Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Angry Rampage IV Black Edition random restart / shutdown / reboot

    Hello guys!

    I know that there are other similar threads, but I am now at the tipping point towards desperate.

    I upgraded from a P9X79 (64GB) to a Rampage IV Formula (32GB) and then to the Rampage IV Black Edition (64GB again) and I have the same problem that I see many have with this board, the random restart syndrome. The board suddenly cuts power and then reboots. There is no BSOD, the OS doesn't know what happened to it.

    I started with the original BIOS, then updated to 0507 and finally today to 0602 (using the BIOS EZ Flash). Neither of these fixed my problem. But let's start with my config:

    Intel 4930K cooled by a Noctua NH-D14
    ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition (w/AC4) now with 0602
    Crucial Ballistix Tactical 64GB (8x8) VLP low voltage 1600MHz 1.35V 8-8-8-24 2T (XMP 1.3)
    2 x ASUS 680 GTX SLI
    2 x Intel SSD 330 240GB RAID0
    Corsair AX850 Gold

    All these reside inside a Silverstone Fortress FT02 B/USB3, so they are very well cooled. I'm using Windows 8.1 Pro x64 with the latest updates.

    I know my CPU is a good one since it can do more then 4.8 with very low voltage on air, with very low temps. But whenever I try anything with this board, the system keeps randomly restarting.

    All these components worked fine with my old boards (that I sold before upgrading). At stock and overclocked. And they work fine with this board but only if I leave all tweaking settings untouched. The only thing I can change is the BOOT section, where I can setup my RAID0. If I have the audacity to enable XMP @1.35V or @1.5V, the board will randomly restart.

    Things I already tried, before and after updating to the current BIOS:

    1. Increasing VCCSA up to 1.3, VCORE up to 1.4 to no avail, also messed with VTT
    2. Flipping CPU current inrush to Enabled
    3. Messing with CPU current capability and other settings related to the CPU power (phase control and so on)
    4. Installing only 32GB (4x8) of RAM

    Single settings and combinations over combinations of settings. The board doesn't restart only when I apply heavy load, it will randomly restart even at idle.

    So, if anyone here found the magic combination of settings to make the board stable please share is with us. It's a bit sad to have the highest tier LGA2011 motherboard and not being able to use it, at least with XMP enabled, dare I say with any small and insignificant OC.

    Thanks a lot and sorry for the long post.
    Last edited by Sihastru; 03-18-2014 at 03:56 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,456

    Hi Sihastru...my mind goes immediately to your RAM...Is this one 64GB kit or more than one kit? On the QVL? Do you have any other DDR3 RAM to try....

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Thanks for answering. I too have suspected the RAM, since it is the activation of XMP that causes problems. But it's strange since it works at 1333MHz (probably SPD) with 1.35V and it works, as I explain further, at 1600MHz if I overclock the system.

    Well, I'm sorry to say, but the QVL for this board is not very helpful, since it contains only 3 GSKILL kits and 2 KINGSTON kits that are configured as 8x8GB (64GB). Depending on the location, some of the kits are impossible to find and most of them "feature" very high profile heat spreaders. And that can lead to physical compatibility issues with other components.

    Other then that, it has a few quad channel kits of lower density/capacity and the bulk of the list contains dual and triple channel kits (that I find a just a little bit, I don't know... hilarious for a board of this caliber). Maybe I'm a little to harsh on this matter. QVL is QVL... better to have that extra information I guess.

    My kit is theoretically 64GB, but in the box they were distributed in two smaller boxes that each had 32GB. They all have the same model number inscribed on each of the modules. So I can't be sure. But I already tried to use only half of the modules, that I marked as all being from one of the smaller boxes. With the same result.

    Anyway, reading other forum posts on the internet, I have found that the board can be stable if you overclock your CPU and manually set primary memory timings. It does sound counter intuitive, that a system is stable when overclocked and seriously unstable when at "stock" settings, but I'll take it. I know XMP is technically overclocking, but come on... we're talking about 1600MHz and that's under the 1866MHz official support ceiling. So my XMP settings should be considered underclocking.

    So now I am running the CPU @ 4.4 GHz, RAM @ 1600 8-8-8-24 1.35V. I'm using a dynamic Vcore of +0.065, because I want my idle voltage to drop to 0.8V, my PC spends quite some time at or near "active" idle. I've been running the system continuously since yesterday, and there have been no random restarts incidents.

    It also passed a few hours of prime95 and a few runs of IBT, so at least from my point of view, since stability is a subjective thing, it is stable.

    I messed with a few other settings in the BIOS, if anyone is interested I could make a note of the most important ones and post them here, but when we're talking about overclocking, every system is different.

    So I will run like this, perhaps higher towards 4.6-4.8GHz, at least until there are new BIOSes that hopefully improve the stability of the board.

    In my opinion, as a guy who has tweaked ASUS' motherboards since the Pentium3 era, there's something wrong with the board. Either it's the immature BIOS, or the "improved and optimized for IB-E trace layout" that ASUS' PR is so proud of has a few quirks and kinks, it remains to be seen.

    I wonder if the guys that have no problems with the board have a different revision...?
    Last edited by Sihastru; 03-19-2014 at 08:18 PM. Reason: typos

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    60
    Posts
    655

    Quote Originally Posted by Sihastru View Post
    Thanks for answering. I too have suspected the RAM, since it is the activation of XMP that causes problems. But it's strange since it works at 1333MHz (probably SPD) with 1.35V and it works, as I explain further, at 1600MHz if I overclock the system.

    Well, I'm sorry to say, but the QVL for this board is not very helpful, since it contains only 3 GSKILL kits and 2 KINGSTON kits that are configured as 8x8GB (64GB). Depending on the location, some of the kits are impossible to find and most of them "feature" very high profile heat spreaders. And that can lead to physical compatibility issues with other components.

    Other then that, it has a few quad channel kits of lower density/capacity and the bulk of the list contains dual and triple channel kits (that I find a just a little bit, I don't know... hilarious for a board of this caliber). Maybe I'm a little to harsh on this matter. QVL is QVL... better to have that extra information I guess.

    My kit is theoretically 64GB, but in the box they were distributed in two smaller boxes that each had 32GB. They all have the same model number inscribed on each of the modules. So I can't be sure. But I already tried to use only half of the modules, that I marked as all being from one of the smaller boxes. With the same result.

    Anyway, reading other forum posts on the internet, I have found that the board can be stable if you overclock your CPU and manually set primary memory timings. It does sound counter intuitive, that a system is stable when overclocked and seriously unstable when at "stock" settings, but I'll take it. I know XMP is technically overclocking, but come on... we're talking about 1600MHz and that's under the 1866MHz official support ceiling. So my XMP settings should be considered underclocking.

    So now I am running the CPU @ 4.4 GHz, RAM @ 1600 8-8-8-24 1.35V. I'm using a dynamic Vcore of +0.065, because I want my idle voltage to drop to 0.8V, my PC spends quite some time at or near "active" idle. I've been running the system continuously since yesterday, and there have been no random restarts incidents.

    It also passed a few hours of prime95 and a few runs of IBT, so at least from my point of view, since stability is a subjective thing, it is stable.

    I messed with a few other settings in the BIOS, if anyone is interested I could make a note of the most important ones and post them here, but when we're talking about overclocking, every system is different.

    So I will run like this, perhaps higher towards 4.6-4.8GHz, at least until there are new BIOSes that hopefully improve the stability of the board.

    In my opinion, as a guy who has tweaked ASUS' motherboards since the Pentium3 era, there's something wrong with the board. Either it's the immature BIOS, or the "improved and optimized for IB-E trace layout" that ASUS' PR is so proud of has a few quirks and kinks, it remains to be seen.

    I wonder if the guys that have no problems with the board have a different revision...?

    I now seem to be in the same boat as you.
    Went from the RIVE to this and have also been getting the dreaded reboot.
    I also get the feeling because I bought an open box item (actually a refurb according to the packaging) ASUS wants nothing to do with honoring the warranty.

    Looks like it is time to send this back to newegg, as the only folks I've seen that have 'solved' this problem have been through multiple RMAs.

    Seems like a hardware fault is what is going on here.
    Hopefully if I buy a NEW board it doesn't arrive with this same set of problems.

    Moral of my story: Stay away from newegg openbox items. $75 savings is not worth losing 3 years of warranty if that is really the case. (For what it's worth, only bought the open box because it was all that was available at the time, and from scouring other forum posts ASUS seemed to offer full warranty on these items at least in the past. Love how a couple of days can change things as it's now back in stock!)

    Edit: New board ordered, or 'boardered' if you will.
    Last edited by Necrosan; 03-22-2014 at 10:48 PM.
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


  5. #5
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Set CPU Current capability to 170%. If that does not fix it the issue lies somewhere deeper.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Guys I highly recommend take close pictures of your motherboard from every corner and cpu socket pins before sending it to Newegg for rma, recently they tried to screw me and blamed me for a damage board and refused my rma for R4BE. After several arguments with the supervisors for a week or so
    They came back and told me that after close inspection my board wasn't damaged and approved my rma. Just a thought from my bad experience.
    Last edited by day_khabar; 03-24-2014 at 11:09 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Hi guys!

    @Necrosan: I am sorry to hear about your problems with the board, my board was new/retail. Because there are so many reports of this problem, I think that this could be blamed more on an immature BIOS then on a hardware problem. So I am willing to ride it out with my board as it is now, at least for a few more BIOS iterations. If they don't fix it in a couple of months then I think I will send the board back to the store.

    @day_khabar: This seems more of a shipping/newegg problem, and less of a ASUS problem. I'm glad that in the end you sorted things out. We don't have newegg where I am now, the only way to send a board back is to personally take it to the store. So no shenanigans like that are possible.

    @Raja: Thanks for the suggestion. I will reset the BIOS and try it out and will report back.

  8. #8
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    If it is OCP related that will cure it. If it still happens then we'll need to dig deeper.

  9. #9
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,456

    Hmm well if it is a problem then I have had it...

    I have to say that I have not had this board long and have had near zero time to play with it...but my first day firing it up I tried to set the OC settings that had worked on my RIVE....2 seconds in OS and shutdown every time with manual settings for RAM. made me think of this "problem"...

    Ran stock CPU and XMP works fine so I wonder if a lot of this stuff isn't simply having to work out a new board and OC from scratch...

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Set CPU Current capability to 170%. If that does not fix it the issue lies somewhere deeper.
    Sorry it takes a bit longer for me to respond, but testing for this problem takes time. It does help, the restarts are less frequent, or at least they seem to be less frequent, it's hard to draw a conclusion when the problem we're trying to fix has a random aspect to it. In fact the restarts seem to be a lot less frequent as I increase the current capability.

    But... starting with 130%, the phase control goes automatically to extreme, and the setting cannot be changed, so all CPU phases work at full tilt all the time. Does this mean that some of the phases on the motherboard are malfunctioning?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •