Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Disabling ASMedia SATA Controller on new boards

    Hello,

    Looking through the specs for the new Z97 RoG motherboards, I have narrowed down my choice of product to two boards - either the Ranger or Hero.

    The Ranger doesn't seem to have the full 8 phase VRM that the rest of the boards have, however, the Hero seems to use an ASMedia SATA controller for two of the SATA ports. I have no need for these extra ports and as I understand it these are inferior to the chipset fed ones anyway. Is it possible to disable this controller to save power? Will doing so also free up any PCIe 2.0 lanes, as I understand it uses these?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3600 15-16-37
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    370

    Yes you can disable it. No it won't free up any PCI-E lanes.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Thanks.

    Would I be right in saying though that disabling the controller would save power - the ports would be electrically disconnected?

  4. #4
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    Power saving would be minimal. If nothing is connected to the controller's SATA ports very little current would be drawn. There may be a decrease in boot time though with the controller not having to initialize.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    How to turn this off?

  6. #6
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Quote Originally Posted by chudy131080 View Post
    How to turn this off?
    Advanced --> Onboard Devices ---> ASMxxxx set to disable

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Thank you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •