Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Fan configuration + water cool advice

    So heres the layout, i have a Maximus IV Hero mobo inside a Corsair C70 mid tower. cooling this system i have a Corsair H110 water cooler. my problem is this, My case came with 3-3pin case fans (fully controllable on this mobo) and my water cooler came with 2 large 4pin fans...and the water pump itself has a 3pin corde, my mobo has a CPU header (4pin) a CPU_OPT header (4-pin) and 3-4pin CHASSY headers....i currently have one case fan 3pin plugged into CHA_FAN 1. another case fan plugged into CHA_FAN 3. i have one of the water cool fans(4pin) on the CPU header and the other(4pin) on CHA_FAN 2, and the pump itself (3pin) on the CPU_OPT header. and im left with one case fun unused.

    other than the Bios i have no other way of controlling the speeds because im not particularly fond of Asus Ai Suite 3. but from what i notice in the Bios Cha fan 1 and 3 are running between 700-900rpm which is fine, but cha fan 2 in running at 1000-1100rpm....whereas the Cpu fan (same exact fan as ch fan 2) is running at about 800-900 rpm and the pump is running at full rpm 1500-1600rpm as it should otherwise its not doing its job.

    my question is, would plugging my two fans from my water cooler into one header(CPU FAN) via a Y splitter damage my mobo and also at the same time why is one of the fans running faster than the other......AND what would you guys recommend the configuration should be...i read somewhere that the combined fan speed shouldn't go over the cpu header speed which is A1, but thats all Greek to me...........ironically that is in fact what i am

    i also dont really want to plug anything into the PSU

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Welcome to the ROG Forum!

    Why not connect the fans on the rad to the pump directly? Then connect the pump to the CPU header...

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    unfortunately, there are no ports/headers on pump on the H110

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Thinkpad T410
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair V Formula - Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 9590
    Memory (part number)BLE2KIT8G3D1869DE1TX0 (8-8-8-24, 1866 MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS R9 390 STRIX (OC, GAMING)
    Storage #1SG Constellation 6 TB (6x1 TB) RAID 0
    Storage #2SG Constellation 2 TB (2x2 TB) RAID 1
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCaseLabs STH-10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X5
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Perixx 900x440x3 mm + Steelseries 320x270x3 mm + ALLSOP hard pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G930/Altec Lansing 5.1
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
    Dr. Zchivago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    609

    I would think your best option on that note would be the CPU and CPU_Opt fan headers, since they're controlled in parallel.

    Z

    Edit: And, power the pump via a molex to 3-pin adapter. Just my view.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Quote Originally Posted by Azogg View Post
    unfortunately, there are no ports/headers on pump on the H110
    Ah, my bad, I have forgot that!

    The mono headers can handle 1Amp... so, if your two fans won't go above that, then you can use an Y-cable to connect both to one header... - but I wasn't able to find the H110's fans specs... at this moment, I would connect them to CPU and CPU opt, just to be on the safe side...

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Radiator dimensions: 140mm x 312mm x 29mm
    Fan dimensions: 140mm x 25mm
    Fan speed: 1500 +/- 10% RPM
    Fan airflow: 94 CFM
    Fan static pressure: 1.64mm-H2O
    Noise level: 35dB(A)

    this is all i could fine on the fans

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Yes, but you would need the wattage/amperage...

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    12v DC 0.4A is what it says on the actual fan...make any sense?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Yeap, that's what you need! 0.4Amps is meaning that youy actually can use an Y-cable to hok up the two fans to a single header...

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    thanks, that's great to hear, but a question still remains. why is it that the fan thats plugged into cha fan 2 spins faster than the rest...doesn't matter which of the fans i have plugged in it...140mm or 120mm, they still spin at a faster rpm...considering all the setting in the bios are set to auto/standard for all my fan headers, so even when my pc is idling on the desktop, that one fan is spinning faster than the rest

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •