Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    G750JS Network issues

    Hey guys,

    I've just picked up a G750JS yesterday, and I'm fairly happy with it.

    I do however have an issue where it doesnt seem to want to stay connected to the internet, either wireless or wired.

    Its fine when playing D3 for example, but when using the web browser (chrome) and/or downloading files it drops connection all the time (connection to the router is fine, but internet just goes inactive).

    Other computers on the same router are having no issues.

    I've done all of the updates etc.

    Any ideas?


    Thanks,

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    226

    enabling QoS may be ?
    Laptop : ASUS G750JW : i7 4700HQ - 16Gb - 2Tb HDD - GTX 765M OC (+135/500) - Full HD Matte - Win 8.1
    Retiered : Toshiba L670 i5 560M/8Gb Corsair/1TB/HD5650 1Gb @ 625/800 /WD 1Tb USB3/Win7

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Belgemine View Post
    Hey guys,

    I've just picked up a G750JS yesterday, and I'm fairly happy with it.

    I do however have an issue where it doesnt seem to want to stay connected to the internet, either wireless or wired.

    Its fine when playing D3 for example, but when using the web browser (chrome) and/or downloading files it drops connection all the time (connection to the router is fine, but internet just goes inactive).
    Other computers on the same router are having no issues.
    I've done all of the updates etc.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks,
    There are two things that have helped, besides updating the router firmware and Windows drivers to the latest Wireless drivers for your card.

    1) In the router enable WMM

    2) In the router set Wide channel mode, change from 20/40 to 40.

    It would help to know what make/model router and wireless card you are using.

    Let us know if that helps.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I have a technicolor TG589, its a crappy ISP router - i use it because i can't seem to find another router that's compatible with VDSL.

    I cant seem to find the options you've mentioned, this is about all i can see.

    Configuration

    WLAN Enable: Yes

    Interface Enabled: Yes

    Power Reduction Enabled: No

    Physical Address:

    Network Name (SSID): TELECOM9DBE2E

    Interface Type: 802.11b/g/n

    Actual Speed [Mbps]: 65

    Band: 2.4GHz

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Belgemine View Post
    I have a technicolor TG589, its a crappy ISP router - i use it because i can't seem to find another router that's compatible with VDSL.

    I cant seem to find the options you've mentioned, this is about all i can see.

    Configuration

    WLAN Enable: Yes

    Interface Enabled: Yes

    Power Reduction Enabled: No

    Physical Address:

    Network Name (SSID): TELECOM9DBE2E

    Interface Type: 802.11b/g/n

    Actual Speed [Mbps]: 65

    Band: 2.4GHz
    Not a lot to work with

    There must be another configuration area, but you are likely locked out of it, only the ISP can get in. It's usually a pain to get them to make configuration settings, but sometimes I have been able to get them to set the configuration password to one we both know, you could try calling and asking how to proceed to make the settings changes I listed above.

    In those kind of situations I recommend disabling the Wifi on the ISP router - if possible, and get your own Wireless router/access point that you can plug in to the ISP router LAN ethernet and use your own Wireless instead of the ISP wireless.

    Move to 5Ghz, if your G750 card supports it.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Thanks for that, I think i've just found a router that would do the trick ASUS DSL-N66U.

    I don't think its a wireless issue though, has even when its plugged into the router i have the same issue.

    At the moment what I'm doing it wired only, and ever 2 to 3 mins i have to un plug and re plug it to get it to do something.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Belgemine View Post
    Thanks for that, I think i've just found a router that would do the trick ASUS DSL-N66U.

    I don't think its a wireless issue though, has even when its plugged into the router i have the same issue.

    At the moment what I'm doing it wired only, and ever 2 to 3 mins i have to un plug and re plug it to get it to do something.
    Missed that, "or wired", that does change things.

    DSL automatically disconnects and reconnects based on usage, it is likely something to do with that.

    If it was just ethernet or wireless we could blame the G750 interface affected, but since it is both it is likely the DSL router WAN configuration.

    It has been a while, but I think I used to set it to persistent connection, set Max Idle Time to 0 - always connected - and enable Keep Alive.

    If those settings options aren't available there were systray apps that would do a ping keepalive to keep the connection open while idle.

    Like these:
    http://dsl.software.informer.com/dow...ve-connection/

    I haven't tried any of those, or had a DSL connection for a long time, so be sure and read reviews and check the downloads carefully before opening them.

    DSL disconnects because a connection keeps a resource allocated to answer the DSL connection at the ISP, so to be a good user you should set the systray app to stop holding the connection open when you don't need it. Usually it is enough to shutdown Windows, but if you keep Windows on all the time - then use the systray app to release the connection when you don't need it.

    The Asus DSL DSL-N66U router looks cool
    Last edited by hmscott; 04-25-2014 at 02:29 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    So, after a lot of mucking around and trail and error - I've discovered the problem.

    Turns out that windows 8.1 does something odd with the DNS settings, which is why it effects both wired and wireless.

    For anyone who has this issue, I fixed it by turning off auto find DNS and loading in 8.8.8.8 as the primary and 8.8.4.4 as the alternative.

    Thanks for your input guys

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Belgemine View Post
    So, after a lot of mucking around and trail and error - I've discovered the problem.

    Turns out that windows 8.1 does something odd with the DNS settings, which is why it effects both wired and wireless.

    For anyone who has this issue, I fixed it by turning off auto find DNS and loading in 8.8.8.8 as the primary and 8.8.4.4 as the alternative.

    Thanks for your input guys
    Good to know, thanks Belgemine

    Is this the thread you found, or do you have another link?

    http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...tpronetworking

    "Problem Solved: It is a DNS issue....With the upgrade from 8 to 8.1 Windows now handles DNS differently.

    The solution is to Change your DNS to the Google Public Setting...I have done this and haven't had a problem since. I have even confirmed this fix with my ISP and they seemed surprised that I didn't know about it.

    So: Step 1 Control Panel---Network and Sharing Center---Change adapter settings

    Step 2 Select the connection you are using...ie Wifi or LAN

    Step 3 Click on the networking tab. Click on internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) and the Properties

    Step 4 Click on Avanced and then the DNS tab

    Step 5: Uncheck the "obtain DNS server address automatically" and check the "Use the following DNS server address"

    Step 6 Use the following Google DNS settings ....Preferred DNS Server 8.8.8.8

    ...Alternative DNS Server 8.8.4.4.

    Step 7 Click OK and restart you network connection for changes to be applied."


    There must be a router configuration element too, because I haven't needed to play with setting a fixed DNS configuration, DNS servers are automatically picked up through DHCP from the router over the LAN, and the router gets the ISP DNS servers automatically through DHCP from/through the ISP router/switch.
    Last edited by hmscott; 04-26-2014 at 09:31 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Yup that's the one.

    I've convinced the mrs that I still need to get a new router though :P

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •