Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 63
  1. #51
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    Are we sure this isn't just a bug in AIDA64?
    Not sure what other programs we can use to test read/write speeds of RAM.....
    1700X B350/RX570 STRIX

  2. #52
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Yeah I'm 100% positive that it's the bios and not the software.

  3. #53
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Mine is even worse. I have G.SKILL Trident X PC 2400 DDR3 RAM and I'm only getting 36K MB/sec



    BTW I only get an option to Save & Reset there is no option to just Save. So I can't just change and save and manually power off, the only way I can do it is to Save & Reset and this doesn't do the trick.

    I'm on R4BE Board Latest Beta BIOS 0801. I even flashed BIOS 0701 to see if that changes anything and my speeds are really bad compared to the rest of you.

    Intel 4930K i7 OC 4.5GHz
    Corsair H90 CPU Water Cooler
    Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
    2x 8GB G.SKILL Trident X 2400MHz 10-12-12-30
    MSi GeForce GTX N770 2Gb
    Seagate 256GB SSD
    EVGA 1000 P2 PSU
    Corsair 400R Case
    Last edited by RavenousSix; 08-08-2014 at 03:52 AM.

  4. #54
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array twisted1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    72
    Posts
    815

    Quote Originally Posted by RavenousSix View Post
    Mine is even worse. I have G.SKILL Trident X PC 2400 DDR3 RAM and I'm only getting 36K MB/sec



    BTW I only get an option to Save & Reset there is no option to just Save. So I can't just change and save and manually power off, the only way I can do it is to Save & Reset and this doesn't do the trick.

    I'm on R4BE Board Latest Beta BIOS 0801. I even flashed BIOS 0701 to see if that changes anything and my speeds are really bad compared to the rest of you.

    Intel 4930K i7 OC 4.5GHz
    Corsair H90 CPU Water Cooler
    Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
    2x 8GB G.SKILL Trident X 2400MHz 10-12-12-30
    MSi GeForce GTX N770 2Gb
    Seagate 256GB SSD
    EVGA 1000 P2 PSU
    Corsair 400R Case
    Since you're only running dual channel you can't really expect better read performance then what you're getting. The write performance is a bit low though.

  5. #55
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by twisted1 View Post
    Since you're only running dual channel you can't really expect better read performance then what you're getting. The write performance is a bit low though.
    Totally didn't take that into account. You're right. I need to swap out for a Quad-Channel kit. Can't believe I overlooked this.
    Last edited by RavenousSix; 08-09-2014 at 12:46 AM.

  6. #56
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Come on asus, we still need that bug fix...

  7. #57
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    655

    Wonder if it's something to do with the microcode and that's why ASUS is on that hush-hush status.
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


  8. #58
    Derp Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Any new BIOS out to fix this issue ?

    Read / Write speeds for RAM on my 4960x with a BE are worse than my 3970X with a RIVE ;(

  9. #59
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    It ends up being the mem divs in general that have the bug not the straps.
    Or maybe it's a bug with the straps, I don't know.
    100mhz strap has full bandwith at 21.33 mem div, has bug on 24 mem div.
    125mhz strap has full bandwith at 18.66 mem div, has bug on 21.33 mem div.

    Trick is to clock the bclk to get anything.
    I'm using 114mhz @ 100mhz strap, for slightly over 2400mhz mem with no bandwith bug.
    Which I'm ok with, though it is a shame that 2600+ at that same bclk has a bandwith bug .
    The easy way is to use the 125mhz strap and start around 2333, but you lose cpu idle voltages.

    Pic below is an example of the bandwith bug on the 125mhz strap.



    Edit:
    @tistou77
    Hey..., with the 1st post of yours, 1st page btw, 2nd pic.
    You have a pic of a 4930k using the 21.33x mem div (32:3 in aida), 2666mhz mem.
    With no bandwith bug, I wonder how the heck you did that.
    I can understand the higher bandwith with yours compared to mine, mine wasn't tightend and the cpu was clocked low.
    But it's totally obvious to me that mine has the bug and yours doesn't.
    And if you can do a complete power off and still retain that write speed I'm wondering why...
    I think that's interesting, it would be cool if you could get back here and share your exacts settings with that setup (make sure to re-check it 1st).
    The bios ver and a cmos profile would help me, I wouldn't mind loading it up and checking it out on my end.

    Oh and was that really the r4be or was it the r4e?
    Aida said it was r4e..., and if that's the case that means the r4be is worse off...

    Edit:
    Looks like the x99 r5e is affected too, not 100% sure though with the low clock, but it does look like it.
    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...review,14.html
    Last edited by NEOAethyr; 08-29-2014 at 09:07 PM.

  10. #60
    Derp Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Has this been fixed in a BIOS update yet ? ...

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •