Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    320

    Question Broadcom wifi details

    Hi,
    My Atheros wifi card works fine but has 2 problems for me,
    first it has no 5Ghz (poor for this price laptop really) and second it does not work in OS X Mavericks.
    I am looking to swap it out for one that does both.
    Can anyone conrm that this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2514787840...84.m1423.l2649 is the card that other G750's have and also does it work in OS X?
    thanks
    Asus G750JX-CV050H||GTX770M||24GB ram||120hz 3D screen||
    1TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD||500GB Crucial M4 SSD||500GB Crucial M4 SSD in DVD Bay
    free bag and mouse
    win 8.1||win 7||win xp||server 2008||os x mavericks||linux mint 16

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    320

    can i bump this myself?
    anyone have a part number, or even a photo, of the broadcom wifi card in a G750?
    also, is there only 1 pci-e slot?

    thanks
    Asus G750JX-CV050H||GTX770M||24GB ram||120hz 3D screen||
    1TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD||500GB Crucial M4 SSD||500GB Crucial M4 SSD in DVD Bay
    free bag and mouse
    win 8.1||win 7||win xp||server 2008||os x mavericks||linux mint 16

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Sound strange but I'm not 100% sure, but I believe I have a BCM4352 in my JX

    https://www.broadcom.com/products/Wi...utions/BCM4352

    --
    hm

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    320

    @aarbogh: i know that some G750s have a broadcom, most likely the bcm4352, but i wanted the exact model before i spend the $80 dollars on one.
    Asus G750JX-CV050H||GTX770M||24GB ram||120hz 3D screen||
    1TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD||500GB Crucial M4 SSD||500GB Crucial M4 SSD in DVD Bay
    free bag and mouse
    win 8.1||win 7||win xp||server 2008||os x mavericks||linux mint 16

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by gazzacbr View Post
    @aarbogh: i know that some G750s have a broadcom, most likely the bcm4352, but i wanted the exact model before i spend the $80 dollars on one.
    This one looks interesting, 802.11ac + BT 4.0 and only $32

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833106190

    And, here is a broadcom BCM4352 for only $39:

    http://www.amazon.com/Azurewave-AW-C.../dp/B00HRFS1GQ
    Last edited by hmscott; 04-03-2014 at 01:05 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    320

    Hi,
    @hmscott: thanks for the info,
    the intel will not work on OS X (that was a requirement ).
    the azurewave bcm4352 card looks like it is the one used in the G750s. its one of very few that are dual band and include BT (and work on a a mac).
    just checked again and they are on discount on ebay (from USA).
    amazon wiould not deliver to Dubai (last time i checked).
    Asus G750JX-CV050H||GTX770M||24GB ram||120hz 3D screen||
    1TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD||500GB Crucial M4 SSD||500GB Crucial M4 SSD in DVD Bay
    free bag and mouse
    win 8.1||win 7||win xp||server 2008||os x mavericks||linux mint 16

  7. #7
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    185

    any updates on this?

    I am thinking of getting the Intel one, I have no need for no need for any Mac crap

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    My JM has the broadcom 4352. I run linux mostly, and it isn't well supported yet, so I was going to put a different one in which has stable linux drivers. Maybe if someone wants to trade? They're cheap, but if we don't have to spend any cash, why not? Good luck with your upgrade.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •