Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    222

    Thermals for G750 JS model?

    Question for all you g750 js model owners or anyone else with knowledge about this.

    I've gone through 3 JM models due to thermals reaching 102-103c. This was all same shipment from best buy.

    So I thought to remedy the situation by buying on amazon.com, also had a few more $$ so I went with the JS model this time. Upon first running a whole line of benchmarking programs, temps never went above 85c CPU. Problem was during idle or very little cpu stress temps were 70-75c. But I thought that the top ceiling was low enough this time so just didn't worry to much.

    But then I started downloading my video rendering/editing programs. Now while editing/rendering a video I see temps 95-100c. So I thought well, not over 100c yet and cpu is at 100%.

    But now, even while gaming and cpu usage isn't over 60% (just now ran skyrim at 45% load), my max temps are 100c. Is this normal? Bad? Thoughts? Opinions?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    222

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	during skyrim.JPG 
Views:	30 
Size:	276.4 KB 
ID:	36533Click image for larger version. 

Name:	antivirus scan.JPG 
Views:	15 
Size:	309.3 KB 
ID:	36534Click image for larger version. 

Name:	50% cpu.JPG 
Views:	13 
Size:	348.0 KB 
ID:	36535Click image for larger version. 

Name:	video editing temps 95 cpu throttling.JPG 
Views:	10 
Size:	282.2 KB 
ID:	36536Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rendering finished.JPG 
Views:	6 
Size:	287.0 KB 
ID:	36537Click image for larger version. 

Name:	redering second movie halfway.JPG 
Views:	7 
Size:	284.2 KB 
ID:	36538Click image for larger version. 

Name:	6th video render heat still high.JPG 
Views:	7 
Size:	285.3 KB 
ID:	36539Click image for larger version. 

Name:	12th video rendered.JPG 
Views:	15 
Size:	279.8 KB 
ID:	36540

    These are of running antivirus scan, just having iTunes, rendering several different videos, and one playing skyrim for 5 min!!

    And those that were close in time with one another, and for every screen shot for that matter. The high/low figures were reset everytime.
    Last edited by dblkk; 05-09-2014 at 08:33 PM.

  3. #3
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    171

    You Should get ESET for anti virus I have mcafee too.. and ESET blows it out of the water..

    but nooo... thats not normall.... 100 C is max it can go. i have the G750 JZ i get 38 C for cpu at idle and GPU 54 C at idle

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    222

    I didn't think that was normal. But out of last 4 new version (g860 and 870m) models, temps have all been about this same temp. I've emailed asus several times now, first being about 3 months ago, most recent before today was last week. Asking them what normal temps were, giving them my temps as well as a few screen shots. And I have yet to hear back from them, any of the times.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    226

    Go for the JZ then man, seems like their stock is all unable to deal with thermals..
    Laptop : ASUS G750JW : i7 4700HQ - 16Gb - 2Tb HDD - GTX 765M OC (+135/500) - Full HD Matte - Win 8.1
    Retiered : Toshiba L670 i5 560M/8Gb Corsair/1TB/HD5650 1Gb @ 625/800 /WD 1Tb USB3/Win7

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    222

    Cant go for the jz, just bought the js. I purchased first 3 from bb and they were great about replacing and/or upgrading. But the js I just got from amazon thinking maybe the best buy shipment was faulty. Well hopefuly asus will contact me, otherwise ill try and work through amazon. Really like the laptop but if this is how asus is going to be maybe ill just try and go msi route next time then.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    226

    you are gonna have to do the repaste job alone.. sorry to hear that man
    Laptop : ASUS G750JW : i7 4700HQ - 16Gb - 2Tb HDD - GTX 765M OC (+135/500) - Full HD Matte - Win 8.1
    Retiered : Toshiba L670 i5 560M/8Gb Corsair/1TB/HD5650 1Gb @ 625/800 /WD 1Tb USB3/Win7

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    222

    Quote Originally Posted by sasuke256 View Post
    you are gonna have to do the repaste job alone.. sorry to hear that man
    I have no problems doing a repaste Jo. But repasting involves opening up the laptop, like total disassembly. Which will void my warranty. Ive only had the laptop almost two weeks now so am no where close to wanting to ruin my almost full 1 year warranty by repasting . Once my one year is up I will open this sucker up right away and repaste, but not now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •