Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    A question about SLI

    I am running a Maximus VI Formula, I7 4770K, w/ 16 Gigs of Corsair 2400 Platinum, liquid cooled, with an ASUS GeForce GTX 760 2GB 256-Bit graphics card. I do a lot of flight sim but am still getting some less than desirable frame rates. sometimes dropping down to the single digits. I was thinking about adding another video card but was wondering what sort of an increase in frame rates i will get. And compared to lets say if I had a single 780 . Here is my 3D Mark 11 scores.
    Graphics Score 8296
    Physics Score 9186
    Combined Score 6900

    Thanks for any information
    $1,000,000.00

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,406

    Hi there

    have you had a look at your GPU memory usage when these drops in framerate occur? or temperatures? or CPU usage etc. to see if any of these are maxing out at the drop points...what resolution...what sim?

    A single 780Ti for example will have more GPU memory and performance similar to two 760s

    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/product/1038?vs=1072

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    LOL you guessed where I was going with this. Basically wondering if a 780 is better than two 760s why don't they mention that anywhere. IE: I would of got the 780 in the first place. As to your other questions no I haven't done that. I am using FSX with a few adons . My resolution is 1920X1080. The CPU temp is not it as I did check that with my OC control panel. Plus it's a custom loop system. There it is ---> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=79yRliDfsO0

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,406

    http://www.jetlinesystems.com/performance.php

    Seems 75% of framerate is CPU, only 25% GPU and SLI definitely not recommended...so yeah a single 780...better 780Ti and an SSD

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    The reason for the slow frame rates I'm sure is because o the adons (FTX NA GOLD NCA, Ultimate Traffic2, Flightbeam KSFO, PMDG 747, REX Essential Plus,). Why even have SLI as an option? You would think a 700 series card could keep it up at 30 frames though. You're saying that Flight sim relies on the CPU more than the GPU for it's graphics?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Nice link BTW

  7. #7
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Do your sim games benefit from Hyperthreading? maybe check and see if they do and then enable it and see where you go

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Well I am trying out Nvidia Inspector at the moment so the GPU will take more of the load

  9. #9
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,406

    I think that yes, the CPU is what generates the frame-rate and if I remember correctly (might not ) hyperthreading off since it likes running on physical cores...

    Overclocking that 4770 to 4.4 or 4.5 will be the biggest help....

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    What do you think about Nvidia Inspector to get the GPU to share some of the load?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •