Page 24 of 25 FirstFirst ... 14 22 23 24 25 LastLast
Results 231 to 240 of 247
  1. #231
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Hi

    Ihave G750JM laptop and i boght Philips 242G gameing monitor with 144hz. How i can run it on 144 hz. please Help

    Thanks!

  2. #232
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    can someone tell me why Cpu-z says that my graphic card is 2gb(870m) and the intel one is 3gb? i have a Asus ROG 750JS

  3. #233
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by zoommircea View Post
    can someone tell me why Cpu-z says that my graphic card is 2gb(870m) and the intel one is 3gb? i have a Asus ROG 750JS
    zoommircea, do you have the latest version of CPU-Z? Often 3rd party tools like CPU-Z, hwinfo, aida64, speccy, etc get something wrong. So it is good to have more than 1 such tool loaded to verify / compare readings.

    Just because a tool like that gets something wrong, doesn't mean everything else is suspect, it just means humans are fallible

    Send their support a note explaining the details as detailed as possible, what you have, what their tool is showing, and how it is wrong and what the right answer should be. And be persistent. If you don't hear back in 2 weeks, email or submit a report via their website again.

    It took me 1 year to get Futuremark to change the details on the 4700HQ to correctly list the specs - they had crossed it up with the 4700MQ. It took 4-5 months to get fixed, they did email me several times in between explaining why they couldn't fix it right away - some guy was on a long vacation - then the guy came back and fixed it - about 6 months later I noticed it was wrong again - they had a crash and a restore and restored the bad info

    Try a couple of other tools as mentioned above, and let us know which ones are correct.

    TechPowerUp GPU-Z is most likely to get it correct, they focus on GPU's, and have an ROG skinned version:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...asus-rog-skin/
    Last edited by hmscott; 11-28-2014 at 08:29 AM.

  4. #234
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    i have the g750jm and i want to upgrade the ram.. which Ram would you recommend?? thanks

  5. #235
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by romilyn View Post
    i have the g750jm and i want to upgrade the ram.. which Ram would you recommend?? thanks


    open the panel at the bottom and verify the model of the ram and buy the same exact version from amazon or another trusted source. I had the 8 GB version and bought two 4 GB sticks with the same model number. Hmscott or another user may have more info on using different brands.

  6. #236
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    G750js-ds71 temps

    I just purchased a refurbished g750js-ds71 and my average CPU temp is about 65C but then under a load it has spiked to around 99C. My 870 is fine its normal temp is about 35 then peaks at about 75 which is what i expect. My G74 runs at about 45C. I feel like 65 and 99 pretty hot should I return it for another?

  7. #237
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Mulln8er View Post
    I just purchased a refurbished g750js-ds71 and my average CPU temp is about 65C but then under a load it has spiked to around 99C. My 870 is fine its normal temp is about 35 then peaks at about 75 which is what i expect. My G74 runs at about 45C. I feel like 65 and 99 pretty hot should I return it for another?
    Mulln8er, 99c is too hot, the CPU throttles around 93c/94c, so your CPU performance is drastically reduced.

    If you can return it to the seller for another do that, otherwise ask Asus to RMA for re-paste to reduce CPU temp.

    https://vip.asus.com <== create login, register laptop, file Technical Inquiry with details, examples, screen shots of temps - zip up and attached zipfile to Technical Inquiry.

    Please come back and let us know how it works out

  8. #238
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Symho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    341

    Power4gear panel

    Hi!

    Do you can explain to me what are these functions, on my Power4Gear (ver. 3.0.8) panel? I have a G750JZ. Thanks in advance!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 1.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	145.3 KB 
ID:	48015
    Last edited by Symho; 04-01-2015 at 07:34 AM. Reason: image
    ASUS G750JZ - T4044H with GX1000 black

  9. #239
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Symho, I actually recommend uninstalling the Power4Gear package, and use the Windows Power plans.

    The High Performance Power plan works good for benchmarking or batch work that you need to complete as quickly as possible - it runs the CPU 100%/100% for best performance but it runs hotter because it never lets the CPU downclock and cool off when not under load.

    For most of the time I recommend using the Windows Balanced Power plan with CPU Min/Max set to 0%/100% which gets good interactive performance and lets the CPU downclock and cool down. Draws less power as well, but doesn't shutdown the performance. Power Saving Plan for Battery use if you are trying to get the most battery time.

    Power4Gear installs it's own equivalent plans and the tool/app forces moving from one to the other when it thinks they best apply, but for me it forces them too often and at inappropriate times. Some people find the CPU speed is held back too much for their usage.

    The Power4Gear GUI lets you set the power gross settings for AC and Battery, but not the usual fine tuning settings of the Windows Power Plans dialogs.

    I don't speak Italian - and I don't have it installed so I can't read the settings labels in English, I would hope that what they say is clear

    You will find better performance overall by uninstalling P4G and use the Windows power plans, tuning the settings through the Plan advanced settings.

    The worst offense P4G made to me was forcing Power Saving when unplugging, and then not kicking the power back up when I plugged it in. I had already set my Windows Power Plans Advanced tuning for battery/AC usage on all the plans - so when the P4G changed the plans to it's own, and then made arbitrary movement between the plans with no way to set use of the my tuned plans, I just uninstalled it.

    Let us know what you end up doing and how you figure out to use it well, for me there wasn't a good way to configure it to my liking.
    Last edited by hmscott; 04-01-2015 at 11:09 AM.

  10. #240
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Symho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    341

    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post
    Symho, I actually recommend uninstalling the Power4Gear package, and use the Windows Power plans.

    The High Performance Power plan works good for benchmarking or batch work that you need to complete as quickly as possible - it runs the CPU 100%/100% for best performance but it runs hotter because it never lets the CPU downclock and cool off when not under load.

    For most of the time I recommend using the Windows Balanced Power plan with CPU Min/Max set to 0%/100% which gets good interactive performance and lets the CPU downclock and cool down. Draws less power as well, but doesn't shutdown the performance. Power Saving Plan for Battery use if you are trying to get the most battery time.

    Power4Gear installs it's own equivalent plans and the tool/app forces moving from one to the other when it thinks they best apply, but for me it forces them too often and at inappropriate times. Some people find the CPU speed is held back too much for their usage.

    The Power4Gear GUI lets you set the power gross settings for AC and Battery, but not the usual fine tuning settings of the Windows Power Plans dialogs.

    I don't speak Italian - and I don't have it installed so I can't read the settings labels in English, I would hope that what they say is clear

    You will find better performance overall by uninstalling P4G and use the Windows power plans, tuning the settings through the Plan advanced settings.

    The worst offense P4G made to me was forcing Power Saving when unplugging, and then not kicking the power back up when I plugged it in. I had already set my Windows Power Plans Advanced tuning for battery/AC usage on all the plans - so when the P4G changed the plans to it's own, and then made arbitrary movement between the plans with no way to set use of the my tuned plans, I just uninstalled it.

    Let us know what you end up doing and how you figure out to use it well, for me there wasn't a good way to configure it to my liking.
    Hi hmscott! Thank you for your suggestion! And sorry for my poor english. I need high performance for my work, I'm an architect and I work with many softwares at the same time! Softwares are: 3DS Max, Autocad, Photoshop, Office, ecc. With the Asus's power plan I have good work with my laptop so do you think that's Windows power plan is it better for consumption or for the cpu's life?

    P.s. (Off topic) When I login into the forum by IE11 the panel of the editor of text is white. Why???
    ASUS G750JZ - T4044H with GX1000 black

Page 24 of 25 FirstFirst ... 14 22 23 24 25 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •