Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 80
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Asus GPU Tweak for Laptops vs Asus GPU Tweak for Graphics Cards

    Asus has solved the confusion around the Asus GPU Tweak for the G750JW/JX/JH and the G750JS/JM/JZ by splitting up Asus GPU Tweak into 2 support / download areas.

    The G750JW/JX/JH G751JT/JY (non-Optimus laptops) have the Asus GPU Tweak for Graphics Cards, Version 2.7.1.8 is latest stable tested - 12-23-14, there is a newer version 2.7.9.0 - I haven't tested it yet - 2-14-15

    http://support.asus.com/download.asp...s&hashedid=n/a

    Asus GPU Tweak for Laptops, currently at release v1.0.9 for the G750JS/JM/JZ G751JM and other ROG laptops with Optimus
    http://support.asus.com/download.asp...hashedid=n%2fa

    The new Asus GPU Tweak for Laptops doesn't allow overclocking as freely as the Asus GPU Tweak for Graphics Cards, the Asus GPU Tweak for Laptops only allows a 5% boost.

    Here is the Asus GPU Tweak for Graphics Cards on my G750JH, OC'ing well past 5%

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Asus GPU Tweak 2.5.8.3.JPG 
Views:	255 
Size:	109.2 KB 
ID:	35105

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Asus Tweak Tool for Laptops.JPG 
Views:	369 
Size:	92.5 KB 
ID:	41849
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Asus Tweak for Graphics Cards 2.6.5.3.JPG  

    Asus GPU Tweak for Graphics Cards 2.6.5.3.JPG  

    Last edited by hmscott; 02-15-2015 at 04:37 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    Hey scott, since I have already OC'ed my JW with Asus GPU tweak which now I assume should be called Tweak for Graphic cards, should I uninstall it and Overclock my gpu with the new version?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by senttel View Post
    Hey scott, since I have already OC'ed my JW with Asus GPU tweak which now I assume should be called Tweak for Graphic cards, should I uninstall it and Overclock my gpu with the new version?
    senttel, I usually update to the latest version when I find it, but it hasn't really done anything except update the graphics display, the same limits are there, so it won't improve performance.

    What did you OC to on the JW? The GPU speed should go all the way up, 932mhz indicated and the JW I had went to 6288mhz memory.

    Here is a screen shot of Asus GPU Tweak 2.4.1.0, when the GPU speed indicated the full 997mhz including Turbo Boost (932+65mhz) - one of the few updates that was significant - dropping the display of the GPU speed including Turbo Boost.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AsusGPUTweakMonitorPt1.JPG 
Views:	79 
Size:	101.3 KB 
ID:	35106

    Also, the voltage setting does nothing. It shows stock voltage in GPU-Z HWinfo etc at any voltage setting.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    I OC'ed up to 997/5700 and so far (it has been overclocked for 4 or 5 days now) GPU did not show any signs of instability, no screen flickering or etc. Btw I undervolted my CPU down to -110vM but removed the cpu OC, because it would crash like in the next 5mins after I overclock and undervolt at the same time so I decided that I prefer cooler system over a few percent CPU boost.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    #hmscott,
    How do you get your '70' to stick in the Display Fresh Rate??

    When I try to adjust to 70 and press 'Apply' it reverts back to 60. Using version 2.5.8.3.
    ROG 750 JH - 256 SSD - 750 HDD - GTX 780M

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Norup58 View Post
    #hmscott,
    How do you get your '70' to stick in the Display Fresh Rate??

    When I try to adjust to 70 and press 'Apply' it reverts back to 60. Using version 2.5.8.3.
    You need to already have set up a Custom Resolution in the Nvidia Control Panel.

    For the AUO display 70hz is the maximum refresh - it's the actual spec for the panel. The Chi Mei display will run at 100hz, some have reported running at 110hz, but my JW/JX would only be stable ta 100hz.

    Once you have the setting available in the Nvidia Control Panel, you can switch it using the Asus GPU Tweak tool, but I usually use the Nvidia Control Panel to set the refresh/resolution and leave it there.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post
    You need to already have set up a Custom Resolution in the Nvidia Control Panel.

    For the AUO display 70hz is the maximum refresh - it's the actual spec for the panel. The Chi Mei display will run at 100hz, some have reported running at 110hz, but my JW/JX would only be stable ta 100hz.

    Once you have the setting available in the Nvidia Control Panel, you can switch it using the Asus GPU Tweak tool, but I usually use the Nvidia Control Panel to set the refresh/resolution and leave it there.
    Ok thanks - now running at 70hz via Nvidia Control Panel
    ROG 750 JH - 256 SSD - 750 HDD - GTX 780M

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,634

    Still curious about the gaming mode option. When you click it, the cards voltage rises up from 837 to 850.. would that be better for my card since I've done the 135+ to Clock and upped Memory to 5200 in my own custom setting? I mean, if the chip is overclocked, wouldn't giving it that little more amount of voltage feed it the food it needs?

    My current voltage is 837.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    Still curious about the gaming mode option. When you click it, the cards voltage rises up from 837 to 850.. would that be better for my card since I've done the 135+ to Clock and upped Memory to 5200 in my own custom setting? I mean, if the chip is overclocked, wouldn't giving it that little more amount of voltage feed it the food it needs?
    My current voltage is 837.
    Gaming mode option? Where did you see that? There is no voltage control available for the JW/JX/JH

    You don't always need more voltage to attain an OC. That is why undervolting while OC'ing works, often the default voltage is higher than needed.
    Last edited by hmscott; 04-01-2014 at 01:17 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    103

    How exactly do you use the software on the JZ model? When I install it the only options I can turn on are GPU Clock ( MHz ) and Run GPU Fan on Full Speed. I can't mess with anything else?

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •