Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 87
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Schenges View Post
    Yeah I'm taking it back tomorrow, it's BS. I paid a lot of money for the worlds best notebook graphics gpu... all the time. Not just once in awhile and use the integrated card most of the time.
    You might want to put a little more time into figuring out how to control the GPU thing, all Nvidia GTX notebooks are going to be using Optimus, so you will need to adapt to Optimus whatever notebook you end up keeping.

    Asus just released this new range of G750's, so improvements in software will follow, if you give Asus / Nvidia your feedback they can respond with a fix. It may seem like they are just trying to frustrate you, but they do want you to be happy with their work

    Others seem to be able to get it running ok, so have some patience and work it out. G750's are great notebooks, and even though it is a pain to figure out how to get individual apps to only run on GTX, the battery benefits and gaming on battery are improved using Optimus - the GTX all but shuts down on battery so gaming isn't good on GTX on battery - but it still pulls lots of juice so battery run time is less.

    If you have 15-30 days to return, you might want to keep it a bit longer and use the time to adapt.
    Last edited by hmscott; 04-23-2014 at 11:55 PM.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Quote Originally Posted by HomieOC View Post
    Gotti boi tip worked for me.. by going into nvdia control panel
    Good, glad it worked for you
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Quote Originally Posted by Schenges View Post
    Yeah I'm taking it back tomorrow, it's BS. I paid a lot of money for the worlds best notebook graphics gpu... all the time. Not just once in awhile and use the integrated card most of the time.
    Did you change both settings (4&5) in NVIDIA control panel?
    This worked for "HomieOC"


    Quote Originally Posted by HomieOC View Post
    Gotti boi tip worked for me.. by going into nvdia control panel
    Last edited by GottiBoi55; 04-24-2014 at 01:03 AM.
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    I changed the global settings in the NVIDIA control panel to High Performance NVIDIA Processor and presto!

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array Honami PC Specs
    Honami PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorCore i7-6900K @ 4.0 Ghz
    Memory (part number)64 GB Kingston HyperX Predator DDR4 3000Mhz (4X16)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
    Sound CardASUS Strix Raid Pro
    MonitorDELL U2715H
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GBX2 Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i
    CaseCorsair Graphite 760T
    Power SupplySeasonic Platinum 860W
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Specurum
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 700
    Headset Sennheiser HD8-DJ
    Mouse Pad Roccat Hiro+
    Headset/Speakers Microlab SOLO 9C
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    I'm facing diffrent problem. After reboot\Power on the laptop the Nvidia settings is useless and i need to reset to defaults and reconfigure again in order to use Nvidia GPU.
    Very strange situation.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Honami View Post
    I'm facing diffrent problem. After reboot\Power on the laptop the Nvidia settings is useless and i need to reset to defaults and reconfigure again in order to use Nvidia GPU.
    Very strange situation.
    Are you saving your Nvidia changes? The saved changes should stick between reboots.
    Last edited by hmscott; 04-24-2014 at 11:25 PM.

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Honestly, what are you missing if you use the Intel card for the 2D stuff?

    I've got a G750JM and every 3D game uses nVidia. I'm fine with that since it's more economical. Why pay for the extra power if you don't need it?

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Vastari View Post
    Honestly, what are you missing if you use the Intel card for the 2D stuff?

    I've got a G750JM and every 3D game uses nVidia. I'm fine with that since it's more economical. Why pay for the extra power if you don't need it?
    It isn't just the 2D stuff, it is all the 3D stuff that Windows uses now. Everything is GPU accelerated, and by default it uses the Intel on CPU Graphics.

    The Intel on CPU graphics heats up the CPU, and it is the same die as the CPU elements, so you are generating a lot more heat that causes the fan to run more often, and the CPU temps on the new Optimus G750's are much higher.

    In fact, I think the hot measurements are when the Intel GPU is in play, and the cool CPU readings are when the GTX GPU is in use.

    There is no reason to switch the GPU load to the CPU die while on AC, and it is only helpful on Battery for longer run times.

    Why Nvidia/Intel don't just switch Intel on on Battery and GTX on while on AC makes no sense.

    Why put the user through all these configuration machinations just to get the best performance on AC?

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post
    You might want to put a little more time into figuring out how to control the GPU thing, all Nvidia GTX notebooks are going to be using Optimus, so you will need to adapt to Optimus whatever notebook you end up keeping.

    Asus just released this new range of G750's, so improvements in software will follow, if you give Asus / Nvidia your feedback they can respond with a fix. It may seem like they are just trying to frustrate you, but they do want you to be happy with their work

    Others seem to be able to get it running ok, so have some patience and work it out. G750's are great notebooks, and even though it is a pain to figure out how to get individual apps to only run on GTX, the battery benefits and gaming on battery are improved using Optimus - the GTX all but shuts down on battery so gaming isn't good on GTX on battery - but it still pulls lots of juice so battery run time is less.

    If you have 15-30 days to return, you might want to keep it a bit longer and use the time to adapt.
    The problem with Optimus is that it routes all graphics through the Intel integrated graphics which means that it breaks things like color profile support, digital vibrance, and any other nVidia specific 2D features. There are things that, fundamentally, cannot be fixed in software because it is a problem with the entire design and not a software bug.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by c3141rog View Post
    The problem with Optimus is that it routes all graphics through the Intel integrated graphics which means that it breaks things like color profile support, digital vibrance, and any other nVidia specific 2D features. There are things that, fundamentally, cannot be fixed in software because it is a problem with the entire design and not a software bug.
    Have you tried those features on a G750JM/JS/JZ to confirm they are broken? I doubt Nvidia would leave them as options in their control panel if they were installed on Optimus and it didn't work.

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •