Page 1 of 17 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 166
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    Smile || Help with OC 4470k + Hero VI + H100i ||

    Hey Nate152,

    From your posts I have read, you seem to really know what you are doing.

    I was wondering if you could help me OC my 4770k?

    System Specs-

    CPU- Intel Core i7 4770K
    Motherboard- Asus MAXIMUS VI HERO
    RAM- Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz
    GFX Card- Asus Geforce GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3G
    SSD- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB
    HDD- WD 2TB Caviar Black 7200rpm
    CPU Cooler- Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP)
    PSU- Corsair AX860 Platinum Power Supply

    All Fans controlled by AiSuite

    My time zone is +10GMT

    Regards,
    siliconart
    Last edited by siliconart; 04-04-2014 at 08:40 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array r0wnin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Start at 4.4 with a 4.2 cache and a 1.25 vcore
    c-states & Intel speedstep disabled

    If you get WHEA bsod's you need to either up your vcore or drop your multi.
    [Asus HERO - i7 4770k @4.3 - 32gb G.Skill Ares @2400 via XMP - Samsung 840 SSD - 660GTX in SLi]

  3. #3
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Hello siliconart, You have a good cpu cooler and should be able to hit 4.4-4.5 GHz with the H100i. Have you downloaded real temp 3.70, cpu-z and prime95 or realbench? If so go into the bios extreme tweaker tab and set the AI Overclock tuner to manual, sync all cores and set the cpu core ratio to 42 and set the cpu core voltage to 1.25v F10 and Enter. Open up cpu-z, real temp and prime95 or realbench and run a stress test. Monitor the maximum temp in real temp and core voltage in cpu-z. Temperature controls how far you will be able to overclock. If the temp goes over 90c when running the stress test stop the test immediately. Report your temps please.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    Yes, downloaded all those apps )

    Which do you prefer I use Prime95 or Realbench?

    4.4-4.5 sounds nice, should I be dropping the Ram down from 2400mhz to something average?

    thanks

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Use realbench and you can let your ram at 2400MHz.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    ok, should I be resetting all the values on the Mobo to defaults?

    Also in the RealTemp folder I seem to have 3 options-

    1. RealTemp
    2. RealTempGT
    3. i7TurboGT

    Which should I be running?

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    yes you can hit F5 to set defaults before doing the steps and you can use real temp.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    Ok here are the results for-

    42 @ 1.25v

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4.2 @ 1.25v.png 
Views:	18 
Size:	135.9 KB 
ID:	35314
    Last edited by siliconart; 04-05-2014 at 01:49 AM.

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Ok your cpu is not running at 4.2Ghz. Open real temp ,click settings and make sure disable turbo is unchecked cpu-z shows your cpu at 800MHz.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    Yes disable turbo was and is unchecked

    cpu-z did show it go upto 4.200 when running RealBench

    Should I be Quitting AiSuite from the system tray? I don't have it up on screen or anything, as it controls the fans, or will the Mobo do that anyway?
    Last edited by siliconart; 04-05-2014 at 01:00 AM.

Page 1 of 17 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •