Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    93

    Unhappy ASUS GPU Tweak Initialize Failed!?

    I get this message everytime now when I boot up the laptop.
    I always turn the laptop of properly. So what's going on with that software?

    Also, do I need this software if I never plan to tweak \ boost my GPU?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    Well, when I installed version 2.5.2 on my JH, it worked without any problem. I'm still surprised I could super-overclock the 780M from 771 to 900 (and the RAM from 5000 to 6000) without any trouble.

    I just want to know if there is a way to have GPU-tweak start automatically at boot WITHOUT the interface popping-up. (XTU enables itself silently, for example)

    HMScott, do you know?


    Master Po, you don't need GPU-tweak if you don't overclock the GPU.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    78

    Master Po, have you tried reinstalling GPU Tweak? I would try that if you haven't already. You could get away with uninstalling it but it is such a simple way to get significant performance gains, I would make an effort to get it working.
    KoolASUS, yes you can have it pop up without the interface. I have done it by going to the settings tab (third down on the left) and checking the appropriate box.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GPUtweak.PNG 
Views:	102 
Size:	125.7 KB 
ID:	35938

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    Thanks, themeonster, but this way GPU-tweak is still running. When I close the app after a boot, it clears memory and the effect (overclock) is still there. What I want is : a sort of "auto-start, activate overclock and exit" at boot.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    93

    I did a repair on the program, why didn't I think of that... It fixed the problem, didn't need to uninstall, etc.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    78

    Excellent, I'm glad you got it going, Master Po.
    KoolASUS, I see what you mean and I haven't been able to get it to do that. You might try MSI afterburner. Despite the MSI branding, it works fine with our laptops in my experience. It also seems to be more fully featured.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by KoolASUS View Post
    Thanks, themeonster, but this way GPU-tweak is still running. When I close the app after a boot, it clears memory and the effect (overclock) is still there. What I want is : a sort of "auto-start, activate overclock and exit" at boot.
    KoolASUS, no such luck, and the Asus GPU Tweak tool systray app if left running does take system resources, reducing benchmark results - probably the monitoring part taking readings.

    At boot I open it and click the X's to close both the settings/monitoring dialog's.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Master Po View Post
    I did a repair on the program, why didn't I think of that... It fixed the problem, didn't need to uninstall, etc.
    Master Po, glad the Repair worked, I had to remove the hidden pref's/config files to get it working once, long ago on an earlier version, I don't think it had that option back then. I guess Asus added the Repair feature

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post
    KoolASUS, no such luck, and the Asus GPU Tweak tool systray app if left running does take system resources, reducing benchmark results - probably the monitoring part taking readings.

    At boot I open it and click the X's to close both the settings/monitoring dialog's.
    Thanks for the info. It's what I do too : after the boot, I close the program.
    Would MSI afterburner be better ? (Personally I would think that Asus GPU tweak would be more "appropriate" because it's an Asus laptop, or am I wrong ?)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •