Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array graphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    235

    Project "Rampage"

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	board.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	419.4 KB 
ID:	35529

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	north bridge.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	358.1 KB 
ID:	35530

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	south bridge.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	449.2 KB 
ID:	35531

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	south bridge2.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	435.1 KB 
ID:	35532

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	southbridge x79 2.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	547.9 KB 
ID:	35533

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	southbridge x79.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	541.4 KB 
ID:	35534

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thermal grease.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	417.8 KB 
ID:	35535

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	waterblocks.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	461.8 KB 
ID:	35536

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	water bloack.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	499.9 KB 
ID:	35537
    Last edited by graphic; 04-06-2014 at 03:30 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    What is that?

    Had my first build for about a month now. Got the same board as you. What are you adding an aftermarket heat sink to? If that's even what you are doing.

    Thanks
    Bongo

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array graphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    235

    congrats on your new board, I have had my board here home
    for at least a month... and looks like it will be another month
    before I fire here up..

    XSPC full cover water block........ vrm area and south bridge
    I am really enjoying my new dslr,
    still have allot to learn

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cpu block.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	432.1 KB 
ID:	35538



    I have to say that the quality of XSPC looks great
    Last edited by graphic; 04-06-2014 at 03:33 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array graphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    235

    Hello everyone, I need some advice please...
    I understand sometimes it's hard to comment
    or try to say your opinion when someone's mind
    is all ready made up......

    Perhap's six months ago I decided to upgrade my cpu
    on my formular from the 3930k to the 4930k and have
    been happy with it, it's sitting at 4.5 Mhz as I need too
    much voltage after that so it's 1.4v now....
    I still have my old 3930k sitting on the shelf and was going to
    get some new ram for my new build ( CMD32GX3M4A2400C10 )
    so was thinking getting a new cpu (4930k) with ram from amazon
    with the ram it would cost little bit more for
    the same ram but 2133Mhz onlly here down under.......
    here's a screen shot of my old 3930k when it was in the formular...
    only booted like that once just to see if it would boot, normally I think
    it ran comfortably 4.6 to 4.7 at about 1.4 volts ....

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2448485

    the reason I have sorta chosen my current path is I didn't want to
    reformat or break down my current system and sorta future proof
    myself if my new build is going to give me any sort of problems .....
    once I get my new build up and running and happy with it, I might consider
    selling my old build as a whole or in parts ?????
    Thank's for your time and any comment's are appreciated
    I have been doing a bit of research and understand that it does rely allot on
    how good the cpu is when it comes to how high can push the ram .....
    thanks again...

    Graphic

    http://www.imagebam.com/image/ffe4cc180340720

  5. #5
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    Sorry graphic..I don't quite understand...you got a 4930K in the formula right? a 3930 on the shelf....you want another 4930?

    RIVBE with IB-E and 2400+RAM and RIVF wit SB-E and 2133 or 2400 max if you think the IMC can do it...would be my advice..2133 sweet spot for not having problems on SB-E...

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array graphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    235

    hey, Arne, yeah you understood correctly.
    I currently have 2133 in the RIVF, so really
    wanted to get faster ram this time round
    I was thinking about swapping the cpu's in the RIVIF
    but I don't really wan't to do that, so ur suggesting
    if I was going to stick with the 3930k the 2133mhz
    would be the best bet right? that is the thing that I
    don't know if the IMC on the 3930k can handle 2400mhz

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array graphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    235

    a little progress

    no cpu under cpu block yet, getting ready to do my tubing....

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	water block.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	777.9 KB 
ID:	35539
    Last edited by graphic; 04-06-2014 at 03:35 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    Quote Originally Posted by graphic View Post
    so ur suggesting
    if I was going to stick with the 3930k the 2133mhz
    would be the best bet right? that is the thing that I
    don't know if the IMC on the 3930k can handle 2400mhz
    Well an easy thing to do would be to try and OC the memory a bit and see if the IMC on your CPU can handle 2400 you could try to leave the timings as they are and up VDIMM to 1.675 or 1.7 and VCCSA to 1.2 for a quick experiment and set 2400 or try and run 2400 12-12-12-34 or something like that....basically test 2400 with the RAM you have for a quick test...if the IMC can do it then sure get a 2400 kit or just leave what you have OCd....

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array graphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    235

    hi Arne Saknussemm , and thankyou for your reponse,
    I have decided since I allready have my old 3930k collecting dust
    I will use that and see how I go, I'm in no rush since I have my formular
    running fine, the only thing I will be changing in my old build is my two
    480 rads that will go in the new build they will get replaced with a xspc
    240 rad and the two 680's in the formular will go in the black edition and
    they will get replaced with my old gtx280's
    If I find that I can't get my 3930k to play nice in the black edition then I
    will go out and get a new 4930k

  10. #10
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    Heh graphic...have I got this right...you have a 4930K in RIVE and will put 3930K in RIVBE? that should be the other way round....get the 4930 in the RIVBE and stick the 3930 in the RIVE...this way round they are made for each other...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •