Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Question Can't detect BD Roms - G750JH

    Hi guys!

    I own this laptop now for a couple months now and finally i tried to watch a (blu ray-) movie on it.
    Got no problems with CD/DVDs at all.
    The laptop/the Drive can't detect them. It's annoying. I don't think the laser is broken.

    The exact name of the drive is --> TSSTcorp DVDWBD SN-406AB

    I changed my region to 2 (im from europe), tried "refresh" in the setings, updated the Blu Ray Player Software ect ect.
    Booting with the disc inside doesn't work too!

    Do you have any ideas? Help appreciated!

    PS: Yeah I did Google it, no I don't have iTunes

    Edit: I might add I use windows 8. (shipped with it)
    Last edited by Colki; 04-07-2014 at 11:57 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array arkejn PC Specs
    arkejn PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN 7 2700
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TRIDENT Z RGB 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX R9 380 4GB
    Sound CardSUPREME FX
    MonitorROG STRIX XG27V
    Storage #1Corsair MP500 480GB
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN X62 V2
    CaseNZXT NOCTIS 450 ROG
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850
    Keyboard ASUS Cerberus
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei 310
    Headset Corsair HS40 Raptor
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    arkejn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    93

    I heard intel rapid storage cause this. Try uninstalling RST. Also you may need to update firmware, but check RST first. Also if you have any music/video programs, uninstall them all, try with one at a time.
    STATION WAGON PC:
    CPU
    : AMD Phenom II X6 1100T BE / A10 7700K MOBO: ASUS M4A79XTD EVO / ASUS Crossblade Ranger
    COOLING: Coolermaster V8 PSU: Chieftec 80P 600W / Corsair RM850
    RAM: Kingston HyperX T1 2x4GB DISK: Seagate 1TB, WD Green Caviar 1,5TB
    CASE: Cooler Master Elite 330 / Corsair Carbide SPEC02 VIDEO: Asus GTX460 1GB DCU/TOP

    G56JR

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Thanks for the quick response.
    I read that too, uninstalled something from intel before.

    Cant find RST now on my computer.

    As for media-programs, I did not change anything (except updating Asus DVD). Now I tried VLC too, still no success

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    i did have this problem initially make sure powerdvd is installed and also updated make sure to reboot after it updates and it should work.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Do you mean the "ASUSDvD" Version of PowerDvD or PowerDvD itself?
    I updated the asus version - it says now that it is the newest version -> 10.0.5710.52

    Meh, this driving me crazy

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Hm, still no solution. Nobody got a clue?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    99
    Posts
    2,169

    Sorry, don't know the answer either, but thought you may want to contact your local ASUS support through this page http://support.asus.com/Hotlines.aspx?SLanguage=en, or even consider arranging an RMA later if necessary?

    If you aren't worried about erasing Windows and think it's worth the trouble, try this to make sure nothing you have installed is causing problems.

    If your unit came with the blu ray drive though, I would expect the software to play blu ray would be preinstalled, but it may be something you need to verify with your local support to confirm you should be receiving the blu ray software player and it was preinstalled in your system (instead of just the DVD player software).

    Actually, I'm not sure if you can still download trial versions of blu ray software, but this might give you a better idea of the problem too.
    Although you tried VLC, I thought you had to do more things to get it to play blu ray.

    Good luck!
    Last edited by cl-Albert; 04-18-2014 at 08:41 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by cl-Albert View Post
    ...Actually, I'm not sure if you can still download trial versions of blu ray software, but this might give you a better idea of the problem too. Although you tried VLC, I thought you had to do more things to get it to play blu ray.
    Good luck!
    Good idea cl-Albert, Colki can try the demo versions of PowerDVD Utlimate 14, which supports blu-ray playback, that is what I use. Here is a link to a 30 day trial download:
    http://www.cyberlink.com/downloads/t...oad_en_US.html

    Edit by cl-Albert: Thanks for the suggestion/post hmscott!
    Last edited by cl-Albert; 04-19-2014 at 01:08 AM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    If you are still having this problem it is the asus software. you need to purchase a program capable of decoding Blu-ray.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •