Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I don't really know that it works quite like that. I guess it's your gamble, but you may buy a second 32GB kit or whatever combination of kits to equate to 64, but one, some, all, or none of the additional RAM sticks could work. It is really just a gamble and luck of the particular bins matching up. Someone more knowledgable will inevitably chime in hopefully, but all the literature guidelines and reviews recommend buying the size kit you want right up front.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    7
    Posts
    458

    Quote Originally Posted by stim View Post
    It is better with 8GB i think, it’s also 16gb but later i can buy more of this and fill up all 8 slots. It is then 64GB total.

    If i choose 4GBx4 and want 64gb later this mem will be useless? Correct me if I wrong.
    No, it doesn't work like that. You shouldn't mix kits. You should never mix kits like that. If you want to put 64GB in, then you'll need to put a 64GB kit in, or you may have memory issues. If you want 16GB now, and 64GB later, you will still end up with 16GB left over.
    Motherboard: RIVE (3602 bios)
    CPU: Intel 3930K @4646MHz
    OS Drive: 2 X Samsung 840 PRO (Raid 0)
    Storage Drive: 2 X 1.5TB WD Caviar Black RAID 0, 2 X 3TB WD Caviar Red, Kingston V100 256GB SSD
    Memory: 64GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z (F3-12800CL10Q2-64GBZL)
    GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX580 @795MHz - 1536MB GDDR5
    PSU: OCZ ZX1250
    Cooling: Phantek PH-TC14PE
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64. (EUFI)

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    I order this tomorrow, when my friend on my local store is back. http://www.crucial.com/store/partspe...1609es2lx0&cpe
    It is singel 8Gb and will be just fine.

    Melting Point: "If you want 16GB now, and 64GB later, you will still end up with 16GB left over."
    What du do you mean with "you will still end up with 16GB left over"?

    One kit 8GBx2 is 16GB, and 3 more is 64GB. I dont need to put a 64GB kit to get 64GB. Trust me on this one

    I report later with screenshots when i have this working.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    7
    Posts
    458

    Quote Originally Posted by stim View Post
    One kit 8GBx2 is 16GB, and 3 more is 64GB. I dont need to put a 64GB kit to get 64GB. Trust me on this one
    You do on the X79 platform, trust every expert here on this. They'll all tell you the same thing. Don't mix ram kits on the X79 platform. Just because a 8GB x 2 kit work in dual channel, doesn't mean it will work in quad channel when you plug in another 8GB x 2 kit.

    Also, the memory you mentioned is 1.35V memory. I'd make sure it's compatible with the RIVBE before I purchased it.
    Last edited by Melting Point; 04-27-2014 at 03:18 PM.
    Motherboard: RIVE (3602 bios)
    CPU: Intel 3930K @4646MHz
    OS Drive: 2 X Samsung 840 PRO (Raid 0)
    Storage Drive: 2 X 1.5TB WD Caviar Black RAID 0, 2 X 3TB WD Caviar Red, Kingston V100 256GB SSD
    Memory: 64GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z (F3-12800CL10Q2-64GBZL)
    GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX580 @795MHz - 1536MB GDDR5
    PSU: OCZ ZX1250
    Cooling: Phantek PH-TC14PE
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64. (EUFI)

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Some things are learned the hard way.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    7
    Posts
    458

    Yep. *sigh*
    Motherboard: RIVE (3602 bios)
    CPU: Intel 3930K @4646MHz
    OS Drive: 2 X Samsung 840 PRO (Raid 0)
    Storage Drive: 2 X 1.5TB WD Caviar Black RAID 0, 2 X 3TB WD Caviar Red, Kingston V100 256GB SSD
    Memory: 64GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z (F3-12800CL10Q2-64GBZL)
    GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX580 @795MHz - 1536MB GDDR5
    PSU: OCZ ZX1250
    Cooling: Phantek PH-TC14PE
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64. (EUFI)

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Well im not order 8GBx2 kit anymore. Singel 8GB should be just fine. No need to put in 64GB kit.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    7
    Posts
    458

    The point we're making is, aside for the mixing of RAM kits issue, is that X79 is quad channel. If you populate 4 slots with 2GB of RAM, you'll get much better performance than populating 1 slot with 8GB of RAM, because the CPU will read from all 4 slots at once.
    Motherboard: RIVE (3602 bios)
    CPU: Intel 3930K @4646MHz
    OS Drive: 2 X Samsung 840 PRO (Raid 0)
    Storage Drive: 2 X 1.5TB WD Caviar Black RAID 0, 2 X 3TB WD Caviar Red, Kingston V100 256GB SSD
    Memory: 64GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z (F3-12800CL10Q2-64GBZL)
    GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX580 @795MHz - 1536MB GDDR5
    PSU: OCZ ZX1250
    Cooling: Phantek PH-TC14PE
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64. (EUFI)

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Melting Point: How is youre 64GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z below Phantek PH-TC14PE?

    I have same cooler with RIVE but removed it and replaced it with 120 pwm fans. That 120 fans touching my mem card and almost also cooler.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    7
    Posts
    458

    The G.skill memory fits nicely under the cooler, but the front fan is mounted a little higher than it should be to accommodate it. The fans on the Phantek PH-TC14PE are 140mm fans, so be carefull with your temps if you're only running 120mm fans on it.

    One problem, I can't get all the memory stick out with the cooler mounted, I have to remove it. But I don't need to remove my RAM that often, so it's really not an issue.
    Motherboard: RIVE (3602 bios)
    CPU: Intel 3930K @4646MHz
    OS Drive: 2 X Samsung 840 PRO (Raid 0)
    Storage Drive: 2 X 1.5TB WD Caviar Black RAID 0, 2 X 3TB WD Caviar Red, Kingston V100 256GB SSD
    Memory: 64GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z (F3-12800CL10Q2-64GBZL)
    GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX580 @795MHz - 1536MB GDDR5
    PSU: OCZ ZX1250
    Cooling: Phantek PH-TC14PE
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64. (EUFI)

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •