Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    G750JW DD + SSD, how to install windows on SSD?

    Hello everyone!

    I'm very happy to join the G750 community, this laptop seems to be amazing, but asus was not so intelligent when they prepare it!

    I have two hard drive:

    HDD
    SSD

    Of course i would like that my Windows 8 version go to the SSD, but asus installed it on my HDD, and i research since 3 hours how to erase all, and install properly on the SSD, but i havnt any CD.... Ans when i launch "ASUS Backtracker" that told me that it's only compatible with asus laptop, so i couldnt access to it ... (lol)

    Help me please

    Thank you

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Ace0751's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    You could use the backtracker which there is a thread for that. Another option is to clone the HDD to the SSD just need to know what SSD cause that company may have a program that will clone the drives. I bought the new JM series a couple weeks ago and bought a 256gb samsung SSD and I cloned it instead of using the backtracker.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    thank you, i'll try the clone, which log did you use?

    About the Backtracker, like i said, that doesn't work for me...

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by zecari View Post
    thank you, i'll try the clone, which log did you use?

    About the Backtracker, like i said, that doesn't work for me...
    zecari, Backtracker shouldn't give you that error message, which version are you running? v3.0.3 is newest here, for Windows 8 - there isn't a Windows 8.1 specific version...

    http://www.asus.com/supportonly/ASUS...Desk_Download/

    I would complain to Asus that Backtracker isn't working, and give them a screenshot of the error message. I would ask them where the Windows 8.1 version can be downloaded - please share their response here.

    You can register a login and your laptop here and file a Technical Inquiry:

    http://vip.asus.com

    Using Asus Backtracker to build a fast USB 3.0 flash drive is the easiest way to restore to a new SSD, very fast.

    Update: zecari, I found a newer version of Backtracker in the JM download area - v3.0.4 and it is in the Windows 8.1 download area - under Utilities

    http://support.asus.com/download.asp...9WNtlEOFPl0Q7s


    Before Asus Backtracker I used Macrium Reflect to clone from a 1TB drive to a 512GB Samsung 840 Pro, which also was very fast. Macrium reflect lets you resize the destination partition size, which makes it easy to clone to a smaller drive than the original.

    Pull the drive from the 2nd bay and put the new SSD in the 2nd Bay, clone, and then swap the new cloned SSD into Bay 1 to boot - it is easier to swap it physically than to go through all the BIOS Secure Boot changes required.

    I put the old 1TB boot drive into an external USB 3.0 to use the free space, but I kept the original partitions and boot for future use - in case I need to return the laptop for service - I don't want to send my own personal boot drive.

    Macrium Reflect
    http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx
    Last edited by hmscott; 05-06-2014 at 07:13 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Thank you for this answer

    I'll go to the VIP to regist my machine, but i was surprise to, i had v3.0.3 so i should try the v3.0.4 but i really think that will not change something.

    I cloned the HD to the SSD, now i'll try to change the boot setup to boot directly to the SSD, then i'll format my HD to be clean

    I actually have windows 8 and, after that i'll try to install the windows 8.1

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Ace0751's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Just swap the drives, don't need to do any boot setups.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    It's very easy to do, so i'll prefer to do properly on bios, i'll try and come back

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by zecari View Post
    It's very easy to do, so i'll prefer to do properly on bios, i'll try and come back
    zecari, it isn't easy to do in UEFI with Secure boot, and it traps a lot of people, why not just swap the drive positions? It is safe, quick, and it works.
    Last edited by hmscott; 05-06-2014 at 09:53 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by zecari View Post
    Thank you for this answer

    I'll go to the VIP to regist my machine, but i was surprise to, i had v3.0.3 so i should try the v3.0.4 but i really think that will not change something.

    I cloned the HD to the SSD, now i'll try to change the boot setup to boot directly to the SSD, then i'll format my HD to be clean

    I actually have windows 8 and, after that i'll try to install the windows 8.1
    You don't need to be "clean", but you might need that boot drive / recovery partition to recover from a problem in the future, so I would suggest leaving it as is, and use the DATA partition space if you need it.

    Drives are so cheap you can put that original drive on the shelf to use as a boot drive to send back to Asus for laptop service in the future, or put it back in to boot from and make a new Asus Backtracker recovery flash drive.

    It is a false economy to blow away your only recovery method - it would be like throwing away your recovery DVD's, if they still shipped those
    Last edited by hmscott; 05-06-2014 at 10:58 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    i would like to use Backtracker but it doesn't work

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •