, I will redo the TIM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Tokens210 PC Specs
    Tokens210 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorI7-4770K
    Memory (part number)F3-2400C10D-16GTX Gskill TridentX (8gbx2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 550TI 1gb
    Sound CardSupreme FX on board
    Storage #12x Samsung Evo 120gb
    Storage #2WD 1TB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech H320
    CaseCoolermaster HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850 80+ Platinum
    OS Windows 7 64-bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    517

    If the thermal paste you used was like regular thermal paste, kinda Greg sludge type stuff then you should be able to use isopropyl rubbing alcohol, probly at least 75%, but higher is better to remove all of it from both the CPU and any on the coolers heatsink/cpu contact point

    Since u said u used what came with it I'd guess its normal paste, liquid metal ones can be removed as well I'vejust read it takes a bit more elbow grease lol


    Yes your cooler should be fine, I was suggesting it in case you had like a big coolermaster 212 or another higher quality heatsink lying around, but you shouldn't need to and I wouldn't downgrade to the Intel from what u got lol


    But yes at pure idle 45 is high, as I was saying I'm running the formula vi with the same processor at stock clocks, and I'm even using the Intel stock windmill and my idles are never higher then 32


    But again you could have just gotten a poor quality CPU in the "haswell lottery"
    Last edited by Tokens210; 03-07-2014 at 10:30 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    I don't think that your storage setup has too much to do with the temps... and at 20C ambient 45C idle is way too much!

    Beside reseating the cooler, with new TIM application, I would check in the BIOS what voltages are applied... you may need to lower the voltages and/or the over clocking too...

    I wouldn't recumbent the liquid metal type TIMs... they're conductive and can cause a big mess if using wrongly... just get a regular non-conductive one like Arctic Silver MR-2, Gelid GC Extreme, Noctua's PK-1... you rely need just a small drop on the middle of the CPU

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •