Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Sihastru View Post
    Sorry it takes a bit longer for me to respond, but testing for this problem takes time. It does help, the restarts are less frequent, or at least they seem to be less frequent, it's hard to draw a conclusion when the problem we're trying to fix has a random aspect to it. In fact the restarts seem to be a lot less frequent as I increase the current capability.

    But... starting with 130%, the phase control goes automatically to extreme, and the setting cannot be changed, so all CPU phases work at full tilt all the time. Does this mean that some of the phases on the motherboard are malfunctioning?

    1) Default OCP is 140% on Auto. Don't use anything lower.
    2) No the phases are not malfunctioning.
    3) Increase OCP further - it will be less random to test this if you run a stress test like Prime instead of waiting for the system to restart while doing normal tasks. Try 170% or 180%.
    4) If you are overclocking the CPU - then start afresh, don't copy voltage settings from any other board to this one as the regulation and LLC is different.

    -Raja

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I did say before that the only way to stabilize the system was to overclock it. But since you got involved in this thread, I've loaded setup defaults in order to test the values you're suggesting. So no overclocking.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    60
    Posts
    655

    Just a follow up post -

    Received the new-in-box RIVBE last Wednesday (3/26/14) and it has been 100% stable with no need to futz with OCP.

    Stay away from Newegg open box/refurb unless you like building your system 3 times in 1 week and having no warranty more than likely.
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


  4. #14
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,452

    Hi there both....so I have now had more time with my board and have the same problem for sure...I don't really think it's related to anything more than the board at the moment.

    Necrosan...interesting problem gone with new board.

    Sihastru? did you find anything that worked or have you RMA'd the board too?

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Hi guys.

    Unfortunately I don't have too much time for other tests. My board is currently out of the system and I replaced it with an older system, a Rampage III Gene with a six core Xeon since I have deadlines to keep. And I can't work with an unstable system.

    After seeing this thread and also reading up on people that had problems when they tried different coolers with various amounts of pressure I'm beginning to think that the 170% current capability setting is engineered to mask this problem, since a setting above 130% will force EXTREME PHASE mode.

    That just means that phases are no longer used in rotation but they all work at the same time. Normally phases are used in rotation, based on temperature and other parameters. When the CPU uses good phases, the system is fully stable. When the CPU switches to a bad one (badly soldered inductor) it no longer receives enough current and one of it's protections is tripped and the system restarts. This is my working theory after seeing this thread. In his case the problem was just a lot more obvious.

    The slight bending of the board caused by different cooler configurations could cause this problem to surface. It can maybe be caused by low solder quality.

    I can't really test this theory since the inductors used by ASUS on this board don't have penetrating pins (terminals). They are surface mounted style inductors. So you don't have access to the terminals.

    I really don't want to make these accusations, but there can't be people that have perfectly working boards and people like me and others that have this annoying problem. Exactly this problem.

    I smell a batch problem. Batch recall in 3... 2... 1... ?

  6. #16
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,452

    OK Sihastru understood....yes, if you have work to do you can't hang about,

    I'm going to test setting phases to extreme and running lower current cap...that should give me a clue if it's power delivery problem over certain phases...

    Something certainly doesn't feel right here...

    Will also try another 4930K...

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    The theory that some six core CPUs need 170% and that quad cores need 140% and that some CPUs need "more" then others is invalidated by the accounts of users that got new boards that worked with the same CPU without manually changing any settings.

    Another theory is that no two CPUs are the same. Well there are margins of error for sure, but nobody can really claim a +/- 70% variance in an Intel CPU. Maybe there are dying CPUs out there that were overclocked too much and suffer from severe degradation, but this should be happening with the old and the new motherboards. And it doesn't. A user got three bad motherboards until he finally got a stable one.

    Maybe you can say that no two motherboards are the same. But again, margins of error. I can't believe that a top tier ASUS ROG motherboard is built with a +/- 70% margin of error when we're talking about CPU phase control. What would be the point of digital control and all those claims on the box? How would ASUS motherboards be the best for overclocking if this was true?

    Even if it's both at the same time, we're still left with at least +/- 30% margin of error for each, and it's still ridiculously high.

    As I said, I'm a bit of an ASUS fanboy when it comes to motherboards. I currently have running:

    P4P800 E Deluxe, yes with a P4 3GHz Nortwood and 4GB of RAM...
    E35M1-M, low power little thing, 16GB of RAM
    Rampage III Gene, my backup computer, Xeon X5670 and 48GB of RAM
    P6T WS Professional, my 24/7 server, Xeon L5639 and 12GB of RAM

    and this Rampage IV Black Edition with a 4930K and 64GB of RAM.

    I also had a Rampage IV Formula, a P9X79, a P5Q-EM DO, a P5Q Deluxe, a P5Q Premium and also a few older P3 boards. The only ASUS boards that have issues for me are the E35M1-M, the integrated Realtek NIC cannot handle too many connections and just dies and the P6T WS Professional where the PCI-X slots seem to not have enough bandwidth between them and suffer extreme performance degradation.

    And of course this Rampage IV Black Edition that keeps randomly restarting.

    All in all about 12 or 13 boards from ASUS... oh I just realized, this is number 13. What do you think guys, do I deserve the truth?

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    So, I tried 0701 and now I can enable the second XMP setting on my RAM (1.5V instead of the standard 1.35V), and it was stable for a few hours with all other settings on their default values.

    1.35V crashes, 1.5V looks good as long as I don't put any advanced settings on their Intel specified default values. If I do that, the random restart problem comes back.

    People with the random shutdown/restart problem should try it and report back. 0701 is a step in the right direction.

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    I had a somewhat similar problem that went away with BIOS 0701 but I made a few other changes at the same time, so this testimony is not definitive. It is interesting that the 0701 BIOS for the RIVBE came 10 days after 0603. The revision number changing from 06xx to 07xx suggests the possibility of more significant changes than the usual, but this could also be nothing more than a change in the company's internal accounting year. In my experience, it would be very difficult to perform full validation and qualification testing on a new release in 10 days, but it could also be that these two release were developed and tested in parallel by two different teams.
    6/23/14 0701 "improved system stability" (translation - fixed a stability problem of some kind)
    6/13/14 0603 "Enhanced computability with some USB device"

    Regardless, you and others might have better success with the 0701 Bios. If so, please let the forum know.

    FWIW, G.Skill stated in a thread on their site (http://www.gskill.us/forum/showthread.php?t=13074) that they removed the RIVBE from the QVL for their 64GB kit due to unspecified bios issues. So it makes sense that 0701 may fix a compatibility issue of some type.

    Also FWIW, I know from working in server development at Intel that it is very hard for computer component manufacturers to assure that their products work with every other component that comes along -- and the inevitable changes in previously tested components that can create new problems. Those of us -- and this includes me -- who use unusual memory configurations or memory that is not on both company's QVLs (where possible) should understand that we are taking a risk. I love being an "early adopter", but in the PC world with millions of vendors this can be frustrating. I hope I'm not being a bit too pedantic for the experience level on this forum. If so please accept my apology.
    Last edited by rosefire; 06-25-2014 at 05:02 PM.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I think the level of information that you are providing is very helpful. And you have conducted yourself with dignity and you have no need to apologies.

    I am following this thread with much interest.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •