cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which of these G74SX is better?

Retired
Not applicable
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on the ROG forum. I have been doing some research on which G74SX to buy. my budget for a laptop is $15k. Plus maybe ~$250 extras like RAM, HDD, backpack(a must!).

My main problem is that I don't live in the states, so the decision to buy the right model is very crucial to me. So far I have seen on two sites three different models, and frankly I don't know which to pick up, I can't afford to ship back a laptop in case it's not the right type.

Can anyone provide me will enough information to know which is the best of these three? and if possible please tell me also which backpack will fit this thing?

The first G74SX I have found is on newegg. here is the link:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834230100
model: ASUS G74 Series G74SX-XN1
the price is: $1,299.99
2630QM CPU and no blueray drive from what I see in the descriptions

The second and third model G74SX were found on Tigerdirect here are the links:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=637440&CatId=4938

model: ASUS G74 Series G74SX-XT1
the price is: $1,499.99
2630QM CPU with blueray drive/super multi burner

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1219120&CatId=2511
model: ASUS G74SX-TH71
2670QM CPU with blueray drive (not a burner?)

All three has 3Gb GTX560M a 500Gb HDD and 12Gigs of RAM

but I don't know if:
- the ribbon cable for the second HDD is included
- Why is the 2670QM lower priced? could it be that it's really got no burner?
- Newegg is the cheapest but what is the difference between XN1 & XT1??
- which model backpack will fit
- maximum HDD capacity (per bay) supported. I prefer capacity over speed because my work load demands heaps full of storage.