Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 73
  1. #41
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    111
    Posts
    4,182

    I might have miss this somewhere in this thread, My question is What M.2 SSD will boot or which drivers All I can find it PCIe, which they all are. So is it AHCI, SATA NVMe has anyone run a Samsung 950?
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  2. #42
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Dear Nate (or any other)

    Can't pass 4.6Ghz with reasonable voltage, maybe I'm missing some BIOS settings. Looking for advice.


    Load Optimized Defaults
    Loaded the XPM
    CPU Core Ratio min/max Auto/45x, Adaptive at 1.220v
    Cache Ratio min/max 39x/39x, manual at 1.15v
    LoadLine Calibration at LV4
    Spread Spectrum Off

    Pass w/o problems long runs of Asus RB, OCCT or IXTU. Never passes from 65c.

    When trying for 4.6Ghz, not even with 1.28 can do it (or 4.7 with 1.3v)

    Any tips?

    Thanks

  3. #43
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,432

    Hi jrmpt

    Try adding a little more cpu core voltage.

  4. #44
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Dear Nate,
    Do you think that is only a question of voltage? Its a big wall, from 1.22 to more than 1.28 for 100mhz

    Thanks



    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi jrmpt

    Try adding a little more cpu core voltage.

  5. #45
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,432

    On average you'll need about .05v to hit the next 100MHz, give it a try and see if it stabilizes.

    Clintlgm - The 950 pro is an NVME drive.

  6. #46
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hi Nate,
    I'm pushing my 1866 ram to 2133. According with Raja posts, the System Agent should be set to 1.15v and the ANALOG/DIGITAL offset also to 1.15. The BIOS shows the SA as 0,824 but dont' show the values for the other two. How can I know/check the actual values? System let me set them from 0,001 to 0,999.

    Thanks

  7. #47
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,432

    All right

    That must be the cpu system agent offset voltage, if it's running at .824v try an offset of +.335v, this should put the cpu system agent voltage at 1.15v - 1.16v.

  8. #48
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Nate, my problem is the DIGITAL/ANALOG IO. I've no means to know the actual voltage.

    Thanks

  9. #49
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,432

    Well I never owned a z97 board but you could try raising the cpu system agent offset voltage +.335v and let the digital analog voltage on auto, without knowing what it's set to from the start I can't say what voltage to use.

  10. #50
    ROG Member Array pmatil PC Specs
    pmatil PC Specs
    MotherboardZ97-K/USB3.1
    Processori5-4590
    Memory (part number)HX316C10FBK2/16
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX750Ti
    Sound CardNone
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U9B SE2
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750x

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Vague M.2 support

    I've recently purchased a Z97-K/USB3.1 M/B. With it I got an Intel 600p series M.2 SSD (256 GB). However, the M/B did not detect the SSD at all. There was nothing in the NVMe menu in BIOS. The BIOS is the latest available version: 0702.

    All of the components in the said machine are new. I don't use any overclock settings. No other PCIe devices either and hadn't tried the SSD with a PCIe adaptor.

    I tried the SSD with a friend's H170 Pro M/B and it detected it just fine. To install Windows 10 I got a regular SATA SSD but still the M.2 drive did not show up in Windows in any way.

    I have already returned the SSD to the store I bought it from and they confirmed it's working just fine.

    Sad that some of these Z97 M/Bs have a pretty vague support of M.2 drives. Also for this M/B the M.2 is only x2 so no performance increase either from regular SATA. Since this is a pretty old board no hope for BIOS update anymore.

    Second issue is fan control. Just to share my experience in case someone else needs this information. Now this M/B has 2 case fan headers in addition to the CPU fan header. All headers are 4-pin and the manual states that the case fans can be configured for either DC- or PWM-mode in BIOS. DC mode for 3-pin case fans works just fine BUT the CPU fan can only be adjusted if it's a 4-pin PWM fan. There is no selection of the control mode in BIOS. At first I didn't realize this and my CPU fan was at 100 % all the time.

    I've read about different control methods and pinouts in some other thread here. It seems that only the CPU fan header is a true PWM header since it has PWM_IN pin but the chassis fans only have a fixed +5 V pin. If this is the case, what is the purpose of the DC/PWM selection in BIOS?

    So bear in mind that if you get a CPU cooler which only has 3-pin fans like mine (Noctua NH-U9B SE2), they will be at 100 % all the time and not controllable by temperature.

    Third issue is that the Asus AI Suite crashes after a while every time in Windows 10 Home 64-bit when used for fan control. So unusable for me. Luckily the fans can be configure in BIOS as well.

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •