Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Asus Maximus VI Gene + 4670K @ 4GHz random failures at boot

    Hi,

    I recently upgraded from MSI mobo and 2500K to Maximus VI Gene + 4670K.
    I'm running the setup with CPU turbo @ 4GHz for all cores without touching any voltage controls.
    Only other thing I've changed from the BIOS is turning on XMP profile for my 4+4GB of Corsair Vengeance LP.

    I'm having a problem with this, computer tends to boot and immediately reboot and after forcing computer down and rebooting I've been greeted with overclock failed message (doesn't do this every time).
    If I enter the BIOS and without any changes reboot the computer (from BIOS) my computer boots up fine and Windows 8.1 runs completely stable without any kind of problems, stress tests pass fine and games run like they should and temperatures are fine.

    This behavior is odd as my 2500K ran 4GHz turbo without touching volts perfectly fine. And this 4670K got higher default turbo clock.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Tokens210 PC Specs
    Tokens210 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorI7-4770K
    Memory (part number)F3-2400C10D-16GTX Gskill TridentX (8gbx2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 550TI 1gb
    Sound CardSupreme FX on board
    Storage #12x Samsung Evo 120gb
    Storage #2WD 1TB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech H320
    CaseCoolermaster HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850 80+ Platinum
    OS Windows 7 64-bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    517

    Those chips are totally different so you can't really compare them as your trying

    Haswells also like more voltage then most CPUs in a lot of cases

    Try switching windows power plan to high performance mode, then run the stress tests



    My guess is atleast one of your cores wants more power but doesn't always require it, in which case slightly raising voltage may fix your issue


    Switching the power plan to high performance, will force the CPU to remain at the turbo clock so u can see if it crashes its most likely starving

    I don't remember 100% but I believe the bsod code for voltage is something like 000000000124


    Also as I was saying there different the haswell at 4.0 technically is much faster then the 2500 at 4.0

    Also haswells are touchier on memory so running 4 dimms is more stressful, as well as running them at xmp mode so that could also have upped the voltage required
    Last edited by Tokens210; 04-09-2014 at 03:11 PM.
    CoolerMaster HAF 932 Advanced/ Maximus VI Formula/ I7-4770K/Swiftech H320/ Corsair HX850/ G.Skill Trident X (2x8) 16gb 2400MHz/ 2x 840 EVO 120gb(Raid 0)/ WD 1TB HDD (Backup/Storage)/ EVGA GTX 1gb 560 TI/ Asus 12x bluray combo

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Thanks for the quick answer!

    Switched the power plan to high performance, all cores running 4GHz and 5 tests (Blend) with Prime95 passed.
    Max package temp 61C
    Also passed with In-place large FFTs (5 tests)
    Max temp 65C
    Same goes with small FFTs

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Tokens210 PC Specs
    Tokens210 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorI7-4770K
    Memory (part number)F3-2400C10D-16GTX Gskill TridentX (8gbx2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 550TI 1gb
    Sound CardSupreme FX on board
    Storage #12x Samsung Evo 120gb
    Storage #2WD 1TB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech H320
    CaseCoolermaster HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850 80+ Platinum
    OS Windows 7 64-bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    517

    Hmm, still probly a voltage related issue at least I'd think

    What are you using to monitor temps, also if you have multiple programs able to monitor temps there probly reporting the wrong temps
    Not that I think temps are your issue, so far they seem to be in a really good range

    But core temps are what you want, program like aisuite doesn't show that temp



    Again the most practical guess I'd have is at least 1 core wants a bit more, I have a 4770k which is also a has well, for me core 3 always needs more then the others which requires me to increase the voltage or use a per core setup
    CoolerMaster HAF 932 Advanced/ Maximus VI Formula/ I7-4770K/Swiftech H320/ Corsair HX850/ G.Skill Trident X (2x8) 16gb 2400MHz/ 2x 840 EVO 120gb(Raid 0)/ WD 1TB HDD (Backup/Storage)/ EVGA GTX 1gb 560 TI/ Asus 12x bluray combo

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I used CPUID HWMonitor, core max temps are 62C for core 0 and 1, 61C for core 2, 60C for core 4.

    CPU-Z says my CPU is running 1.12V when running Prime95, if I up it to 1.13 or 1.14V from bios it should do the trick, it's currently set on auto?
    Looks like HWMonitor reports VID 1.124V, max 1.29V, so may be a bit more accurate?
    When I run Prime95 for longer period of time CPU-Z shows VID 1.2 to 1.136V.

    How does BIOS voltage tune work, does CPU still scale down voltage when it runs on lower power saving frequency?
    Main setup: Ryzen 7 1700x @ 3.8GHz + NZXT Kraken x72, ASUS Crosshair VI HERO, DDR4 3600MHz CL15 16GB @ 3400MHZ CL14, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD + 2TB HDD + 3TB external backup drive, ASUS Cerberus GTX 1070 Ti, Corsair Carbide Air 540 Silver, Corsair RM750 PSU, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.
    Laptop: ASUS ROG Strix Scar II GL504GS

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Tokens210 PC Specs
    Tokens210 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorI7-4770K
    Memory (part number)F3-2400C10D-16GTX Gskill TridentX (8gbx2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 550TI 1gb
    Sound CardSupreme FX on board
    Storage #12x Samsung Evo 120gb
    Storage #2WD 1TB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech H320
    CaseCoolermaster HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850 80+ Platinum
    OS Windows 7 64-bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    517

    That's fine for temps and monitoring, just wanted to be sure you weren't only seeing package temps as they tend to be a bit lower then cores temp but you seem fine there

    By default the Asus board allows the CPU core voltage to go as high as 1.250-1.275v if my memory serves right but the board/CPU does allow wiggle room


    As for your question about it stepping up and down, the answer to that is yes and no
    A manual voltage will not step down, an adaptive will, but you'll want to find a stable voltage using manual first, then use the adaptive
    Don't run prime if your using adaptive and your voltage is higher then 1.3 something unless you have a very good cooling as prime95 with has wells can automatically add voltage whenever it wants to due to instructions in both the CPU and prime


    I see you have an antec cooler, I'm not familiar with them but it sounds to be a water cooling solution, every single has well is different, sometime just a little sometimes a lot, but with that being said I'd think you could easily do a little more voltage, just watch our temps, no 90's try to steer as far as u can from there, having temp spikes in the 70-80c range will be fine but you also wanna watch for it sitting at any higher 80's as after that temp most haswells hit a downhill running
    Last edited by Tokens210; 04-09-2014 at 05:18 PM.
    CoolerMaster HAF 932 Advanced/ Maximus VI Formula/ I7-4770K/Swiftech H320/ Corsair HX850/ G.Skill Trident X (2x8) 16gb 2400MHz/ 2x 840 EVO 120gb(Raid 0)/ WD 1TB HDD (Backup/Storage)/ EVGA GTX 1gb 560 TI/ Asus 12x bluray combo

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Ok I'll try that, thanks.

    Yeah this is a closed circuit water cooler, that I've rigged so pump operates 100% speed all the time from case fan plug and fan is operated from CPU fan plug, also I've replaced stock fan with slightly better one.
    Main setup: Ryzen 7 1700x @ 3.8GHz + NZXT Kraken x72, ASUS Crosshair VI HERO, DDR4 3600MHz CL15 16GB @ 3400MHZ CL14, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD + 2TB HDD + 3TB external backup drive, ASUS Cerberus GTX 1070 Ti, Corsair Carbide Air 540 Silver, Corsair RM750 PSU, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.
    Laptop: ASUS ROG Strix Scar II GL504GS

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseRaijintek NYX Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    InFAMAS-ONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by Faravid View Post
    Hi,

    I recently upgraded from MSI mobo and 2500K to Maximus VI Gene + 4670K.
    I'm running the setup with CPU turbo @ 4GHz for all cores without touching any voltage controls.
    Only other thing I've changed from the BIOS is turning on XMP profile for my 4+4GB of Corsair Vengeance LP.

    I'm having a problem with this, computer tends to boot and immediately reboot and after forcing computer down and rebooting I've been greeted with overclock failed message (doesn't do this every time).
    If I enter the BIOS and without any changes reboot the computer (from BIOS) my computer boots up fine and Windows 8.1 runs completely stable without any kind of problems, stress tests pass fine and games run like they should and temperatures are fine.

    This behavior is odd as my 2500K ran 4GHz turbo without touching volts perfectly fine. And this 4670K got higher default turbo clock.

    Any ideas?
    As Tokens said, those chips are totally different. However, it's not that you can't compare just those chips, but you can't really compare the same chip. The maximum overclock you will achieve and the voltage it will require depends on the quality of your chip itself. That's not to say that you have a faulty processor if it won't overclock by much, or if it needs a higher than expected voltage to get there, it's just the luck of the draw. Some CPU's will go way beyond expectations and require a very modest voltage, others really need a kick up the butt and still might not get that high. You could buy two 4770K's for example, and try them both in the same computer, and they will probably overclock to a different degree, or need more or less voltage than the other will.

    I currently have an i5 3570K on my Maximus V GENE. I read a guide that ROG did for overclocking this rig:
    http://rog.asus.com/184142012/maximu...aximus-v-gene/

    The guide says, and I quote: "1.25V is a good starting value that should be enough to get any i5-3570K to 4.5GHz, but this CPU was able to run stably at 1.21V."

    However, I can only get mine up to 4.4GHz and I'm having to set a voltage of 1.34v. The CPU actually draws close to 1.38 under stress testing. I did manage to get it to 4.5GHz, but it wouldn't run at idle under 1.4v and wasn't stable enough to pass Real Bench, so I had to settle at 4.4GHz. This really is the limit for my CPU, some people have gotten them to 5GHz! This is extremely rare though.

    I think ASUS have built an "Auto tune" function into AI Suite 3, I think it's called "4-way optimization". It might be worth using that, stressing it out to check it's stable, and then go into the BIOS and start dropping the voltage from there. AI Suite makes hardware level changes, so the overclock will be applied to the motherboard, so you should see the settings it's saved if you go into the BIOS.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I've upped turbo voltage by very small increase of 0.005 to see if it has an effect on the boot problems, so far no boot failures, I may try some higher clocks later on just for kicks of it with higher voltage boost.
    I'm using adaptive mode with only the turbo voltage increased and full manual mode disabled.
    Main setup: Ryzen 7 1700x @ 3.8GHz + NZXT Kraken x72, ASUS Crosshair VI HERO, DDR4 3600MHz CL15 16GB @ 3400MHZ CL14, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD + 2TB HDD + 3TB external backup drive, ASUS Cerberus GTX 1070 Ti, Corsair Carbide Air 540 Silver, Corsair RM750 PSU, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.
    Laptop: ASUS ROG Strix Scar II GL504GS

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Tokens210 PC Specs
    Tokens210 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorI7-4770K
    Memory (part number)F3-2400C10D-16GTX Gskill TridentX (8gbx2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 550TI 1gb
    Sound CardSupreme FX on board
    Storage #12x Samsung Evo 120gb
    Storage #2WD 1TB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech H320
    CaseCoolermaster HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850 80+ Platinum
    OS Windows 7 64-bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    517

    Nice, good to hear

    I typically would always suggest manual over the 4 way optimization, that's feature doesn't work to well with a lot of haswells

    Mine the only option that doesn't crash the PC is the 4.2 option all the other ones cause immediate crashes, many others have had it happen as well

    Currently my 4770k is at 4.5 with 1.4v




    And as I said comparing a 2500k and a haswell doesn't really work as the 2500/2600ks some were able to do 5ghz on air which I've never seen a haswell do, haswells its all about the heat you can cool and how much ur chip itself needs

    Not to mention due to the newer instruction sets and the way things are handled with haswells even JJ has said it in his videos a haswell clocked at 4-4something is just as fast as a 2500/2600 at 5ghz



    But either way again good to hear ur not having issues anymore also nice to see you got the adaptive figured out, I was going to tell ya to do exactly what you did anyway lol

    By using adaptive and only increasing the turbo voltage you can have windows power plan on balanced and the CPU runs totally like stock Except it can go to 4.0GHz now and both the core speed and voltage will raise or lower

    Switching the plan to high performance will make the CPU stay at 4.0, but for everyday use balanced is the best bet




    My 4770k is running 4.5 with adaptive voltage and balanced power plan and ive had no issues for the few eeks I've had it like that
    Last edited by Tokens210; 04-11-2014 at 10:33 AM.
    CoolerMaster HAF 932 Advanced/ Maximus VI Formula/ I7-4770K/Swiftech H320/ Corsair HX850/ G.Skill Trident X (2x8) 16gb 2400MHz/ 2x 840 EVO 120gb(Raid 0)/ WD 1TB HDD (Backup/Storage)/ EVGA GTX 1gb 560 TI/ Asus 12x bluray combo

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •