Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    g750js low fps with Diablo 3

    Hello,

    Long time lurker and fan of Asus laptops. I just replaced my g73jh for a g750js. Finished up cleaning up bloatware and installing a few games. Titanfall runs great, but I'm having serious issues with Diablo 3 at max settings: getting around 20 fps or lower. I made sure the 870m drivers are up to date, and based on what I know there shouldn't be a throttling issue... I searched around the forums but couldn't find a clear answer. Can anyone help?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    I find that quite surprising myself. My JS has run everything so far on max settings (with lowered or no aliasing) with frame rates of 50+.

    Sorry I don't have Diablo 3 so I can't test this. Try checking anti-aliasing and turn it off to see if that helps. Also try turning off FSAA (another form of anti-aliasing). I have found anti-aliasing to be the "Achilles Heel" of all laptop GPUs in my past experience.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by BIOHAZARD9519 View Post
    I find that quite surprising myself. My JS has run everything so far on max settings (with lowered or no aliasing) with frame rates of 50+.

    Sorry I don't have Diablo 3 so I can't test this. Try checking anti-aliasing and turn it off to see if that helps. Also try turning off FSAA (another form of anti-aliasing). I have found anti-aliasing to be the "Achilles Heel" of all laptop GPUs in my past experience.
    Appreciate the response! I turned off AA and it only helped a little bit. I set everything to low and don't even exceed 30 fps. All of my other games are fine... I really think it has something to do with Diablo 3

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Okay I think I have this sorted out. In NVIDIA Control Panel Diablo 3 wasn't set to the high performance NVIDIA processor. Diablo inherits from the global settings here so I set the NVIDIA processor to the preferred graphics processor. Seems to have solved it!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by SlackerLogic View Post
    Okay I think I have this sorted out. In NVIDIA Control Panel Diablo 3 wasn't set to the high performance NVIDIA processor. Diablo inherits from the global settings here so I set the NVIDIA processor to the preferred graphics processor. Seems to have solved it!
    Nice!

    Surprised this was the case. I don't what told the control panel to not use the Nvidia GPU...

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Can you explain how you did this. I have looked in the control panel and cant seem to find this option. I have to run diablo 3 on low to medium with my g750js to have it run smoothly.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    392

    Quote Originally Posted by tilly View Post
    Can you explain how you did this. I have looked in the control panel and cant seem to find this option. I have to run diablo 3 on low to medium with my g750js to have it run smoothly.
    I think he did what is referred to in this thread, there's a screenshot.

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=
    (ROG has simply become too expensive compared to the competition with same specs... )
    MSI GE75 Raider 10SGS - i7 10750H - RTX 2080 Super - 32GB Ram - 1TB WD NVMe - 2TB 960 EVO - 300Hz 17inch Display
    RETIRED: ALIENWARE R17 R5 - i7 8750H - GTX 1070 @ 1.9Ghz - 16GB DDR4 - NVMe 970 EVO 1TB - SSD 960 EVO 1TB
    SOLD: ASUS G703VI-XH74K, RETIRED: ASUS G752VY-DH72, RETIRED: ASUS G750JH DB71 , RETIRED:ASUS G74Sx DH72

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    392

    Right click on your desktop, choose "Nvidia Control Panel" and choose "manage 3d settings" on the left. This is where those settings are.
    (ROG has simply become too expensive compared to the competition with same specs... )
    MSI GE75 Raider 10SGS - i7 10750H - RTX 2080 Super - 32GB Ram - 1TB WD NVMe - 2TB 960 EVO - 300Hz 17inch Display
    RETIRED: ALIENWARE R17 R5 - i7 8750H - GTX 1070 @ 1.9Ghz - 16GB DDR4 - NVMe 970 EVO 1TB - SSD 960 EVO 1TB
    SOLD: ASUS G703VI-XH74K, RETIRED: ASUS G752VY-DH72, RETIRED: ASUS G750JH DB71 , RETIRED:ASUS G74Sx DH72

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Hi man i´ve tryed this, but my when i start the game my screen is black and all I can hear is in game sound! I´ve been in cantact with ASUS support but did not lead to much, also Navida who was nice but no solution. I have tried so many things and nothing seems so work, all my other games runs on MAX GW2,Planetside2,LOL,Counterstrike. But not Diablo3 would be really nice with some more help!
    Best regards SofaKing

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •