Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    First Time OC + BSOD

    Motherboard model: Maximus VI Formula
    UEFI Version: 1302
    CPU: i7 4770k
    Memory kit part number (s) and amount in GB: 16GB (2x8GB) 1866 (CMD16GX3M2A1866C9)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 780Ti 3GB
    SSD/HDDs/Optical drives: Samsung SSD (500GB), WD Black (1TB)
    PSU: Corsair RM1000
    USB Devices (model/version number): Logitech G-15 Keyboard, Razer Naga Hex Mouse, Logitech Webcam/Mic
    Monitor: ASUS PB278Q (x3)
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i
    PC CASE: Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
    Operating system: Microsoft Activated yes/no? Windows 8.1 Pro x64 (Activated)
    Drivers Installed (include version):
    Asus AI Suite III V1.00.56
    Intel Rapid Storage Technology 12.9.0.1001
    Realtek Audio Driver V6.0.1.7023
    Intel Graphics Accelerator Driver V10.18.10.3262
    Intel LAN Driver V18.5.54.0
    Bluetooth Driver V12.0.0.8050
    Any third Party temp/voltage software installed: CPU-Z, Core Temp, HW Monitor
    System Overclocked (provide details)? 4 Way Optimized (see below)

    Issue

    Hey Guys,

    I'm pretty new to overclocking, but I've been building my own PCs for a while now and I wanted to give it a try. Since I'm new I decided to start in AI Suite III with the 4 way Optimization. I chose 4200 MHz for CPU Level and left the rest alone.

    Everything went fine until I ran Prime 95 for about 10 minutes and I had a BSOD. Temps were 66-71 degree range so I don't think that was the issue. Rebooted fine, but after a few minutes of another stress test it BSOD'd again (same temps). I can do normal computing just fine (like posting this) but stress testing gets me a BSOD.

    Any advice is much appreciated.
    Last edited by Brack; 04-23-2014 at 02:48 PM.

  2. #2
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    4-way Optimization sets the CPU voltage based on the average needed voltage of hundreds of sampled CPUs. If you CPU is below average it will require more voltage. Manually increase CPU voltage a bit and retest.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Currently it looks like I'm at 1.15v. What is a bit? Should I try at something like 1.17, or 1.2?

    Sorry, just not sure what is too much.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,783

    Prime 95 is not the best choice for testing 24/7 overclock stability.
    I would suggest running a couple of RealBench (benchmark) passes to determine this.
    Try 1.25v for a 4200MHz overclock, if stability is achieved, you can further test with lower voltage.

    Monitor your CPU temps closely when running any stability test.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Thanks, it seems to be working well at 1.25v. At least I now have something stable to start from.
    Last edited by Brack; 04-23-2014 at 04:55 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Well I managed a stable 4.5 GHz at 1.3v. I think that will suffice for now.

    I ran 3D mark and it is reporting my Maximum Turbo Core Clock as 4500MHz, but now my Reported Stock Core Clock is 800MHz when it used to be 3500MHz. Is this drop in the stock clock speed normal? Could it have something to do with the EPU or Digi+ settings?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    What you're seeing there is Speed Step (EIST). When Speed Step is enabled, Core clock drops, usually to 800MHz, when idling. Bench and monitoring programs often sense core speed at idle rather than interrupt the higher workload. To get more consistent reports, disable EIST in BIOS. (Keep Turbo enabled for the overclocking.) With EIST disabled, the CPU will not be able to reduce power and will run a little hotter at idle.

    Those settings and many others are discussed in

    http://rog.asus.com/242142013/labels/rog-exclusive/maximus-vi-series-uefi-guide-for-overclocking/

    and

    http://rog.asus.com/254052013/maximu...-motherboards/

    Have fun with it.

    Jeff

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Thanks for the information Jeff. It makes more sense now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •