Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array dorianbz PC Specs
    dorianbz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus RAMPAGE IV
    Processor4930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 8G (x2) 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 2080 TI OC
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse Razer naga
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Unhappy Not satisfied by the temperatures

    Hi community,

    To begin my configuration :
    ASUS RAMPAGE IV EXTREME
    I7 4930K @3.4 OC at 4.4
    2x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400 Mhz
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Superclocked



    I owned a news nice pc since 3 weeks.
    In the early days I looked naively temperature provided by ASUS.
    "Cool, 45 degrees full load"

    Finally I discovered the core temp, and I disappointed.
    72 degree full load.
    I must say that I overclocked the processor with a vcore of 1.300.

    The temperature is it normal for watercooling?

    2x140 mm fans are placed at the top with the incoming air for watercooling and one 200 mm fan to the HDD.
    There is a fan to the rear.

    How can I improve the cooling?

    Thanks for help

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Antronman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    1,374

    It depends on the chip.
    You could be overvolting. Or you just have one of the worst chips in the history of X79.
    Say hi to the next generation.

    Peace is a lie, there is only Passion
    Through passion, I gain strength
    Through strength, I gain victory
    Through victory, my chains are broken
    The Republic of Gamers shall free me

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array dorianbz PC Specs
    dorianbz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus RAMPAGE IV
    Processor4930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 8G (x2) 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 2080 TI OC
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse Razer naga
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Really?

    I lowered the default vcore because it was much more high

    Maybe I can increase the cooling process by changing the stock fans of add 2 more fans to make a push pull.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Heini PC Specs
    Heini PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus SABERTOOTH Z170 MARK 1
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ (2 x 16GB) F4-3000C14D
    Graphics Card #1Evga 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCooler Master HAF XB EVO
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 1000W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 (Brown Cherry MX)
    Mouse Secret (Ducky)
    Headset Sennheiser HD 580
    Mouse Pad EVGA TORQ
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win10 Pro 64
    Heini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    600

    Quote Originally Posted by dorianbz View Post
    2x140 mm fans are placed at the top with the incoming air for watercooling and one 200 mm fan to the HDD.
    There is a fan to the rear.
    How can I improve the cooling?
    I had similar problem when a cooler mfg said to have fans incoming. On a whim I reversed the w/c fans to exhaust and the cpu and gpu temps dropped to normal range. It just didn't make sense to push the hot air from the radiator back into the case. It may be worth a try?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array dorianbz PC Specs
    dorianbz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus RAMPAGE IV
    Processor4930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 8G (x2) 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 2080 TI OC
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse Razer naga
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Quote Originally Posted by Heini View Post
    I had similar problem when a cooler mfg said to have fans incoming. On a whim I reversed the w/c fans to exhaust and the cpu and gpu temps dropped to normal range. It just didn't make sense to push the hot air from the radiator back into the case. It may be worth a try?
    What do you mean? The fan pulled the air from the radiator? I could try indeed.


    Push / pull should yield an improvement when compared to the same RPM with one set of Fans...what size of Rad? Generally increasing Rad Real Estate and fans helps
    My rad has the size of two 120 mm fan side by side. (I made a mistake it's not 140mm but 120 mm)
    http://www.coolermaster.com/cooling/...r/seidon-240m/

    That does seem a bit high for that clock and voltage. What is your ambit temp? what are your idle temps? Typically the fans and rads will bring the water temp in your loop to ambit temp. So if the air outside the case is cooler that the air inside the case your water temp will drop and so should your cpu temp.
    My IDLE core temp are about 31°c and ambiant temp 20°c

    Of course this is the temps of the core, the package temp is different and the cpu temp provided by asus is different again.
    I don't know where the sensors are placed.
    The Tjunction of cores are 95°C

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Heini PC Specs
    Heini PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus SABERTOOTH Z170 MARK 1
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ (2 x 16GB) F4-3000C14D
    Graphics Card #1Evga 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCooler Master HAF XB EVO
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 1000W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 (Brown Cherry MX)
    Mouse Secret (Ducky)
    Headset Sennheiser HD 580
    Mouse Pad EVGA TORQ
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win10 Pro 64
    Heini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    600

    Quote Originally Posted by dorianbz View Post
    What do you mean? The fan pulled the air from the radiator? I could try indeed.
    My rad has the size of two 120 mm fan side by side. (I made a mistake it's not 140mm but 120 mm)
    http://www.coolermaster.com/cooling/...r/seidon-240m/
    I have FX9590 that came with an Asetek cooler. The instructions said to set the fans to pull air from outside the case to cool the radiator. I didn't like the temps so as an experiment I reversed the fans to pull air from inside the case and exhaust it outside. The result was a 12-14dC temp drop on the cpu so I left the fans blowing outwards and all went well.

    EDIT to add....... My Cooler Master HAF XB EVO case allows for a lot of air to enter from any/all directions. So if you set yous up to exhaust through the radiator be sure it has ample cool air entering from elsewhere to get some positive air flow..
    Last edited by Heini; 05-08-2014 at 01:17 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    Push / pull should yield an improvement when compared to the same RPM with one set of Fans...what size of Rad? Generally increasing Rad Real Estate and fans helps

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array meankeys PC Specs
    meankeys PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex / Maximus IX APEX / Rampage V EX V10
    Processor7920X / 5960X / 6950X / 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z - 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #3ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 OC
    Monitor3 X ASUS V248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCool Express SS
    Power SupplyThermaltake Tough Power Grand 1200W
    Keyboard Cyberus
    Headset Tittan
    OS Win 7 64bit
    Network RouterASUS
    meankeys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    1,553

    That does seem a bit high for that clock and voltage. What is your ambit temp? what are your idle temps? Typically the fans and rads will bring the water temp in your loop to ambit temp. So if the air outside the case is cooler that the air inside the case your water temp will drop and so should your cpu temp.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array meankeys PC Specs
    meankeys PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex / Maximus IX APEX / Rampage V EX V10
    Processor7920X / 5960X / 6950X / 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z - 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #3ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 OC
    Monitor3 X ASUS V248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCool Express SS
    Power SupplyThermaltake Tough Power Grand 1200W
    Keyboard Cyberus
    Headset Tittan
    OS Win 7 64bit
    Network RouterASUS
    meankeys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    1,553

    So your using AI suite to monitor your temps? Try using core temp or real temp but only use one program at a time as you will get misleading readings using more than 1.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array dorianbz PC Specs
    dorianbz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus RAMPAGE IV
    Processor4930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 8G (x2) 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 2080 TI OC
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse Razer naga
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Quote Originally Posted by meankeys View Post
    So your using AI suite to monitor your temps? Try using core temp or real temp but only use one program at a time as you will get misleading readings using more than 1.
    When I started Yeah I used AI Suite to monitor.
    Now I use core temp or real temp that gived me of course higher temperature.

    Fan expert use the Asus temperature to adjust fan rpm.

    Moreover, it is with these more specific software I've seen the cores temperatures.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •