Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Question Crosshair V Formula z Pci e malfunction (no power)

    Hello guys i'm new to this forum and if i posted this on the wrong thread please forgive me anyways.. I have some weird issues with the pci express on my asus crosshair formula z motherboard. The the power on the pci e suddenly drops and the graphic card fans stop spinning, It was working fine for like 6 months and now i get random reboots the q code on the board reads FF or 50 and the dram and vga diagnostics led light lights up every time the system freezes, so far i managed to fix the issue by inserting a molex power cable into the motherboard but i think something is broken so do i need to rma the board ? ps the smps, ram and the graphic card works fine i tested it on a different machine and i also tried re flashing the mb bios with the latest firmware

    OS Windows 7 Sp1 64
    Processor:AMD FX-8350 at 4Ghz
    RAM: G.Skill F3-14900CL10-8GBXL X 2 (16)GB (Profile set by D.O.C.P at 1866 Mhz )
    Motherboard: CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z (Bios version 2002) (Updated with bios update tool)
    Graphic Card: Asus NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 4GB
    SMPS CORSAIR CX430
    Last edited by Samson.Xaviers; 04-22-2014 at 06:43 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,686

    Hi Samson.Xaviers and welcome to the Forum. You should list your system specs in your post or your signature so we can better see whats going on.
    The are many great helpers here on the Forum to help you get sorted. Your problems could be your PSU, It maybe dust gotten into your card slot, Did you update your BIOS to 2002 and how did you update it. To start with list your specs.
    It is rather early to RMA the card don't you think?
    That Q-Code 50 is an indication of miss match or failure to recognize your DIMMS. Make sure they are seated correctly and go into your BIOS and check to see if the config settings have changed. If necessary reset to default and reboot. Hope this helps.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 04-22-2014 at 06:02 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    I tried running a stress test on the cpu and gpu for 8hours and it works fine its only when i remove the molex power cable from the motherboard the system freezes and the diagnostic led lights up.. it was never like that before

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array ganji PC Specs
    ganji PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z87 Sabertooth
    Processori7 4770k
    Memory (part number)GSkill TridentX 2400MHz CL10 PC3-19200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980ti ACX 2.0 SC+
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 980ti ACX 2.0 SC+
    MonitorAsus VG28QE x3
    Storage #1Crucial BX100 256Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Evo 250Gb
    CPU CoolerEK Predator 240
    CaseCorsair AIR 540
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova P2 1000w
    Keyboard Coolermaster quickfire pro
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Roccat Kave XTD
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500
    OS Win 10 Pro
    ganji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    901

    Hi Samson and welcome to the R.O.G forum.

    Have you tested a different power supply at all as the CX 430 is not enough to power an oc'd 8350 and a GTX 680 when the 680 requires about 550w. According to your psu's spec's it only has 1x 6+2 PCIE so what cables do you have connected to the gpu's power connection?

    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages..._review,9.html

    The CX430 V2 only has a single 28A-rated 12V rail with which it can output a maximum of 336W; at this price, this amount is plenty. The PSU is also rated to produce 20A from both its 3.3V and 5V rails, and 3A from its 5VSB rail.
    Quoted from this review http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/201...400-599w-psu/4
    Last edited by ganji; 04-22-2014 at 07:31 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Thanks for your reply and no i haven't tested the system with a new smps yet but i'm sure the smps has enough juice to run the graphic card without problems i'm using the 1x 6+2 PCIE and a 4 Pin Molex to 6 Pin PCI-Express Convertor Cable to power the graphic card it was working fine 24*7 for 6 months (i do mine alternate coins) and its working fine now but freezes as soon as i remove the molex power connector from the motherboard that is designed to give extra power to the pci-e slots

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array ganji PC Specs
    ganji PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z87 Sabertooth
    Processori7 4770k
    Memory (part number)GSkill TridentX 2400MHz CL10 PC3-19200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980ti ACX 2.0 SC+
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 980ti ACX 2.0 SC+
    MonitorAsus VG28QE x3
    Storage #1Crucial BX100 256Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Evo 250Gb
    CPU CoolerEK Predator 240
    CaseCorsair AIR 540
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova P2 1000w
    Keyboard Coolermaster quickfire pro
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Roccat Kave XTD
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500
    OS Win 10 Pro
    ganji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    901

    Quote Originally Posted by Samson.Xaviers View Post
    Thanks for your reply and no i haven't tested the system with a new smps yet but i'm sure the smps has enough juice to run the graphic card without problems i'm using the 1x 6+2 PCIE and a 4 Pin Molex to 6 Pin PCI-Express Convertor Cable to power the graphic card it was working fine 24*7 for 6 months (i do mine alternate coins) and its working fine now but freezes as soon as i remove the molex power connector from the motherboard that is designed to give extra power to the pci-e slots
    You're welcome mate, If it was me though my first step would be to try an alternative psu as the CX 430 is below the minimum requirements for both cpu and gpu. I would try at least a 700w psu. The psu is THE most important part of a build so cheapin gout on that should not be an option, If you spend good money on a high quality mobo and other parts but then buy a cheap psu it's asking for trouble.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array TheNerdBench's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    34
    Posts
    434

    working fine 24*7 for 6 months

    I am an electronics tech by degree so I can tell you that this statement is not the best advice to follow Just so we are clear it is NOT unusual for electronic devices to begin to use MORE wattage as they get older...in as little as a week this can happen.

    Hope this helps you to invest in a new PSU


    For trouble-shooting tips see my blog at:



    http://thenerdbench.blogspot.com/p/bench-testing.html



    MB: Crosshair V Formula-Z • CPU: FX-8350 • GPU: Asus Matrix R9 280x • RAM: 8GB of Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (1866)• PSU: Thermaltake DPS Thoughpower 750 Watt • CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Frio Advanced • Keyboard: TT Sports Challanger Ultimate • Mouse: TT Sports Black Element • Case: Thermaltake GT Level 10


  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array TheNerdBench's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    34
    Posts
    434

    First the EZPLUG (molex plug near the PCIe slot nearest the CPU socket) has been implemented on this motherboard to ensure that enough wattage is supplied to the PCIe slots (the standard is that each PCIx16 slot is able to provide 75 watts of power). I know according to the manual this is only needed when using two graphic cards but if you are having the VGA LED on then your graphics cards is pulling a lot of extra power so be sure to keep the EZPLUG populated.

    Secondly as already stated you need to upgrade your PSU for the following reason:
    a) you don't have enough power plugs to properly power your CPU let alone your Graphic Card. The use of "cheater cables" do nothing more than add extra load to a already overload "rail" of the PSU.

    b) Also burning your system is the worst you can do because if you connected a PWM (Power Watt Meter) you would see that your system draws about 140 watts doing nothing and when you stress test your system you are using well over 400 watts (I have a Matrix R9 280X plus a FX-8350 and I draw well over 550 Watts when stress testing).

    With that said I would start with a new PSU...I would suggest the Thermaltake DPS series PSU as they have a USB port where you can monitor the wattage and voltages directly from the PSU).

    I would also reset your memory and maybe try only running one memory module at a time to see if you can get past the DIMM_LED error.

    Meantime makes sure you have the following connectors populated:
    -Aux 4-Pin CPU Power
    -Aux 8-Pin CPU Power
    -EZPlug
    - All PCIe connectors on your graphics card

    Post back with more questions.


    For trouble-shooting tips see my blog at:



    http://thenerdbench.blogspot.com/p/bench-testing.html



    MB: Crosshair V Formula-Z • CPU: FX-8350 • GPU: Asus Matrix R9 280x • RAM: 8GB of Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (1866)• PSU: Thermaltake DPS Thoughpower 750 Watt • CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Frio Advanced • Keyboard: TT Sports Challanger Ultimate • Mouse: TT Sports Black Element • Case: Thermaltake GT Level 10


  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    The issue was resolved after a bios flash. [BIOS V 2101 2014/05/22]

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Thank you for posting back with the outcome.

    Enjoy your system
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •