ROG Enthusiast Array

Noob to overclocking... could some please help me get a decent overclock?

I am a noob to overclocking.. I tried the AI - Suite 3 but it locked my core speed to 800 HHz. So I restored to default settings in BIOS. I am assuming it's runng stock CPUZ shows/fluctuates 800 MHz to 3900 MHz. I just don't want to go and start turning things up I really have not learned enough about. I was just trying to get a 4200 to 4500 overclock. I don't want to break any records. Most of all I just really want to learn a little. If anyone has the will and there time it would be greatly appretiated... My system specs should post in my signature..... Thanks........... ROG FTW
    Asus Maximus VI Formula MB, Intel Core I7 4770K CPU, Thermaltake Overseer RX-II Case, H100 Corsair Cooler Push/Pull Config, 8GB (4 x 2GB) DDR3 1333 Ram, EVGA GeForce GTX 770 4GB Dual Classified w/ EVGA A w/ Backplate, EVGA SuperNOVA NEX750G Gold Power Supply, Window 7 Ultimate x64,

ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar

I would suggest you to start with reading...

In the Maximus VI series motherboard section of this Forum you should go through this one:
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

If something is not clear, just ask!

ROG Enthusiast Array

Read??? What??? Why didn't I think of that???...........I have been reading, reading, watching YouTube videos, and more reading... I have some basic knowledge but I just felt uncomfortable messing with stuff I had never messed with before. I was just asking for a little help to be sure I was not going to burn something up. But that didn't turn out like I hoped either. It's kinda of like driving a airplane for the first time. I wouldn't want to just jump in by myself and take off, even if I read every book and passed every test top of the class student....That could easily get messy real fast.....LOL