Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    RAID 0 Problem with ASUS Crosshair V Formula Z

    Hi Everybody,

    I'm a new forum member.
    I'm 29 years old and I'm French (from Corsica), so please be indulgent with my little English


    My configuration:

    Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
    AMD FX-8350
    Kingston HyperX 10th Anniversary Edition – 16GB DDR3 2133 MHz
    Asus GTX 780 DCU II
    NZXT HALE 90 Power 850W 80PLUS Gold
    Cooler Master Seidon 240M
    2x Samsung 840 Pro 256 Go
    Seagate 2 To + Seagate 4 To + Velociraptor 450 Go
    Aerocool Xpredator White

    Iiyama Prolite E2607WS

    Logitech G700s
    Logitech G19

    Sennheiser PC 350



    So, this week-end, I've try for fun to do a RAID 0 system with my two SSD.

    I'm going to the BIOS to set "RAID" mode to sata configuration.
    At next boot, Ctrl+F to do my RAID 0, OK !
    Starting Windows 8 installation, but when the first part ending, error:

    « Windows could not prepare the computer to boot into the next phase of installation. To install Windows, restart the installation. »

    Screenshots :

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	01.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	139.0 KB 
ID:	34632Click image for larger version. 

Name:	02.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	159.1 KB 
ID:	34633Click image for larger version. 

Name:	03.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	169.0 KB 
ID:	34634Click image for larger version. 

Name:	04.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	117.3 KB 
ID:	34635Click image for larger version. 

Name:	05.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	97.9 KB 
ID:	34636

    I've try many option configuration, same error.
    BIOS 1801 updated to 1901, same error.
    Downgrade BIOS to 1501 with flashback USB, same error.
    Last driver RAID AMD (F6), same error.
    Clear CMOS, same error.
    Removing OC and all peripheral, same error.

    I didn't know what can I do... Can you help me please ?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    120

    Your English is better than my French! High school French was 50 years ago!

    You have the BIOS configured correctly. The problem is with Windows.

    Are you installing the RAID drivers in the Windows install screen? You should see the option to "Load Drivers".

    You can d/l drivers from asus site or get them off the MB disk. Look in Drivers/RAID/AMD/Drivers/Disk/RAID/Win7/x64.

    Copy the drivers to a usb pen drive, at the install screen click "Load Drivers" then point to the pen drive. Windows installer should load the drivers and then show the available RAID drive to install the OS.

    I would return both the ssd's to "Factory State" before doing this. You can make a bootable disk with "Parted Magic". A Google search can give the full instructions. Once you are in Parted Magic it's a 10 second operation to reset the ssd's to factory new state.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    120

    Ooops, doubled.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Thank you,

    I already install Windows with an USB stick Faster than a CD or a DVD.

    On USB stick, i put the last driver RAID (AMD)

    When Windows installation let me do, I've try to load driver AMD, and/or, to let defaut driver. In the two case, my Raid is correctly loaded and I can install Windows 8.1, but with error a the end...

    I've also tried to install Windows 8 and Windows 7, same error... but in AHCI mode all work perfectly, 2 x 256 Go separatly...
    Last edited by havana_club_2b; 03-17-2014 at 03:26 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    120

    I can install Windows 8.1, but with error a the end...
    What error are you getting?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    This error:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	05.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	97.9 KB 
ID:	34636



    I'm french user, but if you translate this message: Windows could not prepare the computer to boot into the next phase of installation. To install Windows, restart the installation.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Help please

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I've seen in another forum (overclock.net) that the 990FX chipset has trouble with certain SSDs in RAID. No solution was given, just that a certain poster had tried several types and found some that just wouldn't work. I believe the 840s were on his no go list. It was some weeks ago in the [Official] ASUS Crosshair V Formula (990FX) club or the [Official] ASUS sabertooth AMD Owners Club thread under the AMD motherboard section if I remember correctly.
    Last edited by Sgthawker; 03-20-2014 at 10:35 AM.
    Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z | AMD FX 8350 | G.Skill TridentX 2400 16G | Asus Matrix GTX 580 Platinum | Sandisk Extreme SSD 480GB | SB X-Fi Titanium HD | Asus VG248QE | Corsair AX860i PSU | Lian-Li PC-V1200 | Win 7 Pro x64 | Zalman CNPS 9900 Maxx

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Thank you.

    I hope they will find solution, but I don't believe it...

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Athus PC Specs
    Athus PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX-9590
    Memory (part number)AMD GAMER SERIES 2133
    Graphics Card #1Asus 290X DCUII - OC - 4GB
    MonitorAsus VG248
    Storage #12xCorsair GTS 128GB RAID-0
    Storage #22xW.D. Black Caviar RAID-0 600GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Nepton 280L
    CaseCoolermaster HAF 925+915R Full Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair RM - 1000W 80 PLUS GOLD
    Keyboard Coolermaster Trigger Z
    Mouse Logitech MX518
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM200
    Headset/Speakers 2x150 RMS Bumbers on a Yamaha Amplifier (2x100 RMS)
    OS Winsows 10

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Hello everyone, i am a new member also

    My friend from France, i have Raid 0 and works perfect, i bought Formula-Z recently. I will tell you what i did, just in case it helps you.

    a) Installed the 2 x SSDs in Sata Ports 1 & 3 OR ports 2 & 4
    b) In bios under SB Sata Configuration, use ports 1-4 as RAID and change 5-6 as IDE.

    In my bios , my Sata ports which have the SSDs say that they are 1 and 3.

    I see from your image that you have them on 1 and 2. Dunno if that is the issue but try change ports.

    Lets hope for the best!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •