Page 17 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7 15 16 17
Results 161 to 166 of 166
  1. #161
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    ok what would I have to adjust to get a bit more?
    - Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3 - MAXIMUS VII HERO - Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz - 2x Asus Geforce GTX980ti DirectCU II OC 6G in SL I- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB - WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm - Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP) - Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

  2. #162
    ROG Enthusiast Array r0wnin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    I get better performance just using a custom fan profile with a more aggressive curve than OC'n my graphics cards.

    OC'n introduces instability after even a small OC.

    Keeping them cool ensures a boost clock all the time.
    [Asus HERO - i7 4770k @4.3 - 32gb G.Skill Ares @2400 via XMP - Samsung 840 SSD - 660GTX in SLi]

  3. #163
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    How I do it is I overclock my gpu's while playing a game so, you could fire up battlefield 4 and gpu tweak or precision x. alt+tab out of the game and raise the gpu core first by 10 mhz then play for a bit. if it is ok alt+tab out again and raise the gpu core 10 MHz again and play some more. Don't forget to hit apply every time. Keep doing that until you get a freeze then back it down 10 mhz. Once you find your max gpu core overclock do the same thing with the gpu memory overclock. Only instead of getting a freeze you will get artifacts like flashing dots and triangles. Once you get artifacting, back down the gpu memory until it stops artifacting. That's pretty much it.

    As r0wnin said setting a fan curve is a good idea. I set mine so that when the gpu temp hits 70c my fans are running full throttle.

  4. #164
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    ok cool, thanks )

    Oh and after moving Real Bench to my SSD, this is the score I got.

    http://rog.asus.com/rog-pro/realbenc...rch=siliconart
    - Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3 - MAXIMUS VII HERO - Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz - 2x Asus Geforce GTX980ti DirectCU II OC 6G in SL I- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB - WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm - Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP) - Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

  5. #165
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Sorry to hijack, just a quick question.

    Is it recommended to change the Vcore setting to adaptive from manual once you've found a stable overclock?

  6. #166
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Quote Originally Posted by duck86 View Post
    Sorry to hijack, just a quick question.

    Is it recommended to change the Vcore setting to adaptive from manual once you've found a stable overclock?
    You can if you want if that is how you want your pc to run.

Page 17 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7 15 16 17

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •